Selected Books on Systematic Reviews
Advanced Research Skills: Conducting Literature and Systematic Reviews by
A short course for graduate students to increase their proficiency in conducting research for literature and systematic reviews.
Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted. This work is licensed under an Ontario Commons License (Version 1.0).
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.2 by
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official document that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.
Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: updated February 2021
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by
First Edition a 2013 Doody' Core Title and AJN Book of the Year Award Winner This text provides top-tier guidance for DNP students, graduate faculty, APRNs, and other health care providers on how to use available research for improving patient outcomes and reducing costs. It is the only resource written expressly to meet the objectives of DNP courses. This second edition is completely updated and features three new approaches umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews for seeking, synthesizing, and interpreting available evidence to improve the delivery of patient care. The text also includes two new examples of completed systematic reviews and two completed proposals. The book presents, clearly and comprehensively, the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational comprehensive systematic review (CSR). It encompasses the complexities of the entire process, from asking clinical questions to getting the evidence into practice. The text includes question-specific methods and analysis and compares CSR methods, literature reviews, integrated reviews, and meta-studies. It describes how to find and appraise relevant studies, including the non-published grey literature and criteria for selecting or excluding studies, and describes how to use the results in practice. Also examined are ways to disemminate findings to benefit clinical practice and support best practices, and how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Plentiful examples, including two completed proposals and two completed systematic reviews, demonstrate every step of the process. An expanded resource chapter that can serve as a toolkit for conducting a systematic review is also provided. The text covers useful software and includes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and references. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Three new chapters presenting new systematic review approaches: umbrella reviews, mixed-method reviews, and other types of reviews including rapid and scoping reviews and reviews of text and opinionTwo new examples of completed systematic reviewsCompletely updated content throughoutDetailed information to foster systematic review research question development, efficient literature searches, and management of references KEY FEATURES: Delivers the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a CSR from start to finishServes as the only CSR resource written expressly for the APRNDescribes useful software for conducting a systematic reviewProvides rich examples including two completed CSRsIncludes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, suggested reading, and referencesAccompanied by a comprehensive toolkit of resources for completing a systematic review
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826131859Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Evidence Based Medicine by
Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions of EBM - how to ask answerable clinical questions, how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence, how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance, and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences. New edition of fantastically successful book on EBM, written by the best-known authorities in the world. Will focus on the major challenge of practicing EBM in real time, providing tips and tools to help achieve this Focuses on the major challenge of practicing EBM in real time, providing tips and tools to help achieve this. All clinical examples are new. Expanded section on limitations of EBM - discusses common criticisms and the real limitations and how they can be overcome. Highlights the problems with the CAT databases available on the web. Expanded section on clinical decision rules in diagnosis. Interactive and user-friendly CD. Downloadable EBM resources for handhelds.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul R723.7 .E954 2005ISBN: 0443074445Publication Date: 2005-05-09
Finding What Works in Health Care by
Healthcare decision makers in search of reliable information that compares health interventions increasingly turn to systematic reviews for the best summary of the evidence. Systematic reviews identify, select, assess, and synthesize the findings of similar but separate studies, and can help clarify what is known and not known about the potential benefits and harms of drugs, devices, and other healthcare services. Systematic reviews can be helpful for clinicians who want to integrate research findings into their daily practices, for patients to make well-informed choices about their own care, for professional medical societies and other organizations that develop clinical practice guidelines. Too often systematic reviews are of uncertain or poor quality. There are no universally accepted standards for developing systematic reviews leading to variability in how conflicts of interest and biases are handled, how evidence is appraised, and the overall scientific rigor of the process. In Finding What Works in Health Care the Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends 21 standards for developing high-quality systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research. The standards address the entire systematic review process from the initial steps of formulating the topic and building the review team to producing a detailed final report that synthesizes what the evidence shows and where knowledge gaps remain. Finding What Works in Health Care also proposes a framework for improving the quality of the science underpinning systematic reviews. This book will serve as a vital resource for both sponsors and producers of systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0309164257Publication Date: 2011-07-20
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 3rd ed. by Call Number: Main-Swirbul R118.6 .G74 2006ISBN: 1405139765Publication Date: 2006-02-13
Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses by
The book is for training librarians new to systematic reviews, for those developing a new systematic review service, for those wanting to establish protocols for a current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; R853.S94 P54 2022ISBN: 9781538150177Publication Date: 2022-11-02
Synthesizing Qualitative Research by
A considerable number of journal publications using a range of qualitative synthesis approaches has been published. Mary Dixon-Woods and colleagues (Mary Dixon-Woods, Booth, & Sutton, 2007) identified 42 qualitative evidence synthesis papers published in health care literature between 1990 and 2004. An ongoing update by Hannes and Macaitis (2010)identified around 100 additional qualitative or mixed methods syntheses. Yet these generally lack a clear, detailed description of what was done and why (Greenhalgh et al, 2007; McInnes & Wimpenny, 2008) . Choices are most commonly influenced by what others have successfully used in the past or by a particular school of thought (Atkins et al, 2008; Britten et al, 2002). This is a substantive limitation. This book brings balance to the options available to researchers, including approaches that have not had a substantial uptake among researchers. It provides arguments for when and why researchers or other parties of interest should opt for a certain approach to synthesis, which challenges they might face in adopting it and what the potential strengths and weaknesses are compared with other approaches. This book acts as a resource for readers who would otherwise have to piece together the methodology from a range of journal articles. In addition, it should stimulate further development and documentation of synthesis methodology in a field that is characterized by diversity.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1283295326Publication Date: 2012-01-12- Systematic Reviews: CRDs Guidance for Undertaking Reviews in Health Care by
A publication from the Center for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, a world renowned institute producing policy relevant research using innovative methods to improve population health. Describes the methods and steps necessary to conduct a systematic review.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781900640473Publication Date: 2009
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis (Pocket Guides to Social Work Research Methods) by
When used in tandem, systematic reviews and meta-analysis-- two distinct but highly compatible approaches to research synthesis-- form a powerful, scientific approach to analyzing previous studies. But to see their full potential, a social work researcher must be versed in the foundationalprocesses underlying them. This pocket guide to Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis illuminates precisely that practical groundwork.In clear, step-by-step terms, the authors explain how to format topics, locate and screen studies, extract and assess data, pool effect sizes, determine bias, and interpret the results, showing readers how to combine reviewing and meta-analysis correctly and effectively. Each chapter containsvivid social work examples and concludes with a concise summary and notes on further reading, while the book's glossary and handy checklists and sample search and data extraction forms maximize the boo'ks usefulness.Highlighting the concepts necessary to understand, critique, and conduct research synthesis, this brief and highly readable introduction is a terrific resource for students and researchers alike.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0195326547Publication Date: 2008-02-13
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 3658276029Publication Date: 2020
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by
The systematic literature review is different to the more traditional literature review which often uses selected pieces of evidence to explore or develop a theory, or assemble a strong argument. A systematic literature review has different goals: in particular, to identify and summarise all the relevant research in order to answer a particular question, and to do this in a way that is transparent (in other words, anyone can see and replicate the methods use to identify and synthesise that evidence) and objective (that is, the reviewer tends not to act as an advocate for any particular viewpoint). Systematic reviews are seen as valuable because people making a decision about a policy or a treatment or other intervention often require a more dispassionate overview of the research evidence. Systematic reviews fulfill that need, and many research centres have been set up around the world to produce such reviews in such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, and housing and urban policy. health areas, but have only relatively recently become common in the social sciences. It is increasingly becoming seen as a core social science research skill - one which all social science researchers should have - and indeed a knowledge of systematic reviews is now a requirement of many social science degree course. There are many books catering for the large clinical market, but only one that caters for the social sciences. This project is proposed as a handbook for those in social sciences wishing to carry out a systematic review. It will also find a ready market in allied health fields, where a social, rather than a clinical, approach is taken. SEE MAGGI SAVIN-BADEN'S COMMENTS] This book will outline the rationale for systematic reviews, giving worked examples from a number of fields. It will require no previous knowledge but will take the reader through the process of producing a high quality systematic literature review, stage by stage. It will address the needs of both providers or reviews, and those who use them. introduction and overview tof systematic review methods, and secondly as a handbook for researchers or other users of research to dip into for help with specific tasks - for example, as a guide to appraising the quality of a particular piece of research.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1405121114Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Systematic Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions by
Systematic Evidence Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions is your most effective, A-to-Z guide to conducting thorough, comprehensive systematic reviews. By breaking down topics and essential steps, this volume teaches you how to form key questions, select evidence, and perform illuminating review not just in predictable circumstances, but when basic rules don't apply--honing your ability to think critically and solve problems. You'll learn how to define a review's purpose and scope, develop research questions, build a team, and even manage your project to maximize efficacy. If you're looking to refine your approach to systematic reviews, don't just catalog and collect; use this powerful text to evaluate, synthesize, and deliver results that will help shape the health care industry. FEATURES Presented in standard format throughout to allow for more practical, easy to read approach Provides useful instruction on how to conduct a high-quality systematic review that meets the recent standards of the Institute of Medicine Accessible, concise information about the state-of-the-art methods of systematic review, from key question formulation to assessing the quality of included studies and reporting results Illustrated throughout with real-world examples from systematic reviews that have been used to inform practice guidelines and health policy Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781451187717Publication Date: 2014-06-13
Available from ConnectNY:
Medical Library Association,, Foster, M. J., & Jewell, S. T. (2017). Assembling the pieces of a systematic review: Guide for librarians. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.
Bonato, S. (2018). Searching the grey literature: A handbook for searching reports, working papers, and other unpublished research. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield.