Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tests & Measures (General)

Find information and sources about standardized tests and measurements that are used for diagnosis, research, or assessment.

Unpublished Tests

Unpublished tests are found in the scholarly literature and are usually developed by university researchers or other professionals, government agencies, or nonprofit organizations. Unpublished tests are not obtained by a publisher but are usually found in journal articles appendices, dissertations, books, and other research reports. While access to these tests is not restricted, ethical conduct requires that these tests should be used only with the permission of the instrument's author.

Unpublished Tests in a Published Article, Book, or Dissertation

Articles

Use the Advanced Search feature to locate copies of unpublished tests in journal articles.  Each database indexes the use of tests differently, so make sure you browse the available options to find what you need.  Some databases allow you to show only tests/instruments in your results, and others index the name of the test as a field called "Instrumentation."

Click here for social work databases.

Dissertations

Ph.D. candidates may develop or use a test as part of their dissertation.  Use a keyword search in Dissertations & Theses Global to find these.

Tests and Measures Database (TMdb)

This open-source database helps researchers to identify resources which contain full-text tests and measures, and to allow them to search by topic or title. 

This list is not exhaustive; it is updated as new information becomes available and human resources are available to create updates.

Entries include only instrument title, author, date, & pages located in a larger compilation. Once you have a citation to your test, check Adelphi University's Libraries' OneSearch to see if we have a copy, or order a copy from ConnectNY or Interlibrary Loan.

Note: Use Refwork's Refshare database rather than the University of Texas Arlington's catalog's search tool. It appears that the catalog no longer supports the TMdb function.