- Nursing Theory and ResearchA collection of nursing theory from around the world from the University of San Diego Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science.
- Nursing Theories and Theorists ExplainedAn overview from Nurse.org.
Selected Books:
Caring for the Vulnerable : Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781284146813Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge by
Please note: The CD packaged with this product is no longer compatible with most current operating systems. What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it? The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses. A bonus CD-ROM in every book features conceptual model- and theory-based practice applications, practice tools, research applications, and research instruments, as well as a complete bibliography and lists of additional resources to help you study.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT84.5 .F393 2013ISBN: 9780803627659Publication Date: 2012-11-27
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1118492102Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Human Caring Science a Theory of Nursing by
Human Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT84.5 .W367 2012ISBN: 9781449628109Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by
Awarded first place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Research category This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews Middle range theory has become a vital staple of nursing education and application to research. These theories, which lie between the working hypotheses derived from day-to-day research and the larger, systemic efforts to develop unified theories, cover the scientific underpinnings that guide nursing practice and research. This third edition of a two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner contains two new theories, including self-reliance theory and transitions theory. It revises and updates all other content, and provides ladders of abstraction for each theory to guide students in their appropriate use. This highly accessible book integrates nursing theory with well-defined practice areas, identifies purpose and basic concepts, foundational literature, relationships among concepts, and use in practice. Chapters are organized by central theories, each of which is covered in depth. Comprehensive bibliographies at the end of each chapter facilitate more in-depth research. The book remains an essential text for theory and research courses in master's and doctoral nursing programs. New to the Third Edition: Presents two new theories: self-reliance theory and transitions theory Deletes two theories no longer in use: community empowerment and family stress/adaptation Updates and revises all other content from the second edition Guides students in appropriate use of theory per level of complexity
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826195512Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Nursing Research Using Grounded Theory by
Grounded theory, often considered the parent of all qualitative research, is a complex approach used to develop theory about a phenomenon rooted in observation of empirical data. Widely used in nursing, grounded theory enables researchers to apply what they learn from interviewees to a wider client population. This is a practical "how to" guide to conducting research using this qualitative design. It is part of an innovative series for novice researchers and specialists alike focusing on nine state-of-the-art methodologies from a nursing perspective. International scholars of grounded theory discuss the theoretical rationale for using this design, describe its components, and delineate a plan for generating theory using grounded theory methodology. Examples from published nursing research, with author commentary, help support new and experienced researchers in making decisions and facing challenges. The book describes traditional and focused grounded theory, phases of research, and methodology from sample and setting to dissemination and follow-up. It encompasses state-of-the-art research about grounded theory with an extensive bibliography and resources. Varied case studies range from promoting health for an overweight child to psychological adjustment of Chinese women with breast cancer to a study of nursing students' experiences in the off-campus clinical setting, among many others. The book also discusses techniques whereby researchers can ensure high standards of rigor. Each chapter includes objectives, competencies, review questions, critical thinking exercises, and links to web resources. With a focus on practical problem solving throughout, the book will be of value to novice and experienced nurse researchers, graduate teachers and students, in-service educators and students, and nursing research staff at health care institutions. Key Features: Includes examples of state-of-the-art grounded theory nursing research with content analysis and extensive bibliography Describes types of grounded theory, phases of research, and methodology Provides case studies including description, data collection and analysis, and dissemination Written by international scholars of grounded theory research
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826134677Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by
The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 5th Edition, continues to meet the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore the role of these theories in the real-world to see how they guide nursing practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780803679917Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Nursing Theories : Conceptual and Philosophical Foundations, Second Edition by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! This second edition is the perfect companion to original theoretical works in nursing for a better understanding of both the theories themselves and the essential questions about nursing theory development. Rather than being a nursing theory survey, the text provides the reader with a deeper understanding of nursing theories through examining them in their conceptual and philosophical contexts. This is a work of international collaboration, with distinguished nurse scholars from the United States, Germany, and Norway, organized around major themes in nursing and health care into which information on specific nursing theories is integrated. It is designed for advanced nursing students, educators, and others interested in nursing theory and concepts. For Further Information, Please Click Here! Please note that this website is in German!
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826140068Publication Date: 2006
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
The most comprehensive of its kind, this classic resource in the field of nursing theory provides an in-depth look at 49 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies and critical thinking activities help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT84.5 .N9 2014ISBN: 9780323091947Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Theoretical Basis for Nursing by
Written in an easily understood style, this textbook reflects current content course needs by addressing the underlying information needed to understand and apply theory to practice.
Call Number: Swirbul and Hauppauge RT84.5 .T36 2014ISBN: 9781451190311Publication Date: 2014-01-14
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice by
This book] has its origins in courses taught by the editors and their collaborators for doctoral students. It therefore addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings. Eighteen chapters cover individual theoretical approaches. While some, such as the theory of human caring and transformational leadership theory, will be familiar to many readers in the UK, others cover new territory... SCORE: 4/5 stars." --John Adams, honorary research associate, Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Nursing Standard This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice. It describes a step-by-step format for evaluating nursing theory's applicability to research, a format that links theory (both middle-range and grand theory) to research on a wide range of clinical populations and care delivery systems. The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. The book takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research. International experts in theory-related nursing research describe twelve theories that have previously been applied to research and practice and six theories that can be applied to future research and practice. Using a consistent analytic framework, each chapter applies a specific theory (from either nursing, psychology, sociology, or management) to a particular clinical population or care delivery issue. These encompass clinical, administrative, and educational nursing settings. The consistent format facilitates ease of comparison across different theories. Generous use of figures and tables further demonstrates the complex relationships between and among concepts embedded in the theories. Key Features: Demonstrates a systematic format for evaluating middle-range and grand nursing theory's applicability to research Links theory to clinical practice at patient population and care delivery levels Provides a useful template for students of nursing disciplinary knowledge development Presents the scholarship of international researchers of theory-related nursing Includes theories from nursing, psychology, sociology, and management
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826164049Publication Date: 2014-06-01
More books on Nursing Theory and Philosophy