Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access and Scholarly Communication

Information about Open Access publishing, vetting journals, finding funding, and more.

Resources with Open Access Content

The following websites contain thousands of openly licensed resources that can be freely used with proper citation. Speak with your librarian liaison about more specific resources that may be available in your subject area and see the Adelphi Libraries LibGuide on Open Educational Resources.

  • Creative Commons: Browse over 500 million images available for reuse.
  • Digital Commons Network (Bepress): This site provides open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from hundreds of colleges and universities. The publications are curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and cover a multitude of disciplines and subject areas. 
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. 

    They work with a national network of partners to make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience

  • HathiTrust: Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

  • Internet Archive: Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. They also maintain The Wayback Machine which seeks to preserve the history of the Internet.

  • Library of Congress Digital Collections: The LoC maintains many digital collections of books, images, and other resources that are either openly licensed or in the public domain. Explore their open ebooks and images
  • Rijksstudio: Thousands of high quality digital images of the enormous collection of the Rijksmuseum, all in the public domain and free to use.