LibGuides: Business Citation Analysis and Scholarly Impact : GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from broad areas of research. The site claims to have access to works from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies and university repositories, as well as scholarly articles available anywhere across the web. Google Scholar also includes court opinions and patents.

But there are some shortcomings to Google Scholar: You need to search variations in an author's name since there is no standardized format (aka, authority control), there may be duplication of results, you have to wade through results to exclude self-citations, and you may need to check that a work is scholarly by looking in the Ulrich's Global Serials Directory (available online in the AU Libraries' database collection - see OTHER QUALITY INDICATORS tab). And, you are limited to what is available to be found on the Web.
<

Google Scholar: FINDING ARTICLES THAT HAVE CITED YOU

To find articles that have cited you,

Start by clicking on drop down menu in the upper left hand corner (the three horizontal bars) in order to access Advanced Search options.
Put your name into Return articles authored by search box. Google suggests entering your name by putting quotation marks around your first initial(s) and last name (for instance, Debbi Smith would search for "D Smith" ) as the best way to start. Use your full name if you are sure of how it appeared in your publications (i.e., "Debbi A Smith"). Click on the blue search icon.
On the results page, look for the article you want to see citations for and click the number under the Cited by column to see who cited the article in question. Note: If you don't see a Cited by link, Google was unable to find any articles that cited it.
You'll see a list of results that have cited this article. Click on an article's title to see if there is a link to the full text of that article (or if you just want to go to a page with a more complete citation).

Google Scholar Citations

Google Scholar Citations
Google Scholar Citations provides a way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles within Google Scholar. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.

Google Scholar's "cited by" feature is more inclusive to the social sciences and humanities than are traditional bibliometric tools as it allows you to see who is citing a scholar's books, papers, theses, preprints, abstracts and technical reports as well as the traditional journal articles. If an article has been cited then a cited by link will be part of the record and clicking on that link will take you to the list of articles that cited the item.

Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provides a way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, which may aid authors as they consider where to publish their new research. Click on the Google Scholar drop down menu in the upper left hand corner in order to access this feature.

Google Scholar Metrics currently cover articles published between 2012 and 2016. The metrics are based on citations from all articles that were indexed in Google Scholar as of June, 2017.

Publish or Perish

Publish or Perish offers software you can download to your computer that will retrieve and analyze academic citations taken from Google Scholar. It presents such parameters as the total number of papers, citations, average number of citations per paper, average number of citations per author, average number of papers per author.

To generate metrics for your publications in Publish or Perish,

Download the program from Harzing.com
Select author impact analysis from the left hand sidebar.
Deselect any subject areas that are not related to your publication history and add years of publication.
Enter your first initial and last name in quotes. Sample: "J Doom"
Select "Lookup".
Refine your results by deselecting publications not authored by you.
All available metrics will appear at the top of the results screen.

Publish or Perish