Skip to Main Content
Adelphi University

National and State Health Statistics Resources

  • National Center for Health Statistics The nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to help guide public health and health policy decisions.
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Leading federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.
  • Alzheimer’s Disease and Healthy Aging Data Portal  (CDC) provides easy access to national and state level CDC data on a range of key indicators of health and well-being for older adults including caregiving, subjective cognitive decline, screenings and vaccinations, and  mental health. These indicators provide a snapshot of currently available surveillance information, and can be useful for prioritization and evaluation of public health interventions.
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related cell phone and landline surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. It is run by CDC and conducted by the individual state health departments.
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services US government agency that works with individual states to provide Medicare and Medicaid benefits.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Primary public health institute of the United States. Extensive data on health care and disease.
  • Centers for Disease Control Chronic Disease Indicators  A set of surveillance indicators developed by consensus among CDC, the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE), and the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD). CDI enables public health professionals and policymakers to retrieve uniformly defined state and selected metropolitan-level data for chronic diseases and risk factors that have a substantial impact on public health.
  • CDC WONDER Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
  • City Health Dashboard Created by the Department of Population Health and the School of Public Service at NYU in partnership with the National Resource Network. Contains data at city, zip code and census tract levels. Has over 40 measures of health over 900 U.S. cities.
  • County Health Rankings & Roadmaps Collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute that works to improve health outcomes and close health disparities. Provides the health status of almost every county in the United States.
  • Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
  • FastStats Selected statistics on a variety of health topics from the National Center for Health Statistics.
  • Health, United States Annual report on trends in health statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics Contains data from 1975 - 2021.
  • HealthData.gov Online source for health-related data. Includes thousands of downloadable data sets
  • HRSA.gov Health data from the Health Resources and Services Administration. National, regional, county and congressional district information. Select "Data Warehouse" tab.
  • Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation IHME is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.
  • Kaiser Family Foundation Non-profit that offers research, journalism, and communications programs with a focus on health care.
  • MedlinePlus.gov Health Statistics MedlinePlus a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
  • National Vital Statistics System Provides the most complete data on births and deaths in the United States.
  • Office of Minority Health/Population Profiles Provides detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports on Black/African Americans, American Indian/Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic/Latinos, Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islanders.
  • Rural Health Information Hub National clearinghouse on rural health issues funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy. Contains statistics for metro and non-metro counties on demographics, health disparities, social determinants and access to services.
  • State Health Facts - Kaiser Family Foundation  Non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S. and its role in global health policy. Serves as a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.
  • United States Census Bureau Current data and statistics on the US population and economy.
  • US Census Bureau Quick Facts  Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
  • USA.gov Statistics Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census.