Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses is hailed as the most comprehensive, up-to-date book for nurse writers today. Anyone who has attempted to write something, whether it be as simple as a thank you note or as complex as a hundred page term paper
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT24 .S28 2011ISBN: 9781930538757Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Caring For the Vulnerable : Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research, Fifth Edition. by
Focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781284146882Publication Date: 2020
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Fourteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS One-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to over 1,100 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE...AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, CAPITALIZED letters for life-threatening side effects Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV Administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus NEW! Student resources online at DavisPlus. (Redeem the Plus Code on the inside front cover of a new, printed text to access your DavisPlus resources.) Student Resources More than 1,100 Nurse's Med Deck-style, printable drug monographs for care planning and patient education Audio library for 1,200+ drug names Self-test tutorials Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies Additional Resources Interactive flash cards Audio podcasts Video clips Animations Schematic brain illustrations Much more!
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780803639768Publication Date: 2014-06-05
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title Praise for the previous edition: This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly.Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina Editor, Nursing Research What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers." Margarete Sandelowski Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice by
Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry. Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT81.5 .P63 2018ISBN: 9781496351296Publication Date: 2017-02-04
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Health Care by
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare examines the Joanna Briggs Institute model for evidence-based practice which recognises research, theory and practice as sources of evidence and takes a practical approach to developing, implementing and evaluating practice, based on 'evidence' in its broadest sense. Evidence-based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare addresses the nature of evidence in clinical practice, generating and synthesising evidence, and transferring and utilising evidence in clinical practice. It describes the development of practice information sheets and clinical guidelines and provides practical guidance on the implementation of evidence-based practice and its evaluation using clinical audit.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT42 .P412 2007ISBN: 1405157402Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826194060Publication Date: 2015-09-28
The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity by
The decade ahead will test the nation's nearly 4 million nurses in new and complex ways. Nurses live and work at the intersection of health, education, and communities. Nurses work in a wide array of settings and practice at a range of professional levels. They are often the first and most frequent line of contact with people of all backgrounds and experiences seeking care and they represent the largest of the health care professions. A nation cannot fully thrive until everyone - no matter who they are, where they live, or how much money they make - can live their healthiest possible life, and helping people live their healthiest life is and has always been the essential role of nurses. Nurses have a critical role to play in achieving the goal of health equity, but they need robust education, supportive work environments, and autonomy. Accordingly, at the request of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, on behalf of the National Academy of Medicine, an ad hoc committee under the auspices of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine conducted a study aimed at envisioning and charting a path forward for the nursing profession to help reduce inequities in people's ability to achieve their full health potential. The ultimate goal is the achievement of health equity in the United States built on strengthened nursing capacity and expertise. By leveraging these attributes, nursing will help to create and contribute comprehensively to equitable public health and health care systems that are designed to work for everyone. The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity explores how nurses can work to reduce health disparities and promote equity, while keeping costs at bay, utilizing technology, and maintaining patient and family-focused care into 2030. This work builds on the foundation set out by The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health (2011) report.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780309685061Publication Date: 2021-09-11
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
"Aims to educate people about allied health and nursing, whether pursuing a degree in an allied health field or already working as a nurse or allied health professional. Individuals traversing the healthcare system due to their own medical needs or that of a loved one can find medical information they need in order to make informed health decisions"--
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1410363201Publication Date: 2017-12-15
History As Evidence: Nursing Interventions Through Time by
Named a 2011 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a must-read for nurses who are interested in where nursing has been and what nurses have done to get to the present day. " Score: 94, 4 stars --Doody's Nursing has a rich history that consistently informs contemporary practice and standards. This book, by examining pivotal historical interventions across the spectrum of clinical care, allows nurses of today to incorporate the wisdom of the past into their own daily work. Maternal-child health programs, palliative care, tuberculosis, medications, pediatric care, and diabetes care, and more are discussed. This invaluable resource documents how and why specific nursing interventions came about, what aspects of these interventions are utilized today and why, and how nurses of the past have addressed and solved the challenges of practice, from adapting to new technologies to managing the tension of the nurse-physician relationship. Learn how nurses of the past 150 years have combated the challenges of: Providing care to victims of pandemics, such as yellow fever, tuberculosis, and influenza Adapting to new medical practices and technologies throughout the 20th century Integrating cultural sensitivity into clinical care for special populations and underserved communities Bringing public health services to rural communities Fighting for public health policies that support hospice services in the United States
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826105776Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Human Caring Science a Theory of Nursing by
Human Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT84.5 .W367 2012ISBN: 9781449628109Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences by
Prepared in collaboration with the Medical Library Association, this completely updated, revised, and expanded edition lists classic and up-to-the-minute print and electronic resources in the health sciences, helping librarians find the answers that library users seek. Included are electronic versions of traditionally print reference sources, trustworthy electronic-only resources, and resources that library users can access from home or on the go through freely available websites or via library licenses. In this benchmark guide, the authorsInclude new chapters on health information seeking, point-of-care sources, and global health sourcesFocus on works that can be considered foundational or essential, in both print and electronic formatsAddress questions librarians need to consider in developing and maintaining their reference collectionsWhen it comes to questions involving the health sciences, this valuable resource will point both library staff and the users they serve in the right direction.
Call Number: Swirlbul Library Reference (R118.6 .I57 2014) Also available online belowISBN: 9780838919569Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences by
Prepared in collaboration with the Medical Library Association, this completely updated, revised, and expanded edition lists classic and up-to-the-minute print and electronic resources in the health sciences, helping librarians find the answers that library users seek. Included are electronic versions of traditionally print reference sources, trustworthy electronic-only resources, and resources that library users can access from home or on the go through freely available websites or via library licenses. In this benchmark guide, the authorsInclude new chapters on health information seeking, point-of-care sources, and global health sourcesFocus on works that can be considered foundational or essential, in both print and electronic formatsAddress questions librarians need to consider in developing and maintaining their reference collectionsWhen it comes to questions involving the health sciences, this valuable resource will point both library staff and the users they serve in the right direction.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0838911846Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1496381785Publication Date: 2018-02-17
Medical and Health Information Directory by
MHID is a convenient one-stop source of information on clinics, treatment centers, care programs, and counseling/diagnostic services. It directs health-care professionals and the public alike to a wide variety of health services in the United States, including: AIDS Programs, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Clinics, Audiology & Speech/Language Services, Cancer Programs, Community & Migrant Health Centers, Cystic Fibrosis Centers, Clinical Programs for the Developmentally Disabled, Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Programs, Eating Disorders Clinics, Family Planning Services, Genetic Services Centers, Headache Clinics, Home Health Care Agencies, Hospices, In Vitro Fertilization Clinics, Kidney Dialysis & Transplant Services, Mental Health Services, Multiple Sclerosis Centers & Clinics, Organ & Tissue Banks, Pain Management Programs, Runaway & Homeless Youth Centers, Sickle Cell Anemia Centers, SIDS Information & Counseling Programs, Sleep Disorders Centers & Laboratories, Substance Abuse Services, Suicide Prevention & Crisis Intervention, Centers.
Call Number: Available at Swirlbul Reference R118.4.U6 M4Publication Date: 2017-07-07
Mental Health is a Verb by
An Open Education Resource through the University of West Florida which addresses mental health nursing care. The book reviews the foundations of mental health, psychopharmacology, and the most common mental health diagnoses. licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Call Number: Available Online - OER resource licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.Publication Date: 2023
Mental Health Nursing by
This text provides a clear, concentrated, and up-to-date review of today's "need to know" knowledge for effective psychiatric and mental health nursing. Developed and reviewed by a large team of nurse educators, PEARSON REVIEWS & RATIONALES: MENTAL HEALTH NURSING WITH NURSING REVIEWS & RATIONALES, 3/e fully reflects the current (2010) NCLEX-RN® Test Plan. The text thoroughly covers mental health nursing, including every major diagnostic category. Additional chapters focus on crisis intervention and suicide; family violence and sexual assault, loss and grief; and the psychological adaptation to medical illness. Since mental health questions are unique and distress many students, Chapter 1 presents specific techniques and strategies for answering the NCLEX-RN® exam's psychosocial integrity questions. A complete support package includes access to additional questions and the complete eText online, and a tear-out NursingNotes card for clinical reference and quick review. Hundreds of practice questions in the book and online at www.nursingreviewsandrationales.com help students measure their readiness for the NCLEX-RN®. In addition, you can access an eText version of this book on this website
Call Number: RC440 .M3545 2013ISBN: 9780132956871Publication Date: 2012-02-23
Mosby's Physical Examination by
This comprehensive textbook of physical examination, history taking, and health assessment is distinguished by its unique author team of two physicians and two nurses. Their blend of expertise results in an unusually broad, multidisciplinary perspective...a unique emphasis on differential diagnosis...and an uncommonly compassionate, patient-centered approach. What's more, their expertise in both adult health and pediatrics fosters an especially thorough emphasis on lifespan considerations. The book also features one of the most extensive art programs found in any physical examination text-particularly with regard to abnormalities. This 5th Edition features increased coverage of evidence-based practice and complementary and alternative therapies-as well as enhanced illustrations and a state-of-the-art ancillary collection. Lifespan considerations are highlighted in subsections on Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Women, and Older Adults. "Risk Factors" boxes point out predispositions to various disorders. "Summary of Examination" boxes help readers ensure that they have mastered the necessary examination steps. "Mnemonics" boxes highlight practical memory aids to essential physical characteristics. "Physical Variations" boxes call attention to key differences in particular racial/ethnic/cultural groups. "Functional Assessment" boxes help readers to focus on the impact of diseases and disorders on patient function. "Sample Documentation" boxes demonstrate how to record findings. Extensive appendices pull together essential reference material, including growth charts, conversion tables, abbreviations, and more. Spanish version of 3rd edition also available, ISBN: 84-8174-165-5
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RC76 .M63 2003ISBN: 0323016804Publication Date: 2002-06-26
Medical Statistics from Scratch by
Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1119523923Publication Date: 2019-08-15
Numeracy in Nursing and Healthcare by
Do you find maths challenging? Do you struggle with drug calculations or clinical applications of numeracy? If you need to brush up your maths skills, Numeracy in Nursing and Healthcare is the perfect textbook to help you through your nursing programme. The text starts out with basic adding and subtracting and works up to more advanced principles like SI units, drug administration, common clinical measurements and how to understand statistics in research articles. By illustrating how maths is relevant to clinical practice, Numeracy in Nursing and Healthcare is a great tool to help you increase your confidence and excel in your studies and career. Key features: Step-by-step examples make understanding concepts easy Look Out sections highlight common mistakes Time to Try and What Did You Learn? questions help you apply what you have learned Key Point boxes provide helpful hints for good problem-solving technique Web links direct you to further reading and examples.
Call Number: Available at Main-Swirbul ; RT68 .S55 2014ISBN: 9780415740432Publication Date: 2014-03-20
Nurse's Legal Handbook by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Here is the current authoritative tool you need as you weigh potential ethical issues and make important decisions for you and your patients. Nurse's Legal Handbook works as your personal legal nurse consultant, with practical direction on how to navigate legal ethics, pitfalls, and preventative steps. This indispensable handbook demonstrates the issues with recent nursing malpractice cases, to help you be protected and informed regarding your legal rights, risks, and responsibilities as a nurse. Get informed on current laws, practice standards, and areas of legal liability ... · NEW Current laws and trends in litigation that affect nursing · NEW Current legal/ethical controversies, including: the definition of death; the nurse's response to a patient request to stop treatment · NEW Legal guidance on: o How to protect yourself from being sued for nursing negligence o The importance of professional liability insurance o The litigation process, and the four elements needed to prove nursing negligence or malpractice o Signs you are at risk for civil or criminal prosecution o What to do if you are named as a defendant o Testifying as a nurse expert o Nursing documentation as the best courtroom evidence o How testifying experts use medical records in malpractice litigation o The effects of Good Samaritan Laws on nursing o Making ethical decisions; ethical relationships with patients and coworkers o Your employee rights; the meanings of employee contracts; and whistleblowing · NEW How the states' Nurse Practice Acts and the current American Nurse Association (ANA) Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice regulate quality of care · NEW How nursing standards and hospital policies affect court decisions · NEW Ethical issues raised by landmark cases: End of life, quality of life; laws such as the Patient Self-Determination Act; violence against nurses and the ANA's response · Crucial information for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, legal nurse consultants, risk managers, critical care nurses, medical/surgical nurses, nurse attorneys, emergency nurses, long-term care nurses, and nurse educators
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781496302601Publication Date: 2015-10-07
Nurse's Pocket Guide by
Updated with NANDA-I 2012-2014 Diagnoses This pocket-sized, quick-reference tool has what you need to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patient's care effectively. The 13th Edition features all the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions. There's also a laminated "pocket minder" quick reference bookmark to make diagnosis even easier. Plus, Davis's Nursing Diagnosis and Care Planning Resource Center online features a searchable database with 800 diagnoses, plus a wealth of clinical tools and valuable information for care planning and nursing diagnosis.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0803627823Publication Date: 2013-03-04
Nursing and Health Interventions by
Nursing and Health Interventions covers the conceptual, empirical, and practical knowledge required for engaging in intervention research. This revised edition provides step-by-step guidance on the complex process of intervention development and methods for developing, delivering, evaluating and implementing intervention, supported by a wealth of examples. The text describes each essential aspect of intervention research, from generating an intervention theory, to procedures for adopting evidence-based interventions in practice. This second edition provides up-to-date coverage of intervention research and its impact on improving standards of care. Throughout the text, readers are provided with the foundational knowledge required for generating evidence that informs treatment decisions in practice, and choosing the best approaches for designing, delivering, evaluating and implementing interventions. A valuable 'one-stop' resource for students, researchers, and health professionals alike, this book: Covers the importance and issues of evidence-based healthcare practice, the role of theory in research in the intervention design and evaluation, and evaluation of effectiveness and implementation of interventions in a single volume Reviews the decision-making steps and the knowledge needed to inform decisions in research and practice Discusses the limitations of evidence derived from randomized controlled trials (RCTs) Written by leading experts in the field, Nursing and Health Interventions remains an invaluable resource for nursing and healthcare students, researchers, and health practitioners wanting to understand and apply intervention to improve the quality of care.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1119610133Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Nursing Diagnosis Manual by
Identify interventions to plan, individualize, and document care. Updated with the latest diagnoses and interventions from NANDA-I 2021-2023, here's the resource you'll turn to again and again to select the appropriate diagnosis and to plan, individualize, and document care for more than 800 diseases and disorders. Only in the Nursing Diagnosis Manual will you find for each diagnosis...defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively - sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses - prioritized action/interventions with rationales - a documentation section, and much more!
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1719645337Publication Date: 2022-03-11
Nursing Now! Today's Issues, Tomorrow's Trends by
Prepare your students for the rapidly evolving world in which they will practice. The thoroughly revised and updated 5th Edition of this popular text examines the issues and trends that are shaping the profession of nursing...now and in the future. The author explores the evolution and history of nursing, and examines the impact of reform, the legal system, and politics. New information and updates are posted online annually to keep the text current.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT82 .C33 2009ISBN: 9780803618565Publication Date: 2008-07-29
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by
The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 5th Edition, continues to meet the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore the role of these theories in the real-world to see how they guide nursing practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780803679917Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
The most comprehensive of its kind, this classic resource in the field of nursing theory provides an in-depth look at 49 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies and critical thinking activities help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.
Call Number: Swirbul ; RT84.5 .N9 2014ISBN: 0323091946Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1646480015Publication Date: 2021-01-15
Personalized Nursing and Health Care by
There has been a rapid development in the academic literature over the last ten years on papers relating to individualization, personalization, patient-, client-, consumer- and person-centredness, with work on conceptual, instrumental, observational, and experimental levels. This Special Issue presents papers that can further establish the current state of science on these topics relating to personalized nursing and health care. We collected papers that highlight and further the knowledge base conceptually, instrumentally, observationally, and experimentally with sound theoretical and methodological underpinnings and implications for research, theory, and clinical work in the disciplines of nursing, medicine, allied health, and beyond.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783036574592Publication Date: 2023
Statistics for Health Care Professionals by
Statistics for Health Care Professionals is an accessible guide to understanding statistics within health care practice. Focusing on quantitative approaches to investigating problems, the book introduces the basic rules and principles of statistics. Challenging the notion that statistics are often incomprehensible and complex to use, the authors begin by presenting a 'how to' section explaining how specific statistical tests can be performed. They also help readers to understand the language of statistics, which is often a stumbling block for those coming to the subject for the first time. The reader is taught how to calculate statistics by hand as well as being introduced to computer packages to make life easier, and then how to analyse these results. As the results of health care research are so integral to decision-making and developing new practice within the profession, the book encourages the reader to think critically about data analysis and research design, and how these can impact upon evidence based practice. This critical stance is also crucial in the assessment of the many reports and documents issued within the health industry. statistical techniques throughout, and the exercises within and at the end of each chapter help readers to learn and to develop proficiency. There is also a glossary at the end of the book for quick and easy referencing.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RA409 .S323 2005ISBN: 0761974768Publication Date: 2005-02-09
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by
Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition. Also included with the purchase is a free one-year subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing , which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 48,000 audio pronunciations, and 48 live action videos; along with a free version of Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker (a $99.00 value).
Call Number: Available at Swirlbul Reference (R121 .S8 2012) and other locationsISBN: 1608316920Publication Date: 2011-04-21
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice by
This book] has its origins in courses taught by the editors and their collaborators for doctoral students. It therefore addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings. Eighteen chapters cover individual theoretical approaches. While some, such as the theory of human caring and transformational leadership theory, will be familiar to many readers in the UK, others cover new territory... SCORE: 4/5 stars." --John Adams, honorary research associate, Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Nursing Standard This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice. It describes a step-by-step format for evaluating nursing theory's applicability to research, a format that links theory (both middle-range and grand theory) to research on a wide range of clinical populations and care delivery systems. The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. The book takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research. International experts in theory-related nursing research describe twelve theories that have previously been applied to research and practice and six theories that can be applied to future research and practice. Using a consistent analytic framework, each chapter applies a specific theory (from either nursing, psychology, sociology, or management) to a particular clinical population or care delivery issue. These encompass clinical, administrative, and educational nursing settings. The consistent format facilitates ease of comparison across different theories. Generous use of figures and tables further demonstrates the complex relationships between and among concepts embedded in the theories. Key Features: Demonstrates a systematic format for evaluating middle-range and grand nursing theory's applicability to research Links theory to clinical practice at patient population and care delivery levels Provides a useful template for students of nursing disciplinary knowledge development Presents the scholarship of international researchers of theory-related nursing Includes theories from nursing, psychology, sociology, and management
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826164049Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career, Second Edition by
Awarded second place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development! The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked. A career journey ebbs and flows-one of the great characteristics of a professional nursing career. There are always options to consider on one's career path-opportunities to gain experience and expertise in diverse areas, often never considered by professional nurses. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career provides the reader with a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. It also provides resources and websites that they can access as needed as they define their personal career trajectory. The topics discussed throughout the book are ones that professional nurses at all points on their career journey are asking about and dealing with in their careers, now and in the future. Professional nurses can turn to this user-friendly book through the entirety of their career.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1646480007Publication Date: 2021-10-15
NCLEX Print & Ebook Study Guides
Fundamentals Success: NCLEX-style Q & A review by
Alternate-format questions, including multiple choice, select all that apply, fill-in-the blank, ordered response, graphic, and chart/exhibit items Rationales for correct and incorrect responses 100-question final exam in book A focus on the needs of the beginning nursing student taking a fundamentals course Glossary of more than 250 common English words often found on nursing tests for the benefit of ESL and other students All questions field tested by nursing students and an expert panel of nurse educators NEW! FREE, 30-day access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN® included with purchase of new print book. Test yourself with 10,000+ challenging questions; review proven test-taking strategies; and prepare for the biggest test of your career with simulated NCLEX exams.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0803677456Publication Date: 2019-01-25
Master the NCLEX-RN by
Peterson's® Master(tm) the NCLEX-RN® is a comprehensive source of information designed to help candidates score their best on the licensing exam to become a registered nurse. With its content aligned to the test plan developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®) and practice exercises built to reinforce those concepts, this guide provides effective test preparation for what candidates will encounter on the actual exam. It also includes information about nursing concepts, nursing procedures, and pharmacology plus details on nursing specialties. 4 full-length practice tests--2 in the book and access to 2 online--all with detailed answer explanations Diagnostic test to pinpoint strengths and weaknesses Practice questions designed to provide comprehensive review of all subjects covered on the actual licensing exam Listings of state boards of nursing as well as professional organizations
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0768943663Publication Date: 2019-09-03
NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam by
Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for NCLEX-RN Drug Guide, seventh edition, ISBN 978-1-5062-2347-6, on sale August 1, 2017.
Call Number: Swirbul Library RT55 .A76 2015ISBN: 9781625231147Publication Date: 2015-08-04
NCLEX-RN for Dummies with Online Practice Tests by
Ace the NCLEX-RN exam with this comprehensive guide The rigorous NCLEX-RN nursing exam can be painful--and many don't pass on the initial attempt. So why not beat the odds and drastically improve your chances of acing your first time with NCLEX-RN For Dummies, 2nd Edition with Online Practice? This fully updated and revised edition is tracked to the latest NCLEX-RN exam, and comes complete with deep content review, study tips, and top test-taking strategies. You also get access to online flashcards and two practice exams with answer explanations to flesh out your technique and study. Practice with hundreds of test questions Go online for vocabulary flashcards and practice exams Find full coverage of the medical, surgical, pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetric subjects schools require for the test Written by an instructor with 38 years of hands-on nursing practice under her belt, this popular, plain-English exam prep is best-in-class and will deliver the results you want--the first time.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1119692695Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Pediatric Success: NCLEX-style Q&A review by
Pediatrics made manageable. Assure your mastery of pediatric nursing knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 900 NCLEX®-style questions on pediatrics and growth and development provide the practice you need to build your confidence. Rationales for both correct and incorrect answers as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. See what students are saying online... Great study guide. "Awesome book as a study guide and for those taking PEDS in school. One of my favorite features is the book offers rationales with the answers." Five Stars. "This book is amazing...helped me improve my test scores. I recommend buying it." The MOST helpful NCLEX books I've found and I've used many! "For Nursing school these make all the difference for helping understand how to read and interpret nclex questions. These books increased my grades in Nursing classes on exams by an easy 10 points!" SAVED MY LITTLE STUDENT-NURSE LIFE!! "This workbook is the reason I was able to get 'A's' in my peds rotation! The rationales for both correct and incorrect answers are extremely thorough! LOVE IT!!" NEW! FREE, 30-day access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN® included with purchase of new print book. Test yourself with 10,000+ challenging questions; review proven test-taking strategies; and prepare for the biggest test of your career with simulated NCLEX exams.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0803668120Publication Date: 2018-07-30
Pharmacology Success: NCLEX®-Style Q&a Review by
TWO BOOKS IN ONE! Q&A Course Review NCLEX® Prep Pharmacology made manageable! Assure your mastery of pharmacology knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 NCLEX®-style questions reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. Together, with a comprehensive exam at the end of the book, they provide the practice you need to build your confidence for course exams and the NCLEX. BONUS! FREE, 30-day access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN® included with purchase of a new print book. This online Q&A platform lets you create practice quizzes with more than 10,000 NCLEX-style questions; review proven test-taking strategies; and prepare for the biggest test of your career with simulated NCLEX exams. *****This book performed a miracle on me. "This book only got me a 99.67 on my pharmacology hesi. I'm not saying it will get you the same grade, but it definitely helped me understand the questions and rationales a little better. 10/10 would recommend lol." *****A must-have for Nursing Pharmacology! "I wouldn't had been able to finish the class without this book & I did receive an A. Great questions with clear and concise rationales. I prefer the FA Davis Success Series to any other NCLEX test prep books out there. ... well worth the cost." Updated! Content and format of the latest NCLEX-RN® Test Plan Updated! Information on medications and their safe administration Expanded! More alternative-format questions, including select all that apply (SATA,) fill-in-the-blank, ordered response, chart/exhibit, and graphic questions. New! Introduction to the Next Gen NCLEX and its clinical judgment questions 1,200+ questions in all with "answers and rationales for both correct and incorrect responses as well as "Medication Memory Joggers" for select questions A 100-question comprehensive final exam Most questions written at application and analysis level--just like the exam. Only generic drug names referenced in questions to mirror the NCLEX with their generic and brand name as well as their drug classifications included in the answer Questions crossed referenced to concept-based learning terminology An easy-to-follow format, organized by body system. All questions field-tested by nursing students.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781719646017Publication Date: 2022-09-30
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Elizabeth Silvestri, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! More than 5,700 practice questions in the text and on the Evolve website offer ample testing practice. UNIQUE! Detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, with rationales provided for both correct and incorrect answers. UNIQUE! Pyramid Points icons indicate important information, identifying content that is likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN® examination. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alerts appear in red text and highlight important nursing concepts, and identify content that typically appears on the NCLEX-RN examination. UNIQUE! Priority Concepts - two in each chapter - discuss important content and nursing interventions, and reflect the latest edition of Giddens'' Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes provide information about the steps you will take in clinical situations requiring clinical judgment and prioritization. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on Evolve cover pharmacology, acid-base balance, and fluids and electrolytes. New graduate''s perspective is offered on how to prepare for the NCLEX-RN, in addition to nonacademic preparation, the CAT format, and test-taking strategies. Mnemonics are included to help you remember important information. Alternate item format questions cover multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions. 75-question comprehensive exam in the book covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Practice questions on Evolve are organized by content area, cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, health problem, clinical judgment, and priority concepts, allowing completely customizable exams or study sessions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style questions prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN® test plan to date. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment boxes identify clinical judgment situations, each addressing one of the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. NEW! Additional questions cover health problem areas and complex care. NEW! Urinary and Bowel Elimination and Hygiene, Mobility, and Skin Integrity chapters are added to this edition.
Call Number: Print copies available at Swirbul Library and other locations. Library keeps most current two editions. Most current edition kept at Swirbul Reference RT55 .S28ISBN: 0323795307Publication Date: 2022-07-15
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Elizabeth Silvestri, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! More than 5,700 practice questions in the text and on the Evolve website offer ample testing practice. UNIQUE! Detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, with rationales provided for both correct and incorrect answers. UNIQUE! Pyramid Points icons indicate important information, identifying content that is likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN® examination. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alerts appear in red text and highlight important nursing concepts, and identify content that typically appears on the NCLEX-RN examination. UNIQUE! Priority Concepts - two in each chapter - discuss important content and nursing interventions, and reflect the latest edition of Giddens'' Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes provide information about the steps you will take in clinical situations requiring clinical judgment and prioritization. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on Evolve cover pharmacology, acid-base balance, and fluids and electrolytes. New graduate''s perspective is offered on how to prepare for the NCLEX-RN, in addition to nonacademic preparation, the CAT format, and test-taking strategies. Mnemonics are included to help you remember important information. Alternate item format questions cover multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions. 75-question comprehensive exam in the book covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Practice questions on Evolve are organized by content area, cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, health problem, clinical judgment, and priority concepts, allowing completely customizable exams or study sessions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style questions prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN® test plan to date. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment boxes identify clinical judgment situations, each addressing one of the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. NEW! Additional questions cover health problem areas and complex care. NEW! Urinary and Bowel Elimination and Hygiene, Mobility, and Skin Integrity chapters are added to this edition.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780323830300Publication Date: 2022-07-15
Strategies for Student Success on the Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) Test Items by
Master NGN test-taking skills and prepare for the Next Generation NCLEX® exam! Strategies for Student Success on the Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) Test Items includes stand-alone and unfolding case studies and the new item types that appear on the NGN, helping you develop the clinical judgment skills emphasized on the exam. To enhance your learning, each practice test item includes a detailed test-taking strategy and rationales for both correct and incorrect answers. Case studies let you strengthen key cognitive skills, and additional questions are provided on the Evolve website. Written by NCLEX experts Linda Anne Silvestri, Angela E. Silvestri, and Donna D. Ignatavicius, this NCLEX preparation resource ensures that you are NGN exam-ready! Next Generation NCLEX®-style practice questions of all types are illustrated through stand-alone case studies and unfolding case studies directed toward each of the six cognitive skills. Detailed test-taking strategy for each question provides clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option. NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (NCJMM) is included throughout with case scenarios that integrate the six clinical judgment cognitive skills. In-depth rationales include both correct and incorrect answers. NGN Tip boxes highlight the most important nursing concepts needed for exam success. Additional resources on the Evolve website allow you to interactively engage with each question from the book plus additional questions.
Call Number: Available Online and Swirbul Library Reserve ; RT55 .S55 2023ISBN: 9780323872294Publication Date: 2022-07-06
