Skip to main content

Finding & Using Permalinks

Permalinks, short for "permanent links", offers a stable link that is assigned to a specific article by the database. Using the permalink makes getting back to the article much easier.

COVID-19 Closing FAQs

Click here for information about the Libraries' operation during COVID-19.

Why use a permalink?

Saving the link to an article from a database can be tricky. Many students just copy and save the link from the address bar, but these links often create problems when you try to access the article again later.

The solution is to use a permalink instead. Permalinks are—wait for it—permanent links assigned to a specific article by the database. Using the permalink makes getting back to the article much easier and helps prevent issues of copyright.

So how do you find an article's permalink? This guide will show you how to find permalinks for articles and ebooks in University Libraries' catalog and databases.

Where you will find the permalink in each database is slightly different. So, each tab in the guide is devoted to a single database or database group, and provides text instructions, screen shots, and short video tutorials on the process.

Why would I use permalinks rather than upload an article?

You may be in copyright violation if you download, store or distribute content to outside sources (e.g. Moodle, faculty webpages, email, course reserves) without the appropriate permission from the publisher and/or author(s). 

Adelphi University Libraries has paid for subscriptions to databases of full-text material with copyrighted permission if you link (using permalinks) to the content within those databases rather than simply uploading the actual content.

For more information about copyright at Adelphi University, check out the Copyright and Fair Use for Faculty libguide.

What is a proxy prefix?

The most important thing to remember: in order for the library’s licensed resources to work off-campus or on-campus, their URLs must contain the proxy prefix.

Adelphi University Libraries’ proxy prefix looks like this, and it is usually at the front of a URL:

http://libproxy.adelphi.edu:2048/login?url= or https://libproxy.adelphi.edu:2443/login?url=

However, sometimes the proxy prefix will be located after a site’s domain, such as when you copy a permalink.
In these cases, the URL will look like similar to this:

https://search-proquest-com.libproxy.adelphi.edu:2443/docview/1869876367?accountid=8204

(In this example, "libproxy.adelphi.edu" is inserted after "search-proquest-com.")

Open Access Journals

Adelphi University Libraries has access to Open Access Journals which does not require proxied prefix.

A list of the journals can be found here:  https://libguides.adelphi.edu/c.php?g=604332&p=4230160

For more information on Open Access: https://libguides.adelphi.edu/openaccess-scholarlycommunication