Welcome
Welcome to the Philosophy and Religion LibGuide for Adelphi University Libraries
Use this guide to locate resources.
- Find Articles: Key databases and journals for research to complete your assignments.
- Find Books & Chapters: Search the library's OneSearch discovery tool or eBook Central.
- Evaluate Information: Discover criteria for evaluating sources of information.
- Write & Cite: Learn about citation styles, Zotero, and RefWorks.
Get Started
- Beginning Research Tutorial
The library has created an extensive introduction to library resources and services, and this is an excellent place to start your research! Whether you are new to Adelphi or just need a refresher, you are likely to pick up something new here. - Need help? Ask a Librarian or staff member.We are happy to help! Click this link to browse FAQs; find out how to contact us by email, text, phone, or chat; or schedule a research appointment with a librarian.
Starting Point: Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias provide an overview of a topic.
Most are not suitable sources to cite in your final paper, but they allow you to familiarize yourself with a topic and may help you formulate your research focus.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a great place to start if you need some basic information about your topic. The information you find in GVRL is trustworthy and comes from reference e-books and encyclopedias - Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is also a reputable collection of reference works, available to you online.
Google Tip
You can link Google Scholar to your Adelphi email account
Doing this will let you view articles from Adelphi University Libraries' databases by searching in Google.
Use the library link below or follow the directions to set up Google Scholar.
Use the library link below or follow the directions to set up Google Scholar.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window A search engine designed to find scholarly material on the web. Using this link will allow you to retrieve full text articles, if they are within Adelphi Libraries' collection of electronic resources, while accessing Google Scholar. For more information about Google Scholar, consult the About Google Scholar page at http://scholar.google.com/scholar/about.html.
- This link opens in a new window
Set up Google Scholar
- Sign in to Google Scholar with your AU email address
- Go to Settings
- Click on "Library links"
- Search for Adelphi University
- Check the box next to Adelphi University to add it as your library
- Click Save
Now you will see AU library resources in your Google search results.
