There are different citation formats for different disciplines. Be sure to check with your professor about the appropriate format for your work before you start creating your citations. Two frequently used formats are MLA (Modern Language Association) and APA (American Psychological Association). MLA format is a citation style commonly used in liberal arts and humanities disciplines. APA format is commonly used in the social and behavioral sciences and in fields related to education as well as nursing and business.
IMPORTANT:
Citation style guides are updated periodically, always remember to check your citations against the latest edition (or whichever version your professor requires) of the style manual you use for your research.
MLA
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide Guidelines From Purdue Owl.
- Creating a Works Cited List (MLA) From Purdue Owl. According to the current MLA Handbook (9th edition), you must have a Works Cited page at the end of your research paper. All entries in the Works Cited page must correspond to the works cited in your main text. This resource contains guidelines for creating a Works Cited list as well as in-text citations.
- Annotated Bibliography Samples From Purdue Owl. Includes MLA as well as APA and Chicago Manual of Style.
For more information on MLA format, consult the MLA Handbook in Swirbul Library:
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ?New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language ?Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project ?Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before ?A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ?Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources ?Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ?Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ?Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ?A sample essay in MLA format ?Annotated bibliography examples ?Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation ?Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22
APA
- APA 7th edition General Format From Purdue Owl. Guidelines for formatting your paper in APA (American Psychological Association) format. Includes guidance for formatting title page (for students and professionals), abstract page and general citation format.
- APA Format Reference List: Basic Rules From Purdue Owl.
- APA In-Text Citations: The Basics From Purdue Owl.
- More resources for citing in APA
- Sample APA Annotated Bibliographies
For complete information on APA format, consult the APA style manual:
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Swirbul Library Reserve 112 (and other locations); BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
