LibGuides: Genealogical Resources for Shared Roots Course: United States resources

INTERNET RESOURCES

The world's largest collection of online family history records makes it possible.

FamilySearch is an international, nonprofit organization dedicated to helping all people discover their family story.

World’s largest grave site collection.

Ellis Island has an online searchable database, created by the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island Foundation, of 22.5 million arrivals to New York between 1892 - 1924.

Castle Garden

Castlegarden.org is a free database developed and funded by The Battery Conservancy. It contains and makes available eleven million records of immigrants who arrived at the Port of New York from 1820 to 1892. Today more than 100 million Americans can trace their ancestry to this early period of immigration.

Library of Congress Genealogy Resources

National Archives Genealogy Resources

Cyndi’s List

A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.

Links

NJ State Archives Genealogical Records
Ellis Island
The Ellis Island Archive contains the passenger lists of more than 51 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1957. The period from 1892 to 1924 at Ellis Island was the largest human migration in modern history! The expansion of this database of Port of New York arrivals is continuing, and all records from 1925 through 1957 will be searchable by early 2015.