Skip to main content

Genealogical Resources for Shared Roots Course

RESOURCES

Russian and East European Historical Newspapers (Duke University LibGuide)

Belarus Online Genealogy Records

Foundation for East European Family History Societies

Maps, links, journal back-issues and how-to tips make this a key starting place for research in the region.

Genealogy Indexer

Search for Central and East European ancestors in 1.85 million pages of more than 3,000 historical directories, plus memorials to Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust (Yizkor books), military lists, community and personal histories, and school records.

Baza Systemu Indeksacji Archiwalnej (BaSIA)

The Baza Systemu Indeksacji Archiwalnej (Archival Database Indexing System) of the Wielkopolska Genealogical Society contains more than 4 million entries from all over Wielkopolska (“Greater Poland,” in modern west-central Poland).

Archiwum Glowne Akt Dawnych

The Central Archives of Historical Records in Warsaw provides access to online registry books and other digitized parish records from the Eastern areas of Poland, now in Ukraine.

HalGal

This site has databases you can search to find out whether the Central State Historical Archives of Ukraine or the Family History Library (FHL) holds a particular Galician village’s or parish’s Greek or Roman Catholic church registers. (Galicia is an eastern portion of the region that is now divided between Poland and Ukraine.)

Metryki

Metryki (“Metrics”) contains a number of vital record indexes.

Polish State Archives

The National Archives of Poland is creating this free online repository of digitized vital and civil records from the State Archives of Poland. 

Poznan Project

The site (available in Polish, English, French and German) has indexed more than 1.8 million marriages marriage records from the 19th century for parishes in the former Prussian province of Posen, now PoznaƄ, Poland.

Archives Library Information Center (NARA)