Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research & Resources

This guide will give you special resources and strategies for Music research.

Online Scores and Parts

Cambridge Digital Library - Music

  • The music collections at Cambridge University Library play an important role in the preservation of musical heritage, both on a national and international level. From printed and manuscript music scores and texts on music to ephemera and concert programmes, archival materials documenting the life and work of composers, music scholars and performers, a huge variety and breadth of material has been collected over several centuries.

DIAMM - Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music

  • a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.

Early Music Online

  • Early Music Online has digitised over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library.

IN Harmony - Sheet Music from Indiana

  • IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.

Juilliard Manuscript Collection

  • The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions.

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music

  • The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music.

Loeb Music Library Digital Scores and Libretti

  • The Loeb Music Library is engaged in an ongoing program to digitize scores and libretti selected for their rare or unique natures and their popularity as objects of research and teaching. By providing online access to historical editions from its holdings, the Library seeks to make primary source materials available for classroom and research use at Harvard and to scholars all over the world.

Morgan Library Music Manuscripts Online

  • The goal of the Music Manuscripts Online project has been to create and to provide online access to high-quality images and descriptions of music manuscripts owned by The Morgan Library & Museum.

Sibley Digital Scores

  • Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.

University of Washington Music Library Digital Scores Collection

  • The Music Library Digital Scores Collection contains manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries. The majority of the collection is comprised of 17th and 18th century operas, opera excerpts, and other vocal music.

Art Song Central

  • Art Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library

  • We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. To this end, we have created the IMSLP in order to provide music scores free of charge to anyone who has internet access.

NMA Online

  • The purpose of NMA Online to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.

List of Online Digital Musical Document Libraries

  • A list from Wikipedia.

American Memory Project: Performing Arts, Music

  • American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Boosey & Hawkes Online Scores

  • Browse a huge range of music scores, sheet music, CDs & DVDs from all publishers.

Carl Nielsen Edition

  • Music scores of all Carl Nielsen's works are available for free download below. Also find introductions to his works and see what manuscript and printed sources are extant.

Choral Public Domain Library

  • CPDL currently hosts free scores of at least 25549 choral and vocal works by at least 2844 composers. 

Corpus Christi Watershed

  • Dedicated to exploring and embodying as our calling the relationship of religion, culture, and the arts.

Digital Scores & Libretti

  • The scores and libretti in this Virtual Collection include first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries by J.S. Bach and Bach family members, Mozart, Schubert and other composers, as well as multiple versions of nineteenth century opera scores, seminal works of musical modernism, and music of the Second Viennese School. Many, such as variant editions of nineteenth century operas and related libretti, fall into intellectually related sets that are meant to be seen and used together. As a group, they give scholars a window into the study of historical performance practice that cannot be duplicated using the holdings of any one other library.

Indiana University VARIATIONS

  • The following selections lead to experimental prototypes of the ways in which musical scores and recording liner notes might be used in conjunction with sound recordings available online through VARIATIONS.

MusOpen

  • Focused on increasing access to music by creating free resources and educational materials. We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free.

Mutopia Project

  • 2070 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable file formats.

New York Philharmonic Digital Archives

  • The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages, including almost 14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs.

Sheet Music Consortium

  • The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

Werner Icking Music Archive

  • The Werner Icking Music Archive contains a miscellany of subject-specific musical material.

MusRef - Music Collections Online

  • Online Resources for Music Scholars from the Harvard College Library.

OperaGlass

  • Here you can get detailed information on many operas, including libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, discographies, and role creators plus pictures, background information, and more; also commemoration calendars, special features, and pointers to other opera information sites.