Recommended Nursing Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, including more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window A point-of-care resource designed for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty. The collection includes “Quick Lessons” and “Evidence-based Care Sheets” on diseases and disorders; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; information on CE research instruments and legal cases. Integrated with EBSCO's CINAHL Plus and MEDLINE databases.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of evidence-based health care resources including Cochrane Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the Cochrane Methodology Register. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Covers a range of topics in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, with over 700 full text titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- This link opens in a new window
- JBI This link opens in a new window JBI EBP Database, formerly known as the Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice database, includes a comprehensive range of over 5,000 clinical point-of-care resources, including best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, recommended practices, systemic review protocols, and systemic reviews.
Other Useful Databases for Nursing
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of streaming video collections in the following areas: American History, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business and Economics, Counseling and Therapy, Criminal Justice and Public Safety, Dance, Education, Ethnic Studies, Ethnographic, Filmakers Library, Health and Society , Humanities, Nursing Education, Opera, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Politics and Current Affairs, Psychology, Science, Theatre, Women's and Gender Studies, World History, World Languages and Literature.
This link opens in a new window
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window Provides streamed access to the 18 modules of the series. Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- This link opens in a new window
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides citation information for each behavioral measurement instrument, identifying the source in which the instrument can be found.
- This link opens in a new window
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- This link opens in a new window
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Covers a range of topics in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, with over 700 full text titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, indexing journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- SMART Imagebase This link opens in a new window SMART Imagebase: Scientific & Medical ART - a collection of over 20,000 illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic information from 1963 - present in the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters.
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social science information, including citation data, dating as far back as 1966 to the present. In addition, 3,500 of its 18,000 journal titles cover the arts and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
