Collected Editions
For many of the major composers such as Bach and Mozart scholars have researched and published Complete or Collected Editions of their works. For some composers this may entail more than a hundred volumes which can make it difficult to locate a particular piece of music. Fortunately there is help available through the listings in the Grove Dictionary of Music (part of Oxford Music Online) as well as the Collected editions bibliography listed below.
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by Call Number: Ref Desk ML113 .H55 1997ISBN: 0914913220Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Thematic Catalogs
Thematic Catalogs are scholarly compilations that include every work by an individual composer. They generally include a few notes of the beginning of each work. the date of composition and publisher. A published bibliography of these thematic catalogs is listed below.
Thematic Catalogues in Music by Call Number: Ref ML113 .B86 1997ISBN: 091872886XPublication Date: 1997-03-01
Paper Guides
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .D76 2010ISBN: 9780810874312Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .W75 2014ebISBN: 9780520958814Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Research Guides
Guide to Library Research in Music by Call Number: ML3797 .B29 2008ISBN: 9780810861480Publication Date: 2008-09-18
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML100 .A64 2003ISBN: 0674011635Publication Date: 2003-11-28
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001ISBN: 9781561592395Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: ML100 .G16 1998ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Biographical Resources
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansCall Number: ML105 .B16 2001ISBN: 0028655257Publication Date: 2000-12-22
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML105 .H38 1996ISBN: 0674372999Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Music Analysis
Analyses of Nineteenth- And Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000 by Call Number: ML113 .H695 2007ISBN: 9780810858879Publication Date: 2007-02-15
Reader's Guide to Music by Call Number: ML160 .R42 1999ISBN: 9781579581435Publication Date: 1999-12-01
