Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Global Studies

For Levermore Global Scholars and any global or international studies

Understanding databases

Database Logos

A Library Database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications such as books, scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines. Your professors expect you to use library databases to find authoritative resources.

General Databases

General Databases for Articles

These are some of the most popular general databases.

  • Cover all subjects and fields
  • Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, trade journals, more
  • More databases to choose from by Subject or by Name

Databases by Subject

Subject Specific Databases

To find articles in a specific subject area, use the drop-down menu to select a subject or find by name A-Z. You might find databases on Religion, Environmental Science, or Medicine most appropriate for your topic.

or Browse Databases A-Z

Steps When Searching Databases

Steps for Searching Databases

  1. Enter your search term (see the Search Strategy Builder below) into a search box 
  2. Set LIMITS and SEARCH:
    1. Date
    2. Peer-reviewed, when necessary
    3. Document type: scholarly, newspapers, magazines, etc.
    4. Language
    5. Geography
    6. Subject (see more...)
  3. Scan article titles
  4. REFINE if necessary by changing search terms with synonyms and repeat SEARCH
  5. Scan article titles
  6. Read ABSTRACTS
  7. Select, Email, Save, Print, Import