Open Access to Journals
Open Access Journals
Most college and university online databases are not free to the public. Users must use a username and password to access them. However, as you search the web, you can find online scholarly journals; these are "open access" articles. They are free to the public. Below are some of the free scholarly journal databases--some will just provide an abstract or citation, in which case you can use the citation to find the article in an institution's databases, or by an interlibrary loan (ILL).
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Free Medical JournalsProviding free access to medical journals.
- Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Open Access Journals from Online SchoolsOpen access portal to free journal sites
- Open Access Journals | List of Open Access Journals | OMICS GroupOpen Access journal articles are peer-reviewed and available for access through the directory of Open Access journals. OMICS Group supports this system and provides access to 250 Open Access journals with no restrictions of any kind and thus promotes the Open Access movement to further the progress of science.
- PLOS: Public Library Of ScienceNonprofit publisher and advocacy organization. "Our mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Everything that we publish is open-access - freely available online for anyone to use."
- PubMed CentralPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).