Census and General Business

The homepage for the Census Bureau includes links to all of its components. Population, housing, and economic data are the key data presented. The 1990 and 2000 decennial census data is available, as is the annual American Community Survey, which provides additional current sample data. Profiles of geographic areas are available and thematic population maps by age and income can be generated. Key historical data is also on this site: the Statistical Abstract back to 1878 and the Historical Statistics of the U.S. 1790-1970.

Compiled by the business reference specialist at the Library of Congress, this site directs users to a core group of resources on entrepreneurship.

This site provides access to more than 14,000 digital video and podcast content on business and entrepreneurship via the eClips library of Cornell University.

A not-for-profit organization that works closely with the World Economic Forum and has a mission to advance social entrepreneurship.

The Ethics Resource Center has been in existence for 85 years and is still considered a definitive resource on ethical behavior in both the private and public center. The content primarily relates to current and emerging issues in ethical behavior in organizations.

Information on New York specific labor laws, regulations, forms, publications and employer information.

Provides updates in government policies and court rulings in regard to human resource issues.

For equal opportunity laws, regulations, guidance and publications.

This website offers useful advice and resources related to wages, working conditions, collective bargaining practices, job searches, employment selection,as well as legal information and guidance on compliance with labor regulations for employers and employees.

The Official Source for U.S. Merchandise Trade Data: The Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau sponsors USA Trade Online, with access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations through the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. The website includes the International Trade and Market Access Data, which provides WTO data on merchandise and commercial trade services as well as selected market access indicators.

This new annual report contains manufacturing data on the value of product shipments. The data are published on a North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) basis from the 2014 Economic Census Industry Series. The MITR also includes official U.S. export and import merchandise trade statistics.

The MITR will, for the first time, provide a comprehensive comparison between detailed manufacturing product class data and associated import and export data.

These Guides from the library of one of the top business school in the country focus on topical resources to help in business related research as well as general business topics, specific subjects, industries, and countries. There are also Guides that step you through the research process. While many of the links are proprietary for Harvard students, most link to valid, authenticated resources that can be obtained through the Adelphi Libraries

Provides articles based on research papers, abstracts of research papers, and analysis of current business issues generated from the Wharton School.

This Guide has descriptions of databases and research guides in the collections of Rutgers University. There are links to more than 3,000 selected business and management-related Internet resources. The home page is arranged alphabetically by business topic (i.e., Accounting, Banks and Financial Service, etc.).

Like the Baker Library site mentioned above, this site lists different resources that are relevant for different business related subject areas. Many of these resources can be found at the Adelphi Libraries.