American Nurses Association (ANA)"Established in 2003, the Center for American Nurses offers tools, services and strategies designed to make nurses their own best advocates in their practice environments."
American Association of Colleges of NursingThe national voice for academic nursing. AACN works to establish quality standards for nursing education; assists schools in implementing those standards; influences the nursing profession to improve health care; and promotes public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice.
American Nurses Association - New York (ANA-NY)ANA-NY is the professional association for registered professional nurses (RN) in New York state. Launched in 2012, ANA-NY is dedicated to: promoting excellence in nursing practice, improving the quality of health care services, and promoting professional and leadership development of RNs. A constituent member of the American Nurses Association, nurses who join ANA-NY will have membership in and receive benefits from both the state and national organizations.
Nurses Association of the Counties of Long Island, NYhe Nurses Association of the Counties of Long Island, Inc. (NACLI) is a Nursing Association with members (RNs and Student Nurses) from Brooklyn, Queens and Nassau counties. NACLI has always been a leader in advancing the nursing profession and health care through it programs, services and structure:
Promoting nursing awareness and involvement in health care issues
Advancing ethical practice by and for a culturally diverse population
Supporting the highest standards of nursing practice Responding to the changing educational needs of members
Actively participating in the political process to facilitate the Association's mission
Promoting nursing as a career
Aging
American Geriatrics SocietyIncludes guidelines, recommendations and tools for healthcare professionals, as well as public policy and research information.
AIDS/HIV
AIDSInfoGlobal data on HIV epidemiology and response. A collaboration of UNAIDS UNICEF and the World Health Organization.
The Body: The Complete AIDS and HIV Information ResourceA commercial site provided by the Body Health Resources Corporation. Focusing on education, this site contains a plethora of information provided by organizations and experts and provides a place where information and ideas can be exchanged through chat and bulletin boards. Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, conference information, news updates, and web highlights are accessible on the companion website, The Body Pro: The HIV Resource for Health Professionals . Both sites are updated daily.
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthFederal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine. Their website provides information for consumers and health professionals including health topics, research results, clinical practice guidelines, and information about grants, funding, and training.
Cancer
Cancer.govThe National Cancer Institute website and provides information about types of cancer, prevention, treatment, resources, clinical trials, statistics, research programs and funding. Some information is available in Spanish. Links to Pubmed and other websites are also provided.
OncoLinkDesigned for educational purposes, and sanctioned by the University of Pennsylvania's Medical Center and Cancer Center, OncoLink's objectives are dissemination of information relevant to the field of oncology, education of healthcare personnel, patients, families, and other interested parties, and rapid collection of information pertinent to the specialty. The site provides information on types of cancers, treatment options, coping with cancer, clinical trials, and cancer resources as well as an Ask the Experts section and more. In English or Spanish.
Consumer Health/Patient Education
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends from the National Library of Medicine.
MyHealthfinderDeveloped by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides links to web sites and selected documents for consumer health information, including online health publications, clearinghouses, web sites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers, and nonprofit agencies.
Diseases
The Centers for Disease Control and PreventionProvides information on a variety of health topics and diseases. It provides access to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report and the journal, Emerging and Infectious Diseases.
DailyMedThe DailyMed database from the NIH National Library of Medicine is a database of labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed includes package inserts and resources that are useful to consumers and healthcare or pharmaceutical industry professionals alike.
Drugs.comDrugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed®)The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
RXLISTProvides detailed pharmaceutical information for consumers and health professionals on brand and generic drug information. The site includes a list of the top 200 prescriptions, lists of new drugs, recent drug updates and alternative drugs, and a drug-specific discussion board.
Eating Disorders
Eating DisordersThis National Institute of Mental Health provides information on eating disorders and links to additional resources.
Lippincott Nursing CenterContains information on continuing education, career enhancement, and history of nursing. Includes online forums, links to nursing organizations, and journal article abstracts.
Evidence-based Medicine/Nursing
Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityThe Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Instituteestablished to fund research that can help patients and those who care for them make better-informed decisions about the healthcare choices they face every day, guided by those who will use that information.