Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to Nursing Resources

A guide to conducting Nursing research in the AU Libraries

Introduction to Nursing Databases at Adelphi

An overview of how to access recommended databases at Adelphi for conducting Nursing literature research.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete

A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present.

Source: Wayne College Library

 

MEDLINE with Full Text

An indispensable tool for medical research providing full text for top-tier medical journals. Covers a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. Contains full-text coverage dating back to 1949. 

PUBMED

A database produced by the National Library of Medicine which is one of the largest biomedical databases in the world. PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations and abstracts from around the world, which covers fields such as medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.

 

Nursing Reference Center

A point-of-care resource designed for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty. The collection includes “Quick Lessons” and “Evidence-based Care Sheets” on diseases and disorders, practice guidelines, patient education sheets. Some available in Spanish. Also contains information on CE research instruments and legal cases.

 

Cochrane Library

The leading journal and database for finding systematic reviews in health care. A powerful evidence-based tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making. Also includes clinical trials and other information.

An introduction to searching the Cochrane database from Drexel University:

JBI EBP Database

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is an online resource for healthcare professionals to rapidly access the best available evidence on a wide range of clinical topics at the point of care. Includes 4500+ JBI Evidence Summaries, Recommended Practices and Best Practice Information Sheets. Contains a large video collection.

Nursing and Allied Health Database

Covers a range of topics in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, with over 700 full text titles.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Other Useful Databases for Nursing

These databases offer useful audio visual materials: