There are many discipline-specific as well as multi-disciplinary open access journals. To choose journals for publication see "Vetting OA Journals" in this guide for more information
BioMed Central : BioMed Central Ltd. is an independent publisher in London, England, that provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central also offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology. (Gold OA)
MLA Commons: A site that supports a wide range of informal blogs and discussion groups and a platform for more formal publications—both member-generated and those initiated by the association.. (See also "Developing New Book Projects on MLA Commons.") (Green OA)
Open Humanities Press: An international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose stated mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide. The OHP network includes several openly accessible book series published by MPublishing at the University of Michigan, as well as a selective list of autonomously-produced open access journals in critical and cultural theory. (Gold OA)
Open Library of Humanities (OLH) : OLH is a an open access project for academic publishing in the humanities and social sciences. Adelphi University is a member through the University Libraries, which allows Adelphi faculty the opportunity to publish their research on this site. (Gold OA)
PeerJ : An off-shoot of PLoS, PeerJ is a new open access journal in the biological and medical sciences. PeerJ operates under a unique publishing fee model, which includes lifetime membership options. (Gold OA)
PLoS (Public Library of Science): PLoS publishes several well-established open access, peer-reviewed journals covering an disciplines in the sciences including PLOS Biology, PLOS One, and PLOS Pathogens. (Gold OA)
Royal Society Open Science: An open access, peer-reviewed journal from the Royal Society publishing groups covering the sciences and mathematics. (Gold OA)
Sage Open: A peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an open access format. Coverage includes the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities. (Gold OA)
Springer Open : A list of this publisher's open access journals in various disciplines. (Hybrid OA)
Google Books:Contains images of 1,000,000+ fully readable public domain books, plus many more copyrighted books available via excerpts and snippets.
Knowledge Unlatched: Knowledge Unlatched works with libraries and academic publishers to make selected books openly accessible. The model depends on libraries contributing to cover a publisher's costs on a book; when the cost-recovery goal is met, the book becomes open access. Knowledge Unlatched encourages authors to discuss this option with their publishers. See "How can I get my book published through Knowledge Unlatched?"
OAPEN: A European-based database that focuses on open access books in the humanities and social sciences.