Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research & Resources

This guide will give you special resources and strategies for Music research.

Videos

MUSAIC

  • a collaborative digital initiative between the New World Symphony, Cleveland Institute of Music, Curtis Institute of Music, Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester), Guildhall School of Music and Drama (London), Manhattan School of Music, Royal Danish Academy of Music, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, University of Missouri-Kansas City, and University of Southern California—is an online community of classical musicians and continuously updated video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy. Just as teachers have traditionally passed down knowledge to their students, MUSAIC provides access to classical music instruction and conversations for students and performers alike.

Sound Recordings

British Library Sounds

  • Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

CHARM AHRC

  • CHARM was established to promote a musicology that better reflects the nature of music as experienced in the twentieth century and beyond.

FreeSound

  • Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds.

National Jukebox

  • Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress.

RadiOM.org

  • the website that brings you the sounds of revelationary new music and the voices of the revelationists themselves.

Organ Works of Johann Sebastian Bach (complete)

  • From June 2009 to June 2010, University Organist Dr. Robert Huw Morgan performed the complete organ works of Johann Sebastian Bach in a series of fourteen recitals on the Fisk-Nanney Organ in Stanford's Memorial Church.

The Joe Smith Collection at the Library of Congress

  • The Joe Smith Collection contains over 225 recordings of noted artists and executives and is a veritable who’s who in the music industry.

James Koetting Ghana Field Recording Collection

  • The James Koetting Ghana Field Recordings collection presents a vibrant mix of traditional and popular music recorded at a broad range of locations and events in Ghana during the 1970s.

Avant Garde Project

  • The Avant Garde Project is a series of recordings of 20th-century classical, experimental, and electroacoustic music digitized from LPs whose music has in most cases never been released on CD, and so is effectively inaccessible to the vast majority of music listeners today.

African Heritage in Classical Music

  • Here you will meet 52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans.

Radio Stations

KJAZZ 88.1 FM - America's Jazz and Blues Station

  • Originally with the call letters KLON the station has been broadcasting jazz since 1981.

KRML Jazz Radio

  • Locals station from Monterey Bay.

WCPE 89.7 FM

  • WCPE is a non-commercial, independent, listener-supported station dedicated to excellence in classical music broadcasting.

WFMT 98.7 FM

  • Dedicated to bringing Chicago and the world together and invite our audience to explore classical and fine arts music.

WQXR 105.9 FM

  • The nation's first commercial classical radio station begun in 1936.

WWOZ 90.7 FM

  • WWOZ 90.7 FM is the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Station, a community radio station currently operating out of the French Quarter in New Orleans.