Citation analysis studies the impact and assumed quality of an article, journal or author based on the number of times articles or authors have been cited by others, and the impact and ranking of the associated journals in that field.
Scholarly journals will have an editorial board and use a peer review process. This means that the submitted article is evaluated by an editor or a panel of peers before being accepted for publication. In a blinded peer review the author's name and credentials are concealed from the reviewer in order to reduce bias.
The Adelphi Libraries have access to the database Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities. This database has listings of journals in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, and Marketing. Each journal entry includes area of focus, type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. A journal's acceptance rate indicates the percent of articles submitted that are accepted for publication; a lower acceptance rate generally indicates a more prestigious journal.
A well regarded scholarly journal will be indexed in one or more major journal indexes and databases. The Adelphi Libraries have access to Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory; this database indicates the indexes and databases in which a journal is indexed. Ulrich's provides comprehensive information on periodicals, including peer review status. Aside from academic and scholarly journals it also covers consumer and trade magazines, newspapers, newsletters, electronic publications, and monographic series. In addition, it also provides circulation counts for a journal, which is a reflection of the journal's total audience.