Selected Books
Addressing Violence Against Women on College Campuses by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1439913757Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Breaking the Silence Habit by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1523087404Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Critical Perspectives on Sexual Harassment and Gender Violence by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780766091665Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Disrupting the Culture of Silence by Call Number: LB2332.32 .D57 2015ISBN: 1620362171Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Domestic Abuse and Sexual Assault in Popular Culture by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440837944Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Domestic Violence and Abuse by
A comprehensive and timely resource for students, activists, educators, and advocates, Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding. Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. Appropriate for readers at the high school level and above, the volume focuses on the scope, extent, and characteristics of domestic violence and offers several unique elements, including profiles of significant individuals, personal stories from advocates, activists and survivors, and a review of controversial issues. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources. Compiles the most recent data about victims and offenders, thereby correcting many misconceptions about domestic violence Offers a timeline of critical events for readers to understand the history of the movement Includes primary source documents and personal stories, which help make the book beneficial to all readers Addresses the most common controversies in the field, allowing readers to support more informed positions
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781440858833Publication Date: 2020-01-07
The Drama-Free Workplace by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1119546427Publication Date: 2019-04-02
No One Helped: Kitty Genovese, New York City, and the Myth of Urban Apathy by
In "No One Helped" Marcia M. Gallo examines one of America's most infamous true-crime stories: the 1964 rape and murder of Catherine "Kitty" Genovese in a middle-class neighborhood of Queens, New York. Front-page reports in the New York Times incorrectly identified thirty-eight indifferent witnesses to the crime, fueling fears of apathy and urban decay. Genovese's life, including her lesbian relationship, also was obscured in media accounts of the crime. Fifty years later, the story of Kitty Genovese continues to circulate in popular culture. Although it is now widely known that there were far fewer actual witnesses to the crime than was reported in 1964, the moral of the story continues to be urban apathy. "No One Helped" traces the Genovese story's development and resilience while challenging the myth it created."No One Helped" places the conscious creation and promotion of the Genovese story within a changing urban environment. Gallo reviews New York's shifting racial and economic demographics and explores post?World War II examinations of conscience regarding the horrors of Nazism. These were important factors in the uncritical acceptance of the story by most media, political leaders, and the public despite repeated protests from Genovese's Kew Gardens neighbors at their inaccurate portrayal. The crime led to advances in criminal justice and psychology, such as the development of the 911 emergency system and numerous studies of bystander behaviors. Gallo emphasizes that the response to the crime also led to increased community organizing as well as feminist campaigns against sexual violence. Even though the particulars of the sad story of her death were distorted, Kitty Genovese left an enduring legacy of positive changes to the urban environment.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0801452783Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Perspectives on College Sexual Assault by
This collection of highly acclaimed research articles, published in the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, disseminates state-of-the-art information about sexual violence on campus. It addresses the controversy surrounding statistics on the prevalence of college sexual assault and its tendency to go unreported, as well as contention regarding university policies and response (or lack thereof) by administrators. Articles present research related to victims and perpetrators, predictive factors, efforts to promote awareness, and prevention programming. Expert researchers from such disciplines as psychology, psychiatry, sociology, criminology, counseling, nursing, and social work provide interdisciplinary perspectives with articles addressing gender differences and the role of alcohol use in sexual assault victimization, perceived risk to experience sexual victimization, intimate partner sexual assault and objectification, a bibliotherapy approach to prevention, the role of impulsivity among perpetrators, the role of administrators and bystanders, and many other topics. This research collection about college sexual assault will help to foster greater understanding of this controversial issue, provide a foundation for further research, and promote strategies of awareness and prevention on our college campuses. Key Features: Delivers top-tier research articles by interdisciplinary experts on college sexual assault Includes research on victims, perpetrators, bystanders, and college administration Examines awareness and prevention programs Addresses predictive factors, gender differences, and the role of alcohol use
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826194640Publication Date: 2015-10-23- Perspectives on College Sexual Assault by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826194640Publication Date: 2015-10-23
Preventing Workplace Harassment in a #MeToo World by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1586445537Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Sexual Harassment: an introduction to the conceptual and ethical issues by Call Number: HF5549.5.S45 D76 2012ISBN: 9781554810109Publication Date: 2012
Sexual Harassment: a Reference Handbook by
Sexual Harassment: A Reference Handbook provides readers with a comprehensive overview of the topic and connected issues. In addition to discussing the background and history of sexual harassment, it analyzes related problems and controversies and gives possible solutions. It also provides additional perspectives on sexual harassment by contributors and sketches of people and organizations, as well as documents, resources, and a timeline. This volume covers workplace harassment; street harassment; harassment in schools, the military, and prisons; and cyber harassment. The format gives readers a well-balanced perspective on this timely topic with multiple viewpoints showcased in essays by contributors who have experienced sexual harassment, adding depth and relevance. The volume discusses the history of sexual harassment and brings the topic to the present day, and additionally covers recent events and people who have been in the news while putting them in context. Readers can see how laws and awareness of sexual harassment have changed. Additional resources are provided to guide those who wish to further investigate the topic.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1440867704Publication Date: 2020-03-19
Sexual Harassment: Your Questions Answered by
Unfortunately, sexual harassment is an all-too-common reality for many women and men. But what exactly constitutes sexual harassment, and how is it different from assault, bullying, and other forms of unwanted attention? Why is sexual harassment so common? How can being sexually harassed impact an individual's academic or work performance, psychological well-being, and even physical health? What can you do if you experience sexual harassment or believe someone else is experiencing it? Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1440869901Publication Date: 2021-09-09
Sexual Harassment in Education and Work Settings by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1440832935Publication Date: 2015-08-26
Sexual Violence and Abuse by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781598847550Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Stop Telling Women to Smile by
The debut book from a celebrated artist on the urgent topic of street harassment Every day, all over the world, women are catcalled and denigrated simply for walking down the street. Boys will be boys, women have been told for generations, ignore it, shrug it off, take it as a compliment. But the harassment has real consequences for women: in the fear it instills and the shame they are made to feel. In Stop Telling Women to Smile, Tatyana Fazlalizadeh uses her arresting street art portraits to explore how women experience hostility in communities that are supposed to be homes. She addresses the pervasiveness of street harassment, its effects, and the kinds of activism that can serve to counter it. The result is a cathartic reckoning with the aggression women endure, and an examination of what equality truly entails.
Call Number: Swirbul HQ1237 .F39 2020ISBN: 9781580058483Publication Date: 2020-02-04
That's So Gay! by
Is there a need to challenge homophobic name-calling and other homophobic bullying in your school but uncertainty about how to address it? That's So Gay! is a practical guide to making your school a safer place and creating an inclusive bully-free culture. It shows what homophobic bullying looks like, who experiences it and explores the reasons why young people bully others homophobically. It also reveals why young people are often reluctant to report homophobic bullying, the increasing role played by the internet and the profound effects bullying can have well into adulthood. Adopting a whole-school approach, this book provides all the advice schools need on prevention, working with those who bully, handling disclosures and anti-bullying policies. Written by an expert in the field, this is a vital guide for schools, teachers and anyone with a duty of care towards young people.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0857008374Publication Date: 2015-02-28
Violence Against Queer People by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780813573168Publication Date: 2015-10-11
