Testing and measuring instruments are an important part of research and practice in the fields of nursing, health, psychology, education, and social work. They are used for diagnosing, researching, and assessing. They can be questionnaires, assessments, interviews, surveys, ratings, scales, measurements and tests.
You will need to know how to find out which tests are appropriate for a given situation, where to find out about those tests, and how to find academic research articles that use these tests.
Selected Books
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences by
As in the first edition, the author has done a magnificent job compiling these instruments and providing important information that the reader can use to evaluate their usefulness." --Ora Lea Strickland, RN, PhD, FAAN (From the Foreword) This book provides all the essential research tools for assessing and measuring caring for those in the caring professions. Watson's text is the only comprehensive and accessible collection of instruments for care measurement in clinical and educational nursing research. The measurements address quality of care, patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring, and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy. Newly updated, this edition also contains three new chapters, which document the most effective caring language and provide innovative methods of selecting appropriate tools for measurement based on validity and reliability. Key features of new edition: A chapter providing a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring A chapter entitled "Caring Factor Survey," which presents a new scale based on Watson's original theory of human caring Chapters outlining instruments for care measurement, including Holistic Caring Inventory, Peer Group Caring Interaction Scale, and many more New instruments focused on assessing caring at the administrative-relational caring level An updated section dedicated to challenges and future directions of the measurement of caring
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826121969Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Measurements and Statistics. In fields as varying as education, politics and health care, assessment and the use of measurement and statistics have become an integral part of almost every activity undertaken. These activities require the organization of ideas, the generation of hypotheses, the collection of data and the interpretation, illustration and analysis of data. No matter where we look, this critical analysis is more important than ever in an age where information - and lots of it - is readily available. The average consumer must know what a `median′ is or what the connotations of the term `significant′ are when intelligently reading The Times, Science News or a tabloid. Likewise, students, practitioners and researchers must grapple with sophisticated terms and techniques when conducting research, writing proposals and analyzing data. The terms themselves have proven to be anxiety-provoking. The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics, in two-volumes, presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in a non-intimidating and accessible style. The Encyclopedia is specifically written to appeal to undergraduate students as well as practitioners, researchers and consumers of information. Whilst there are reference works covering statistics and assessment in depth, none provide as comprehensive a resource in as focused and approachable a manner as this encyclopedia. Key themes include: - biographies; - charts, graphs and visual displays; - computer topics and tools; - concepts and issues in measurement; - concepts and issues in statistics; - data and data reduction techniques; - descriptive statistics; - evaluation; - experimental methods; - inferential statistics; - organizations and publications; - predictions and estimations; - probability; - qualitative methods; - samples, sampling and distribution; - statistical techniques; - statistical tests; - tests by name. Key features include: - coverage of every major facet of these two different, but highly integrated disciplines with reference to mean, mode and median; reliability, validity, significance and correlation without overwhelming the informed reader; - cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of: psychology; education; sociology; human development; political science; business and management; and public health; - cross-referenced terms, a list of further readings and Website URLs after each entry, as well as an extensive set of appendices and an annotated list of organizations relevant to measurement and statistics. Appendices: - Appendix A is a guide to basic statistics for those readers who require an instructional step-by-step presentation of basic concepts in statistics and measurement; - Appendix B is a table of critical values used in hypothesis testing and an important part of any reference in this area; - Appendix C represents a collection of some most important and useful measurement and statistics Websites.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781412916110Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Handbook of Multicultural Measures by
Providing readers with cutting-edge details on multicultural instrumentation, theories, and research in the social, behavioral, and health-related fields, this Handbook offers extensive coverage of empirically-supported multicultural measurement instruments that span a wide variety of subject areas such as ethnic and racial identity, racism, disability, and gender roles. Readers learn how to differentiate among and identify appropriate research tools for a particular project. This Handbook provides clinical practitioners with a useful starting point in their search for multicultural assessment devices they can use with diverse clients to inform clinical treatment. Key Features - A multicultural framework and case illustration (the Multicultural Assessment-Intervention Process Model) in Chapter 3 serves as a conceptual framework for the rest of the book and also helps in the implementation of multicultural assessment in training and service delivery in counseling centers, community mental health centers, and hospitals. - Multicultural Overviews of a variety of topics as well as instrument summaries help students and professionals complete original research. - This Handbook provides an overview of basic psychometric concepts, a practical reference for evaluating the validity, and reliability of measures. - A conceptual model of evidence-based culturally competent practice where reviewed measures are appropriately used is presented, providing an integrative framework for the rest of the book.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1412978831Publication Date: 2010-12-20
Measurement in Medicine by
The book covers measurement theories, methods and criteria for evaluating and selecting instruments. It provides methods to assess measurement properties, such as reliability, validity and responsiveness, and interpret the results. Worked examples and end-of-chapter assignments use real data and well-known instruments to build your skills at implementation and interpretation through hands-on analysis of real-life cases. All data and solutions are available online. This is a perfect course book for students and a perfect companion for professionals/researchers in the medical and health sciences who care about the quality and meaning of the measurements they perform.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780511996214Publication Date: 2011-09-07
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students."Score: 100, 5 stars--Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes."--Clinical Nurse Specialist This fourth edition presents everything nurses and health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measuring in nursing. Thoroughly updated, this fourth edition now contains only the latest, most cutting-edge measurement instruments that have direct applicability for nurses and health researchers in a variety of roles, including students, clinicians, educators, researchers, administrators, and consultants. Using clear and accessible language, the authors explain in detail, and illustrate by example, how to conduct sound measurement practices that have been adequately tested for reliability and validity. This edition is enriched with topics on the leading edge of nursing and health care research, such as measurement in the digital world, biomedical instrumentation, new clinical data collection methods, and methods for measuring quality of care. Key features: Provides new and emerging strategies for testing the validity of specific measures Discusses computer-based testing: the use of Internet research and data collection Investigates methods for measuring physiological variables using biomedical instrumentation Includes information on measurement practices in clinical research, focusing on clinical data collection methods, such as clinimetrics Identifies the challenges of measuring quality of care and how to address them
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826105080Publication Date: 2010
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook by
This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced. This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic principles of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.
Call Number: Hauppauge Main and other locations BF176 .C66 2013ISBN: 9780199778584Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing by
Awarded first place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Advanced Practice Nursing category Named a Doody's Core Title "This is an excellent and timely tool for advanced practice nurses." Score: 100, 5 stars -Doody's Medical Reviews Measuring the results of APN care has become increasingly important as a way to demonstrate the significant impact of APN nurses on practice outcomes. The third edition of this award-winning volume has been updated to provide the most current knowledge, perspectives, and research on assessing outcomes of APN care. It addresses not only the health outcomes of APN practice but the economic impact of APN care as well. Chapters discuss outcome measurement in all areas of advance practice nursing, including identifying outcomes in specialty areas and in community and ambulatory settings. The text provides detailed descriptions of how to conduct outcomes assessments, how to locate the most current instruments and measures for APN assessment, and perspectives on international initiatives in APN assessment. Examples of outcomes studies at the DNP level are culled from the most current published projects. Written by expert practitioners, educators, and researchers in APN outcomes assessment, this book will provide the essential information to help all APNs-regardless of specialty area or practice setting-to increase their skill level in designing outcomes-focused clinical research, selecting instruments, and analyzing outcomes data as critical components of their professional practice role. The third edition is completely updated and expanded to include: A new chapter on assessing outcomes at the DNP level through data gained from the most current research An expanded literature review on outcomes measurement research Guidelines for selecting assessment instruments Perspectives on an international initiative for the development of an APN research data collection toolkit New chapter objectives and critical discussion questions Updated web links
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826110487Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Person-Centered Outcome Metrology by
This unique collection of chapters from world experts on person-centered outcome (PCO) measures addresses the following critical questions: Can individual experiences be represented in measurements that do not reduce unique differences to meaningless uniformity? How person-centric are PCO measures? Are PCO measurements capable of delivering the kind of quality assured quantification required for high-stakes decision making? Are PCO measures likely to support improved health care delivery? Have pivotal clinical studies failed to deliver treatments for diseases because of shortcomings in the PCO measures used? Are these shortcomings primarily matters of precision and meaningfulness? Or is the lack of common languages for communicating outcomes also debilitating to quality improvement, research, and the health care economy? Three key issues form an urgent basis for further investigation. First, the numbers generated by PCO measures are increasingly used as the central dependent variables upon which high stakes decisions are made. The rising profile of PCO measures places new demands for higher quality information from scale and test construction, evaluation, selection, and interpretation. Second, PCO measurement science has well-established lessons to be learned from those who have built and established the science over many decades. Finally, the goal in making a PCO measurement is to inform outcome management. As such, it is vitally important that key stakeholders understand that, over the last half century, developments in psychometrics have refocused measurement on illuminating clinically important individual differences in the context of widely reproduced patterns of variation in health and functioning, comparable scale values for quality improvement, and practical explanatory models. This book's audience includes anyone interested in person-centered care, including healthcare researchers and practitioners, policy makers, pharmaceutical industry representatives, clinicians, patient advocates, and metrologists. This is an open access book.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783031074646Publication Date: 2022-12-03
Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937-present. Use Publication Type "Questionnaire/Scale" or "Research Instrument" - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation information for each behavioral measurement instrument, identifying the source in which the instrument can be found. - Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information and critical reviews, updated biannually, of new and revised tests from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th Yearbooks, covering more than 2,200 commercially-available tests on topics in psychology, education, speech & hearing, and sensory motor issues. - PsycNET This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A cross searchable interface for APA databases: PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycTESTS, PsycTHERAPY, and PsycEXTRA. Search in Fields: Tests and Measures, Test Name or Test Construct - PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Serves as a repository for the full text of over 4,000 psychological tests and measures, primarily unpublished, as well as a source of information about the tests. Includes achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and more.
Journals & Articles
A peer-reviewed journal that specifically addresses instrumentation in nursing. Published three times a year, the journal serves as a prime forum for disseminating information on instruments, tools, approaches, and procedures developed or utilized for measuring variables in nursing research, practice, and education. Particular emphasis is placed on evidence for the reliability, validity, sensitivity, and specificity of such instruments. The journal includes innovative discussions of theories, principles, practices, and issues relevant to nursing measurement.
• Measurement in Nursing Research
This article explores measurement in quantitative research and considers the concepts of validity and reliability as they relate to quantitative research measurement. This is the fourth article in a series on clinical research by nurses.
Websites
National Health Care Surveys The National Health Care Surveys are designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers.
Rand Health Surveys (Rand Corporation) Open source/freely-available surveys, questionnaires and other instruments/measurement tools from the Rand Corporation.