Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to Nursing Resources

A guide to conducting Nursing research in the AU Libraries

Health Statistics Resources

Databases

This video from Portland State University Library outlines the basics of accessing demographic data in Social Explorer. It shows how to access the map view, and how to view two different data variables side-by-side on the Social Explorer map..

International Health Statistics Resources

Global Health Observatory Data Repository Provides WHO data classified according to health-related topics.

OECD Stat Includes data and metadata (including health data for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

OECD Health Statistics Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. It is an essential tool to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health systems.

Pan American Health Organization and World Health Organization: Core Indicators PAHO Core Indicators provide the latest data on health indicators for the Region of the Americas,  This dataset is composed of about 200 health and health related indicators from 1995 to 2021 for 49 countries and territories in the Region of the Americas.(PAHO) Core Indicators Pan American.

World Health Organization (WHO) Agency within the United Nations that provides leadership on global health issues. Collects and compiles a wide range of data used to monitor and assess health trends worldwide.

World Health Organization Global Health Observatory Data Repository Browse data tables by health topic.

World Health Statistics Report WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.

National and State Health Statistics Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Leading federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.

Alzheimer’s Disease and Healthy Aging Data Portal  (CDC) provides easy access to national and state level CDC data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being for older adults including caregiving, subjective cognitive decline, screenings and vaccinations, and  mental health. These indicators provide a snapshot of currently available surveillance information, and can be useful for prioritization and evaluation of public health interventions.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related cell phone and landline surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. It is run by CDC and conducted by the individual state health departments.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps Collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute that works to improve health outcomes and close health disparities. Provides the health status of almost every county in the United States.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services US government agency that works with individual states to provide Medicare and Medicaid benefits.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Primary public health institute of the United States. Extensive data on health care and disease.

CD Chronic Disease Indicators  A set of surveillance indicators developed by consensus among CDC, the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE), and the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD). CDI enables public health professionals and policymakers to retrieve uniformly defined state and selected metropolitan-level data for chronic diseases and risk factors that have a substantial impact on public health.

CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research) Health-related data sets that can help with public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation. Nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics. 

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

FastStats Selected statistics on a variety of health topics from the National Center for Health Statistics.

Health, United States Annual report on trends in health statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation IHME is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.

Kaiser Family Foundation Non-profit that offers research, journalism, and communications programs with a focus on health care.

HealthData.gov Online source for health-related data. Includes thousands of downloadable data sets

MedlinePlus.gov Health Statistics MedlinePlus a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Statistical data to improve the health of the American people.

National Vital Statistics System Provides the most complete data on births and deaths in the United States.

Office of Minority Health/Population Profiles Provides detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports on Black/African Americans, American Indian/Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic/Latinos, Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islanders.

State Health Facts - Kaiser Family Foundation  Non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S. and its role in global health policy. Serves as a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.

United States Census Bureau Current data and statistics on the US population and economy.

US Census Bureau Quick Facts  Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

USA.gov Statistics Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census.

 

New York State Health Statistics Resources

County Health Assessment Indicators (CHAI) County Health Indicators by health topic in New York State.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps  Collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute which works to improve health outcomes and reduce health disparities. Provides the health status of almost every county in the United States.

Data.NY.gov Browse NY State health Information data sets. 

Health.Data.NY.Gov Browse New York State health data sets.

Infoshare New York State and NY City population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more. Search by Census Tract, zip code, village, town, city, etc. Create an account to access data.

New York State Association of County Health Officials  Links to all the county health departments in New York State. Provides county health data and other resources.

New York State Community, Family & Minority Health NY State. Search by category and topic. Women's health; Minority Health; Infants & Children; Adolescents & Youth; Men; Elderly/Senior; American Indian; and Related Links.

New York State Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS)  Information regarding health indicators by health topic for all communities in New York. Updated Annually.

New York State Data Sources and Tools - Chronic Diseases and Conditions NY State Expanded Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (Alzheimer's Disease, Cancer, Cardiovascular Disease (Heart Disease and Stroke), Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes, Disability, Heart Disease, Injury, Tobacco).

NY State Dept. of Health Data and reports from the NY State Department of Health.

New York State Statistical Yearbook Information on health and related topics in New York State, including hospitals, psychiatric centers, substance abuse treatment, Social Security, Medicaid, temporary and family assistance, Food Stamps, and foster care. Over 40 tables and charts. Rockefeller Institute of Government.

US Census Bureau Quick Facts NY Statistics for New York counties, cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Vital Statistics of New York State  Annual reports and vital statistics reports for New York.

Vital Statistics of New York State 2018 NY State statistics for Population; Live Births; Spontaneous Fetal Deaths; Induced Abortions; Pregnancies; Mortality; Marriages and Dissolution of Marriages; some Village and School District profiles.

Nassau and Suffolk Counties Health Statistics Resources

Nassau County Department of Health Data and Research Resources

Nassau County Office of Health Equity

Nassau County Health Indicators by Race/Ethnicity, 2017-2019

Nassau County Community Health Assessment and Community Health Improvement Plan 2019‐2021 Comprehensive reports of the health status of Nassau County that contains the most recently available data with analysis and narrative.

Nassau County: NY State Community Health Indicator Reports Health Status and Social Determinants of Health for Nassau County.

Suffolk County Health Indicators by Race/Ethnicity, 2017 - 2019

Suffolk County - Office of Minority Health

Suffolk County: NY State Community Health Indicator Reports Health Status and Social Determinants of Health for Suffolk County.

Vital Signs 2014: Measuring Long Island’s Social Health Adelphi University Center for Health Innovation. Tracks performance on 28 social health indicators, updating previous data and noting trends and patterns, to capture quality of life on Long Island.