LibGuides: Genealogical Resources for Shared Roots Course: New York

Resources

The NYGenWeb Project is the New York affiliate of the USGenWeb Project, dedicated to providing free genealogical and historical information about New York

Italian Genealogical Group

Over 16 million entries of vital records, naturalization and other genealogical records.

National Archives at New York City

Hold permanent records created by Federal agencies and courts in the following states: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Brooklyn Newstand

New York TIMES

The Long Island Studies Institute

The Long Island Studies Institute, a cooperative endeavor of Hofstra University and Nassau County, is a major center for the study of Long Island local and regional history. The Institute's research facility includes the Nassau County Museum's reference collection and Hofstra University's James N. MacLean American Legion Memorial collection. These resources – books, photographs, newspapers, maps, census records, genealogies, government documents, manuscripts, and audiovisual materials – constitute a rich repository for local history research. The Institute's collections are available to scholars, teachers, students, and the general public.

New York Genealogy – Free New York Genealogy

Links

Italian Genealogical Group
Covers Bronx, Kings, Manhattan, Richmond, and Queens Counties
Ellis Island
The Ellis Island Archive contains the passenger lists of more than 51 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1957. The period from 1892 to 1924 at Ellis Island was the largest human migration in modern history! The expansion of this database of Port of New York arrivals is continuing, and all records from 1925 through 1957 will be searchable by early 2015.
NJ State Archives Genealogical Records
Brooklyn Eagle
1841-1955 online
New York Times
1851 - 2010
Brooklyn City Directories
Brooklyn City Directories and Telephone Directories on Microfilm, 1796 to 1986
The New York Genealogical & Biographical Society
NYGenWeb
New York Public Library
The Milstein Division of United States History, Local History & Genealogy is one of the largest genealogical collections free and open to the public. Following is a selective list of resources, with an emphasis on New York City. Unless noted, all sources are located in the Milstein Division (Room 121). Many of the microform titles are self-service in the Milstein Division Microform Room (Room 119).
Family Search
Operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), this free website offers a variety of genealogical databases, access to unindexed images of genealogical records, wiki entries describing various types of genealogical research, and access to the Family History Library's catalog. Includes free access to the 1940 United States Federal Census.
HeritageQuest
Search U.S. Federal Census records, digitized family and local history books, an index to genealogical and local history periodicals (1800-2009), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874).
Ancestry.com
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases: Census and Vital Records, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and
Holocaust Records, City Directories, and African American and Native American Records.