LibGuides: Sexual and Gender-Based Harassment and Violence: National, State and County Resources

National Resources

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence
A nonprofit organization with the mission to be the voice of victims and survivors of domestic violence.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year, the National Domestic Violence Hotline provides essential tools and support to help survivors of domestic violence so they can live their lives free of abuse.
National Sexual Violence Resource Center
The National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) is the leading nonprofit in providing information and tools to prevent and respond to sexual violence.
RAINN Sexual Assault Online Hotline 800.656.HOPE (4673)
(Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) RAINN is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800.656.HOPE), in partnership with more than 1,000 local sexual assault service providers across the country and operates the DoD Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help survivors, and ensure that perpetrators are brought to justice.
U.S. Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women
Provides federal leadership in developing the national capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
US Dept. of Labor Women's Bureau
The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments.

State Resources

New York State Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence Domestic violence and sexual violence service providers may offer: 24-hour hotlines, legal advocacy, counseling, emotional support, information and referral services, transitional housing, emergency shelter and assistance with appointments to court or the hospital for a forensic rape exam.
New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence The New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NYSCADV) provides training, support, technical assistance and advocacy to local direct service domestic violence programs across New York State. NYSCADV works to create and support the social change necessary to prevent and confront all forms of domestic violence.
New York State Domestic Violence Program Directory List of programs by county from the NY State Coalition Against Domestic Violence.

County Resources

NASSAU COUNTY

Circulo de la Hispanidad, Inc. – Salva Domestic Violence Program (516) 889-2849 - Provides non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.
L.I. Against Domestic Violence 24-Hour Hotline: 631-666-8833 Provides a range of services that help over 14,000 Long Island adults and children each year to escape from abusive relationships and build new lives. Founded in 1976, they are a regional pioneer and leader in empowering victims and survivors, providing them with shelter and support, and working with law enforcement and the community to prevent abuse.
Long Island Anti-Violence Project (516) 323-0011 - Provides non-residential domestic violence services to LGBTQ survivors of intimate partner violence.
The Safe Center LI (516) 542-0404 - Provides both residential and non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.

SUFFOLK COUNTY

Brighter Tomorrows, Inc. (631) 395-1800 - Provides residential, transitional and non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Long Island Anti-Violence Project (516) 323-0011 - Provides non-residential domestic violence services to LGBTQ survivors of intimate partner violence
L.I. Against Domestic Violence 24-Hour Hotline: 631-666-8833 - Provides a range of services that help over 14,000 Long Island adults and children each year to escape from abusive relationships and build new lives. Founded in 1976, they are a regional pioneer and leader in empowering victims and survivors, providing them with shelter and support, and working with law enforcement and the community to prevent abuse.
The Retreat, Inc. (631) 329-2200 - Provides both residential and non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Victims Information Bureau of Suffolk (VIBS) (631) 360-3606 - Provides non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.

DUTCHESS COUNTY

Family Services of Dutchess County (845) 485-5550 Provides non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Grace Smith House (845) 471-3033 - Provides residential, transitional and non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.
House of Hope, part of House of Faith Ministry, Inc. (845) 765-0293 - Provides residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved.

ORANGE COUNTY

Fearless! Hudson Valley Inc. 845-562-5340 - Provides both residential and non-residential domestic violence services. OCFS Licensed and Approved

New York City Area Resources

NEW YORK CITY AREA – NYC DOMESTIC VIOLENCE HOTLINE (800) 621-HOPE (4673)

The programs below are listed in alphabetical order and are not listed by the borough as most programs in NYC will provide services to people from any of the 5 boroughs.

African American Planning Commission (800) 621-HOPE (4673) *Offers culturally specific services to African Americans
Allen Women’s Resource Center (718) 739-6200 *Offers Christian specific services - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Arab American Family Support Center (718) 643 - 8000 *Offers culturally specific services to immigrants and refugees
Barrier Free Living (212) 677-6668 *Offers services to people with disabilities - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Connect (212) 683-0015
Crime Victims Treatment Center (212) 523-4728
Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families – STEPS to End Family Violence (877)-STEPS-94 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Food First Family Project, Inc. (877) 230-5705 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Good Shepherd Services – Safe Homes Project (718) 499-2151 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5 pm) - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
HELP USA (718) 922-7980 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Henry Street Settlement (212) 577-7777- OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Jewish Board Family & Children’s Services – please see their website for the various hotline numbers. *Offers Jewish specific services - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Korean American Family Service Center (718)-460-3800 *Bilingual Korean/English; offers Korean specific services
NYC Anti-Violence Project (212) 714-1141 *bilingual Spanish/English hotline; offers LGBTQ specific services - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
NYC HOPE Resource directory includes information about community-based organizations that work with survivors of domestic and gender-based violence in all five boroughs.
New Destiny Housing (646) 472-0262 ext. 11
Ohel Children’s Home & Family Services (800) 603- OHEL (6435) *offers Jewish specific services - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Queens Legal Services (917)-661-4500 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Safe Horizon (800) 621-4673 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Sakhi for South Asian Woman 212-868-6741 (Mon. - Fri. 10 AM - 5 PM) - *multilingual hotline; offers Asian specific services
Sanctuary for Families (212) 349-6009 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Seamen’s Society for Children & Families – Safe Passage (718) 447-7740 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Services for the UnderServed (S:US)- formerly Palladia, Inc. – (800) 621-HOPE (4673) - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Urban Justice Center - Domestic Violence Project (718) 875-5062 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Urban Resource Institute (888) 279-2211 or (888) 252-2890 - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Violence Intervention Program (800) 664-5880 *24/7 bilingual Spanish/English hotline - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Volunteers of America, Greater New York – to contact, use the NYC Domestic Violence Hotline (800) 621-HOPE (4673) - OCFS Licensed and Approved.
Womankind (formerly New York Asian Women's Center) (888) 888-7702 *multilingual hotline; offers Asian specific services - OCFS Licensed and Approved.

Domestic Violence Hotline Numbers:

NYC Area– NYC Domestic Violence Hotline (800) 621-HOPE (4673)
New York State Domestic Violence 24 Hour Hotline (English & Español/Multi-language accessibility): 1-800-942-6906 or 711 for Deaf or Hard of Hearing
New York State Chat/Text hotline: Text at 844.997.2121 / Chat: https://opdv.ny.gov/chat.html
National Domestic Violence 24 Hour Hotline 1-800-799-7233 or 1-800-787-3224 (TTY)
National Deaf Hotline Videophone 9am-5pm M-F 1-855-812-1001 or deafhelp@thehotline.org