LibGuides: Systematic Reviews/Evidence Synthesis: More Resources

Organizations & Agencies

Some organizations and agencies which support, collect, or conduct systematic reviews:

AHRQ: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions. Their mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
Campbell Collaboration: International research network that produces and supports systematic reviews of effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York A world renowned institute producing policy relevant research using innovative methods to improve population health. Specialises in evidence synthesis, assembling and evaluating data from multiple research studies to generate robust evidence to inform health policy and practice.
Cochrane Collaboration: International network that conducts and supports systematic reviews of effects of clinical interventions.
EPPI-Centre: (Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre) Collects, produces, and supports systematic reviews through databases, software, and courses.
Health Evidence Access over 9400 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. From McMaster University.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI): A global organization promoting and supporting evidence-based decisions that improve
health and health service delivery. Supports and conducts systematic reviews. Focuses primarily on nursing.
What Works Clearinghouse The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) is an investment of the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) within the U.S. Department of Education. WWC is a central and trusted source of scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies. WWC reviews the research, determine which studies meet rigorous standards, and summarize the findings. They focus on high-quality research to answer the question “what works in education?”

More Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports
Sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the United States. EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. Reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas. The EPCs also conduct research on methodology of evidence synthesis.
BMC Systematic Reviews
Open-access, peer-reviewed journal publishing high-quality systematic review products. Includes systematic review protocols, systematic reviews & methods research. All articles published by Systematic Reviews are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication, without subscription charges or registration barriers.
The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based recommendations and findings from the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). CPSTF makes evidence-based recommendations about the effectiveness and economic impact of public health programs, services, and other interventions used in real-world settings such as communities, worksites, schools, faith-based organizations, military bases, public health clinics and departments, and integrated healthcare systems. Recommendations in The Community Guide are the gold standard for what works to protect and improve population health.
DoPHER
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER) has focused coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide. This register currently contains details of over 6,000 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.
Epistemonikos
Epistemonikos is a comprehensive database of health evidence developed and maintained by the Epistemonikos Foundation, a not-for-profit organization based in Chile. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.
LitCovid
A literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. LitCovid is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 358,177 (and growing ) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations.
PDQ-Evidence
PDQ (“pretty darn quick”)-Evidence facilitates rapid access to the best available evidence for decisions about health systems. It includes systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews (including evidence-based policy briefs), primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of that evidence.
Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR)
A searchable archive of systematic reviews
TRIP Database
A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence. Allows users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.