An overview of how to access recommended databases at Adelphi for conducting Nursing literature research:
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present.
The AU Libraries currently subscribe to CINAHL Ultimate. The tutorials below pertain to all versions of CINAHL
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, including more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965. Covers a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
- Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE (see above), the National Library of Medicine's database of citations and abstracts which covers fields such as medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. PubMed also includes PubMed Central, a full text archive that includes articles from journals reviewed and selected by NLM for archiving as well as individual articles collected for archiving in compliance with funder policies. PubMed also contains Bookshelf, a full text archive of books, reports, databases, and other documents related to biomedical, health, and life sciences.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care resource designed for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty. The collection includes “Quick Lessons” and “Evidence-based Care Sheets” on diseases and disorders, practice guidelines, patient education sheets. Some available in Spanish. Also contains information on CE research instruments and legal cases. This is also a good source to find background info on a nursing/medical topic.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence-based health care resources including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Cochrane Protocols, Editorials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Special Collections. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.
A brief video on finding systematic reviews in the Cochrane database from Drexel University:
- JBI This link opens in a new windowJoanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is an online resource for healthcare professionals to rapidly access the best available evidence on a wide range of clinical topics at the point of care. Includes 4500+ JBI Evidence Summaries, Recommended Practices and Best Practice Information Sheets. Contains a large video collection.