Skip to main content

Communication Sciences and Disorders

General guide for finding resources in Communication Sciences and Disorders

Find articles from journals, magazines and newspapers using databases.

A database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. In the library the word database usually refers to a subscription database. The library subscribes to a database, similarly to how you would subscribe to an individual magazine or newspaper. 

These are databases for topics in Communication Sciences and Disorders. You can access them using the links below or on the library homepage: choose the Articles/Databases tab, then under Select a Subject: Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Learn about the differences between Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines.

 

 

This short video will explain what Peer Reviewed means. 

 

Limiters

Limiters allow you to select attributes to refine your search. Limiters are often on the advanced search screen and as a menu on the results page. Common limiters include: date, full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and document type. 


Boolean Searching

Boolean searching uses operators "AND", "OR", and "NOT" to maximize the relevancy and effectiveness of the search. This is a common way to search when using databases. Click on the image below to see how it works.


Truncation

Truncation is a searching technique where you replace the end of the word with a symbol. Most databases use an asterisk (*). Using this technique will help you when you aren't sure which word you are looking for or want to search multiple forms. For example, child* with the asterisk will show results for child, children, childhood; while child with no asterisk will show results for child only.