Library Databases
Library databases are designed to help you find articles (or chapters, conference reports, etc.) on a topic.
Most of our databases contain the full text of the article, link to that full text in another subscribed resource, or provide a link to request the item through Interlibrary Borrowing. If you need help, please ask a librarian.
To find out if we subscribe to a specific database, or to locate a database for your subject area, visit https://www.adelphi.edu/libraries/.
- With Databases & More selected, you can search for a specific database by title. This search will bring you to a screen with the database listed; click its title and begin searching for articles. You can also go directly to an alphabetical list of our e-resources by clicking here.
- If you don't know the name of a database, you can search for databases by subject area. With Databases & More selected, type your discipline (example: communications). This search will bring you to a list of all library databases that have been tagged for that subject area. At the top of the page, you can search within the list or use the drop-down menus to locate what you need. Locate a database and click its title to begin searching for articles.
Note: You can also search for databases, articles, and more by searching in OneSearch (with "OneSearch" selected). This search will bring you to the OneSearch product rather than the databases listing.
Philosophy & Religion databases
- PhilPapersPhilPapers.org is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the PhilPapers community of philosophers.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of journals and books on a wide range of topics in philosophy, including ethics, epistemology, the philosophy of history, education, language, politics, science, and religion, dating as far back as 1940.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and some full text in a broad range of subject areas including literature, art, archeology, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, and gender studies. Some original works of poetry, fiction, and drama are included. Indexing dates back to 1984, with select full text coverage beginning in 1994.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of subjects in the humanities, providing the full text of 770 journals as well as book chapters, with journals dating as far back as 1925.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of scholarly journals in fields including literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Years of coverage vary by title with selected titles beginning as early as 1993.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic information from 1963 - present in the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of subject areas, providing access to more than 4,000 periodicals from 1971 to present.
