Selected Print and Electronic Reference Books for EBP Research
Empirical Nursing: The Art of Evidence-Based Care by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1787439887Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice by
Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry. Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT81.5 .P63 2018ISBN: 9781496351296Publication Date: 2017-02-04
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Health Care: Assimilating Research, Experience and Expertise by
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare examines the Joanna Briggs Institute model for evidence-based practice which recognises research, theory and practice as sources of evidence and takes a practical approach to developing, implementing and evaluating practice, based on 'evidence' in its broadest sense. Evidence-based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare addresses the nature of evidence in clinical practice, generating and synthesising evidence, and transferring and utilising evidence in clinical practice. It describes the development of practice information sheets and clinical guidelines and provides practical guidance on the implementation of evidence-based practice and its evaluation using clinical audit.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781444316551Publication Date: 2007
Evidence-based Physical Examination : Best Practices for Health and Well-Being Assessment by
The first book to teach physical assessment techniques based on evidence and clinical relevance. Grounded in an empirical approach to history-taking and physical assessment techniques, this text for advanced health care providers and students focuses on patient well-being and health promotion. It is based on an analysis of current evidence and up-to-date guidelines and recommendations and underscores the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind physical assessment techniques. Evidence-Based Physical Examination: Best Practices for Health and Well-Being Assessment offers the unique perspective of teaching both a holistic and scientific approach to assessment. Chapters are consistently structured for ease of use to include anatomy and physiology, key history questions and considerations, physical examination, laboratory considerations, imaging considerations, evidence-based practice recommendations, and differential diagnoses related to normal and abnormal findings. Case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways aid retention and countless illustrations, images, and videos demonstrate advanced history-taking and assessment techniques. Ancillary resources include an instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; videos; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank. This is the physical assessment text of the future. Key Features: Delivers the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind advanced history-taking and assessment techniquesEschews "traditional" techniques that do not demonstrate evidence-based reliabilityFocuses on the most current clinical guidelines and recommendations from resources such as the US Preventative Services Task ForceFocuses on the use of modern technology for assessmentAids retention through case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeawaysDemonstrates advanced techniques with countless illustrations, images, and videosIncludes a robust instructor manual with learning objectives, chapter summaries, case studies, multiple-choice questions, and essay questions; PowerPoint slides; test bank; and image bank.Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826164536Publication Date: 2019-12-28
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The Fifth Edition has been revised to include content related to the evolution of nursing science, quality improvement projects and how they relate to evidence-based practice, as well as search strategies and authentic web content.The hallmark feature of this text is its presentation of content. Each chapter is divided into 'bites' which make the chapters quick to read and easy to understand. To bring content to life, the authors have woven the "Apply What You've Learned" case study throughout each chapter to illustrate the importance of hand hygiene. Lastly, the Fifth Edition features a revision to the hierarchy of evidence which helps students identify the types of evidence that fit within each level as well as the tools necessary to appraise evidence. New to the Fifth Edition:Separate chapters dedicated to evidence-based practice and nursing researchUpdated quantitative design examplesAnalysis of the four types of study validity threatsConducting evidence appraisal to determine strength and qualityRecommended tools to appraise evidence qualityNew content focused on mixed methodsIn-depth examples of data collectionEnhanced quality improvement and evidence-based practice projectsNavigate Advantage Access
Call Number: Swirbul ; Ref RT81.5 .E95 2022ISBN: 9781284226324Publication Date: 2021-09-16
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice by
Awarded second place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Nursing Research category! The go-to guide to evidence-based practice in nursing for more than a decade, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 5th Edition, presents the latest perspectives on research-backed nursing practice in an engaging, user-friendly approach that has made this the bestselling resource of its kind. AJN award-winning authors Bernadette Melnyk and Ellen Fineout-Overholt combine straightforward, conversational storytelling, inspiring quotes, and engaging case studies to make evidence-based practice accessible for students at any level of familiarity. With real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter, this revised and reimagined 5th Edition gives students the confidence to meet today's clinical challenges and ensure the most effective patient outcomes for years to come. New to this edition: NEW! Reimagined coverage and a new chapter on applying implementation science to clinical practice settings familiarize students with the latest evidence and emerging implementation and evaluation tools. UPDATED! Content throughout empowers you to more effectively teach evidence-based practice principles in academic and clinical settings. UPDATED! Making EPB Real case studies reinforce clinical application through real-world examples.
Call Number: Swirlbul Library Reserve ; RT42 .M44 2023ISBN: 9781975185725Publication Date: 2023-01-12
Evidence-Based Practice Manual for Nurses, 3rd ed. by
The Evidence-based Practice Manual successfully breaks down the skills for evidence-based nursing into manageable components. The reader will learn how to find, critically read and interpret a range of research studies, and will discover optimal approaches to helping patients reach decisions that are informed by the best-available evidence. The more-strategic concepts of developing an organisational evidence-based culture and making evidence-based changes at organisational level are the focus of the final section. Step-by-step guide to finding, appraising and applying research evidence in nursing Teaches skills for successfully reviewing published literature: formulating a focused question developing a search strategy for efficient retrieval of relevant studies appraising the retrieved studies All examples are relevant to nurses and nursing Reflects contemporary nursing issues A new chapter on 'Using research evidence in making clinical decisions with the individual patient' provides practical guidance and tools for decision-making A new chapter on 'Using evidence from qualitative studies' explains the complexities of qualitative methodologies and methods in a simple, easily understood way Online exercises and solutions Help the reader test out and consolidate newly acquired skills and knowledge Provide an opportunity to critically appraise studies with the following range of designs: qualitative research a randomised controlled trial a cohort study a case control study a diagnostic test accuracy study a systematic review a clinical guideline Example solutions are provided, all written by experts in the field.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780702046681Publication Date: 2012
Exploring Evidence-Based Practice: Debates and Challenges in Nursing by
Despite sustained debate and progress the evolving thing that is evidence based nursing or practice (EBP) continues to dangle a variety of conceptual and practical loose threads. Moreover, when we think about what is being asked of students and registered or licenced practitioners in terms of EBP, it is difficult not to concede that this 'ask' is in many instances quite large and, occasionally, it may be unachievable. EBP has and continues to improve patient, client and user care. Yet significant questions concerning its most basic elements remain unresolved and, if nurses are to contribute to the resolution or reconfiguration of these questions then, as a first step, we must acknowledge their existence. From a range of international standpoints and perspectives, contributors to this book focus on aspects of EBP that require development. This focus is always robust and at times it is unashamedly provocative. Contributors challenge readers to engage with anomalies that surround the subject and readers are asked to consider the often precarious assumptions that underpin key aspects of EBP. While both conflict and concord are evident among the various offerings presented here, the book nonetheless creates and sustains a narrative that is bigger or more substantial than the sum of individual parts. And, across contributions, a self-assuredly critical stance towards EBP as currently practiced, conceptualized and taught coexists alongside respectful admiration for all who make it happen. Exploring Evidence-based Practice: Debates and Challenges in Nursing should be considered essential reading for academics and postgraduate students with an interest in evidence-based practice and nursing research.
Call Number: Swirbul Main - RT51 .E89 2016ISBN: 9781138789906Publication Date: 2016
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826194079Publication Date: 2016
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 3rd ed. by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; R118.6 .G74 2006ISBN: 9781118801116Publication Date: 2006
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this book is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, this book now includes: Two new chapters on qualitative research, clearly explaining what it is and how to do it A comprehensive glossary of qualitative and quantitative terms to demystify tricky terminology An appendix of statistical tests, explaining the procedures for each Many new examples from practice, applying the theory to a wide range of scenarios from across the healthcare professions This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, helping to build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780273768852Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The goal of EBP in healthcare is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes.Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.Key features of the book include:* NEW strategies for dissemination, including guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication* EXPANDED focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing the complex care issues often tackled by EBP teams* EXPANDED synthesis and translation steps, including an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EBP project* Tools to guide the EBP process, such as stakeholder analysis, action planning, and dissemination* Explanation of the practice question, evidence, and translation (PET) approach to EBP projects* Overview of the patient, intervention, comparison, and outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development* Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment* Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1948057891Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice by
With an emphasis on how nursing research is appraised and applied, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 8th Edition offers a comprehensive introduction to the nursing research concepts and methods essential to today's evidence-based healthcare environment. Coverage includes clear guidelines for evaluating research and applying scientific evidence to practice, qualitative and quantitative research, appraising and critiquing research, critical thinking, and clinical decision making using research information. The American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Book of the Year Awards recognized the 8th edition with a first-place award in the Nursing Research category. Balanced coverage acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Distinct coverage of qualitative and quantitative research approaches are presented in separate parts of the book to avoid the confusion that often results when the two are interwoven. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star cast of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Each chapter contains a variety of popular learning aids, including Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Streamlined steps of the research process focus on how to appraise and apply research findings for evidence-based practice. NEW! Theory chapter features an up-to-date exploration of the most important theories behind nursing research. NEW! Systematic Reviews and Clinical Practice Guidelines chapter addresses this important area of nursing research. NEW! Quality Improvement chapter discusses the trending topic of quality improvement as it relates to nursing research. NEW! Updated research articles, including a Cochrane Collection study, reflect the most current, high-quality studies, particularly those that are accessible and relevant to readers with minimal clinical experience. NEW! All-new Research Vignettes illustrate the dynamic nature of nursing research.
Call Number: Swirbul-Main RT81.5 .N8665 2014, Hauppauge Main RT81.5 .N8665 2014, Manhattan-Main RT81.5 .N8665 2014ISBN: 0323100864Publication Date: 2013-09-27
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses by
Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across NewYork-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. Clinical nurses have indicated that the components of the PEACE model make the model memorable and useful: P for problem identification E for evidence review A for appraising the evidence C for changing practice or conducting research E for evaluating and disseminating the findings The last stage of the PEACE model is particularly important to advancing nursing practice across institutions. We have found that unless the model results are disseminated through scholarly presentations and publications, the clinical challenges continue to be present across sites and institutions. We emphasize this phase and conduct publication workshops to help clinical nurses shape the dissemination of their EBP work. Nurses' active participation in EBP and research is critical to improving the care we provide to patients and furthering nursing science. It is important to note that the design of the PEACE model intentionally linked EBP, quality improvement (QI), and research. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1646480104Publication Date: 2021-01-15
The Practice of Nursing Research by
With frequent examples from the best of the research literature, this authoritative textprovides you with a comprehensive foundation for appraisal, synthesis, and generation of evidence for clinical practice. This new edition features an enhanced focus on research as the foundation for evidence-based practice, along with improved readability and more background coverage of qualitative research. This textbook prepares you to understand and apply research, and to go on to conduct original research. Includes all the information needed to help both beginning nurses and beginning nurse-researchers understand and applying research findings to practice and conducting research. Includes frequent research examples from the best of the literature, strengthened with high-quality examples from the latest published studies, both qualitative and quantitative. Provides the most in-depth coverage of quantitative research methods of any nursing research text on the market. Comprehensive EVOLVE teaching/learning package includes an Instructor's Resource Manual, an enriched Test Bank, a PowerPoint Collection, syllabi, Data Set Activities (qualitative and quantitative), and more. Enhanced emphasis on research appraisal and synthesis for evidence-based practice equips students not just to generate research evidence but also to appraise and synthesize existing evidence for application to practice. Carefully edited for a more student-friendly readability and active-voice writing style reduces barriers to learning the typically challenging research content. In order to focus the text on the more "need to know" content most important for the majority of students, more in-depth content on conceptual models for those planning to lead research studies has been moved from the book to the companion EVOLVE website. Fresh, new, full-color design provides a more "open" look that facilitates learning with Key Terms highlighted in color and color tabs for the Index and Glossary. Research examples have been updated throughout to reflect the most current research from the published literature, including excellent examples of qualitative studies. The coverage of qualitative research has been carefully revised to highlight examples of high-quality qualitative research and to present both qualitative and quantitative approaches as equally valuable. EVOLVE website provides examples of both qualitative and quantitative research proposals. Now focuses on the "how to's" of seeking research funding and provides a practical tool to help new researchers move from research proposal to funded research project. UNIQUE! Authoritative coverage provides students the opportunity to learn first-hand from the leaders in the field. UNIQUE! Separate chapter on the cost-driven field of outcomes research helps nurses to demonstrate that what they do results in positive healthcare outcomes. UNIQUE! Provides a separate chapter on the emerging field of intervention research, which establishes "causal explanations" for nursing interventions in response to the growing difficulty of performing true experimental research on human participants.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT81.5 .B86 2009ISBN: 9781416054689Publication Date: 2008-10-16
Searching Skills Toolkit: Finding the Evidence by
Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781118463123Publication Date: 2013-11-07
Statistical Methods and Reasoning for the Clinical Sciences: Evidence-Based Practice by
Scientific literacy is the foundation to comprehending research methodology -- in its absence, medical professionals will practice "unethically" by failing to offer premier service to their communities. This text will discuss the fundamentals of statistical methods, including statistical vocabulary, population parameters, sampling methods and descriptive methods like measures, correlation and regression. Also, the topic of probability is emphasized, seeing that in order for any clinician to generate a precise diagnosis, a firm grasp of the probablilistic approach is critical.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1597564338Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Systematic Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions by
Systematic Evidence Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions is your most effective, A-to-Z guide to conducting thorough, comprehensive systematic reviews. By breaking down topics and essential steps, this volume teaches you how to form key questions, select evidence, and perform illuminating review not just in predictable circumstances, but when basic rules don't apply--honing your ability to think critically and solve problems. You'll learn how to define a review's purpose and scope, develop research questions, build a team, and even manage your project to maximize efficacy. If you're looking to refine your approach to systematic reviews, don't just catalog and collect; use this powerful text to evaluate, synthesize, and deliver results that will help shape the health care industry. FEATURES Presented in standard format throughout to allow for more practical, easy to read approach Provides useful instruction on how to conduct a high-quality systematic review that meets the recent standards of the Institute of Medicine Accessible, concise information about the state-of-the-art methods of systematic review, from key question formulation to assessing the quality of included studies and reporting results Illustrated throughout with real-world examples from systematic reviews that have been used to inform practice guidelines and health policy Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781451187717Publication Date: 2014-06-13
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, Second Edition by
Praised for its clear explanations of detailed statistical and mathematical principles, this text concisely covers both basic and advanced concepts in using evidence-based medicine, everything you need to deliver optimal patient care.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780071590389Publication Date: 2008-06-11
For Librarians & Information Professionals
Evidence Based Practice: A Decision-Making Guide for Health Information Professionals Information Professionals by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9798218342494Publication Date: 2024-01-11This Guide introduces Evidence Based Practice to newcomers as well as serves as a resource for experienced practitioners. It focuses on health information professionals (informaticists, health sciences librarians, informationists, information scientists, data managers, archivists, etc.) within the US context, although others outside of the US health context might find elements of it to be valuable.
