Selected Books
Against Medical Advice: Addressing Treatment Refusal. by
When a patient or family refuses treatment-maybe even lifesaving treatment-because it is contrary to their social, religious, or cultural beliefs, it can plunge healthcare providers, families, and patients into a difficult, emotionally charged conversation. Complex and diverse ethical dilemmas such as this can profoundly impact the health, welfare, and mental and emotional well-being of everyone involved. What's more, today's nurses and healthcare professionals will almost inevitably face this situation or one like it. Against Medical Advice details many of the medical, legal, social, cultural, and religious factors associated with treatment refusals. Authors Luanne Linnard-Palmer and Ellen Christiansen prepare healthcare professionals to compassionately assess and understand people's beliefs, cultures, and philosophical perspectives. Their proven strategies and step-by-step examples guide providers to consider the patient's and family's point of view, share concerns with other healthcare team members, and negotiate the best possible outcome for all involved.
Call Number: Available Online - - See Chapter 10: The Importance of Cultural CompetenceISBN: 1646480503Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Cultural Competence in Health: A Review of the Evidence of by
This resource supports evidence-informed approaches to improving the cultural competence of health service delivery. By reviewing the evidence from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US, it provides readers with a clear and systematic overview of the interventions and indicators applied to enable health system agencies and professionals to work effectively in various cross-cultural health care situations. The book highlights the importance of cultural competence and describes the current situation in the studied countries; identifies effective approaches and strategies for improving the situation; reviews the indicators for measuring progress; assesses the health outcomes associated with cultural competence; summarizes the quality of the evidence; and presents an evidence-informed conceptual framework for cultural competence in health. Cultural competence is critical to reducing health disparities and has become a popular concept in these countries for improving access to high-quality, respectful and responsive health care. This book provides policy makers, health practitioners, researchers and students with a much needed summary of what works to improve health systems, services and practice.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9811052921Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783030219451Publication Date: 2019-07-12
Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care by
Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population. Projections indicate that 35% of patients older than age 65 will be from a racial or ethnic minority group by 2050, compared with 11% in 1970. Today's mental health practitioners require knowledge, sensitivity, and an understanding of institutionalized practices and systems that undermine their patients' health and well-being. The term culture is multifaceted and may refer to one's belief system, values, religion, race, socioeconomic status, ethnicity, language, sexual orientation, geographic location, educational level, age, occupational risks and exposures, and gender. The authors of the book examine mental health care through these lenses, teaching the reader about implicit biases and potential miscommunication and offering strategies for overcoming these difficulties. The editor, who has worked in leadership positions overseeing veterans' mental health services, has assembled an impressive and diverse roster of contributors, each with specific expertise in his or her assigned subject. * The ways in which cultural competency interacts with the six Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education core competencies are explored in detail. For example, in terms of patient care, cultural competency plays an important role in gathering subjective data about a patient that may ultimately impact outcomes. Teaching methods to increase cultural sensitivity and build skills in this area are highlighted, as are training modalities and clinician evaluation.* The effects of migration and acculturation on mental health are examined, providing clinicians with several theoretical frameworks for understanding the migratory experience in older adults and exploring psychosocial factors associated with psychological risk in aging immigrants.* Linguistic competence, defined broadly as effective communication with individuals speaking a nondominant language, is an essential component of culturally competent health care and is of particular importance in mental health care. Accordingly, the authors analyze linguistic competency in both administrative and clinical encounters and present strategies for achieving mastery in this critically important area.* The text provides an abundance of tables and pedagogical features designed to enhance comprehension, including learning objectives, key points, and study questions. Cultural competence in health care systems is defined as the ability to understand and integrate the features listed above into the provision of health care services. Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care prepares clinicians to provide sensitive, high-quality, culturally competent care to geriatric patients from diverse backgrounds and will prove indispensable as patient demographics continue to change.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1615372113Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by
Healthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics. Caring for Patients from Different Cultures has been a vital resource for nurses and physicians for more than twenty years, offering hundreds of case studies that illustrate crosscultural conflicts or misunderstandings as well as examples of culturally competent health care. Now in its fifth edition, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures covers a wide range of topics, including birth, end of life, communication, traditional medicine, mental health, pain, religion, and multicultural staff challenges. This edition includes more than sixty new cases with an expanded appendix, introduces a new chapter on improving adherence, and updates the concluding chapter with examples of changes various hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences. Grounded in concepts from the fields of cultural diversity and medical anthropology, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural differences and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0812290275Publication Date: 2014-11-07
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Within an expanding field of study in both undergraduate and graduate nursing curricula, Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research, Third Edition explores vulnerability from the perspective of individuals, groups, communities, and populations while addressing how vulnerability affects nurses, nursing, and nursing care. This new edition presents a basic structure for caring for the vulnerable with the ultimate goal of providing culturally competent care, and includes a fantastic Companion Website with learning tools and resources for students. Theoretical and research chapters progress towards others offering meaningful learning experiences for both nursing students and practitioners. Further, since nurses are the crucial link between those who are vulnerable and those with access to solutions, this text provides ideas for how nurses might advocate for the vulnerable on a policy level. Written specifically for nurses by nurses, Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research, Third Edition is a timely and necessary response to the culturally diverse, vulnerable populations for whom nurses must provide appropriate and precise care.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul ; RT86.5 .C376 2012ISBN: 9781449635923Publication Date: 2011-07-19
Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences by
"Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Second Edition provides an innovative perspective on cultural competence in the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is imperative for clinicians and scientists to be aware of diverse aspects of globalization: how these aspects may affect their own knowledge, strengths, biases, and interventions, as well as the relationships between the communities, families, and individuals with whom they partner in care. The purpose of this essential textbook is to facilitate the creation of knowledge and the development of attitudes and skills that lead to culturally responsive practices"--
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1635506506Publication Date: 2023-01-01- Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care by
Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population. Projections indicate that 35% of patients older than age 65 will be from a racial or ethnic minority group by 2050, compared with 11% in 1970. Today's mental health practitioners require knowledge, sensitivity, and an understanding of institutionalized practices and systems that undermine their patients' health and well-being. The term culture is multifaceted and may refer to one's belief system, values, religion, race, socioeconomic status, ethnicity, language, sexual orientation, geographic location, educational level, age, occupational risks and exposures, and gender. The authors of the book examine mental health care through these lenses, teaching the reader about implicit biases and potential miscommunication and offering strategies for overcoming these difficulties. The editor, who has worked in leadership positions overseeing veterans' mental health services, has assembled an impressive and diverse roster of contributors, each with specific expertise in his or her assigned subject. * The ways in which cultural competency interacts with the six Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education core competencies are explored in detail. For example, in terms of patient care, cultural competency plays an important role in gathering subjective data about a patient that may ultimately impact outcomes. Teaching methods to increase cultural sensitivity and build skills in this area are highlighted, as are training modalities and clinician evaluation.* The effects of migration and acculturation on mental health are examined, providing clinicians with several theoretical frameworks for understanding the migratory experience in older adults and exploring psychosocial factors associated with psychological risk in aging immigrants.* Linguistic competence, defined broadly as effective communication with individuals speaking a nondominant language, is an essential component of culturally competent health care and is of particular importance in mental health care. Accordingly, the authors analyze linguistic competency in both administrative and clinical encounters and present strategies for achieving mastery in this critically important area.* The text provides an abundance of tables and pedagogical features designed to enhance comprehension, including learning objectives, key points, and study questions. Cultural competence in health care systems is defined as the ability to understand and integrate the features listed above into the provision of health care services. Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care prepares clinicians to provide sensitive, high-quality, culturally competent care to geriatric patients from diverse backgrounds and will prove indispensable as patient demographics continue to change.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1615372113Publication Date: 2018-08-03
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview by
DSM-5 Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI--and this unique handbook--is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes. Cultural psychiatry as a field has evolved enormously from the days when it was principally concerned with epidemiological and clinical studies of disease prevalence; it now examines a multitude of issues, primary among them the differing patient, family, and practitioner models of illness and treatment experiences within and across cultures. The editors, all of whom have been intimately involved in the evolution of the field, have designed the book and accompanying videos for maximum instructional and clinical utility. The Handbook boasts many strengths and useful features, including: * A detailed description of each of the three CFI components: a core 16-item questionnaire, which can be applied in any clinical setting with any patient by any mental health clinician; an informant version of the core CFI used to obtain information from caregivers; and 12 supplementary modules that expand on these basic assessments. This material facilitates implementation of the CFI by clinicians.* Over a dozen clinical vignettes are included to illustrate use of the three components, and the Handbook also includes multiple videos that demonstrate the application of portions of the core CFI, and several supplementary modules.* Strategies for incorporating the CFI into clinical training are identified and discussed, furthering the objective of developing culturally-sensitive and astute practitioners.* The theoretical bases of the CFI are explored, raising questions for discussion and identifying areas for further research. The CFI is a valuable tool for all patients, not just those judged to be culturally different. The CFI has been called the single most practically useful contribution of cultural psychiatry and medical anthropology to clinical psychiatry, primary care, and medicine in general. DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview is the only book on the market that equips readers with the skills and insight to incorporate the CFI into practice, making it a critically important addition to the clinical literature.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1585624926Publication Date: 2015-05-06
Improving Cultural Competence SAMHSA/CSAT Treatment Improvement Protocols, 2015. This guide helps professional care providers and administrators understand the role of culture in the delivery of mental health and substance use services. It also discusses racial, ethnic, and cultural considerations, and the core elements of cultural competence.
Available Online
Publication Date: 2014
Multicultural Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach to Diversity and Social Justice by
A thorough exploration of diversity and social justice within the field of social work Multicultural Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach to Diversity and Social Justice, 2nd Edition has been aligned with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Standards and incorporates the National Association of Social Workers Standards of Cultural Competence. New chapters focus on theoretical perspectives of critical race theory, microaggressions and changing societal attitudes, and evidence-based practice on research-supported approaches for understanding the influence of cultural differences on the social work practice. The second edition includes an expanded discussion of religion and spirituality and addresses emerging issues affecting diverse populations, such as women in the military. Additionally, Implications for Multicultural Social Work Practice' at the end of each chapter assist you in applying the information you have learned. Multicultural Social Work Practice, 2nd Edition provides access to important guidance regarding culturally sensitive social work practice, including the sociopolitical and social justice aspects of effective work in this field. This thoroughly revised edition incorporates new content and pedagogical features, including: Theoretical frameworks for multicultural social work practice Microaggressions in social work practice Evidence-based multicultural social work practice New chapter overviews, learning objectives, and reflection questions Multicultural Social Work Practice, 2nd Edition is an integral guide for students and aspiring social workers who want to engage in diversity and difference.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781118551110Publication Date: 2015-12-18
The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Culture and Mental Health by
This handbook presents a thorough examination of the intricate interplay of race, ethnicity, and culture in mental health - historical origins, subsequent transformations, and the discourses generated from past and present mental health and wellness practices. The text demonstrates how socio-cultural identities including race, gender, class, sexual orientation, disability, religion, and age intersect with clinical work in a range of settings. Case vignettes and recommendations for best practice help ground each in a clinical focus, guiding practitioners and educators to actively increase their understanding of non-Western and indigenous healing techniques, as well as their awareness of contemporary mental health theories as a product of Western culture with a particular historical and cultural perspective. The international contributors also discuss ways in which global mental health practices transcend racial, cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and political boundaries. The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Culture and Mental Health is an essential resource for students, researchers, and professionals alike as it addresses the complexity of mental health issues from a critical, global perspective.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1351995537Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition by
"This book will help educators understand the multidemensional process of cultural competence, and the vignettes it provides will be useful to anyone who teaches cultural competence."--Nursing Education Perspectives In our multicultural society, nurses and health care providers, educators and administrators, professional association leaders, and researchers must work toward achieving cultural competency. This new edition, along with the digital Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit, offers a unique and effective guide to do just that. Newly updated and revised, this book presents ready-to-use materials for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence strategies and programs. Users will learn to identify the needs of diverse constituents, evaluate outcomes, prevent multicultural-related workplace conflict, and much more. Complete with vignettes, case exemplars, illustrations, and assessment tools, this book is required reading for those working in academic settings, health care institutions, employee education, and nursing and health care organizations and associations. Key Features: Offers a wide selection of educational activities and techniques for diverse learners Presents guidelines for helping educators, students, and professionals to maximize strengths, minimize weaknesses, and facilitate success Describes toolkit questionnaires for measuring and evaluating cultural learning and performance Provides guidelines for employee orientation programs to achieve cultural competence in the workplace The Digital Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit: The Toolkit consists of three sets of tools and a total of 21 distinct tools. The three sets of tools are: Resources for Academic Settings; Resources for Health Care Institutions; and Resources for Professional Associations. Taken together, the tools provide a comprehensive set of materials for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. These tools may be used alone or in conjunction with other tools and will be of use to a broad range of readers at all levels: nurses, educators, administrators, association leaders, managers, researchers, students, and other health care providers. The tools and this book will enable you to achieve optimal cultural competence.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826117880Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Teaching Public Health. by
A comprehensive collection of best practices in public health education. As more students are drawn to public health as a field of study and a profession, bringing varied backgrounds and experiences with them, the number of public health programs and schools of public health has grown substantially. How can teachers meet the changing needs of incoming students--and ensure that graduates have the knowledge, skills, and attributes to pursue further education and forge successful careers in public health? Aimed at experienced and new teachers alike, this timely volume is a cutting-edge primer on teaching public health around the globe. Bringing together leaders in the field with expertise across the educational continuum, the book combines the conceptual underpinnings needed to advance curricula with the resources to train and support faculty in innovative teaching methods. This thorough book * discusses challenges faced by public health teachers * examines the principles and practices for teaching at each level of study * describes technological and pedagogical innovations in public health education * stresses the importance of life-long learning and interprofessional education * offers concrete tips for engaging students through active and collaborative learning * focuses on teaching cultural competency and reaching diverse student populations * looks to the future, building on emerging trends and anticipating where the field is headed A field-defining volume, Teaching Public Health offers a concrete plan to ensure that both individual courses and overall curricula are responsive to the needs of a rapidly changing student body and the world beyond the school. Contributors: Linda Alexander, Susan Altfeld, Jessica S. Ancker, Lauren D. Arnold, Melissa D. Begg, Angela Breckenridge, Kathryn M. Cardarelli, Angela Carman, Trey Conatser, Lorraine M. Conroy, Yvette C. Cozier, Eugene Declercq, Marie Diener-West, Jen Dolan, Greg Evans, Julian Fisher, Elizabeth French, Sandro Galea, Daniel Gerber, Sophie Godley, Jacey A. Greece, Perry N. Halkitis, Jennifer Hebert-Beirne, Jyotsna Jagai, Katherine Johnson, Nancy Kane, David G. Kleinbaum, Wayne LaMorte, Meg Landfried, Delia L. Lang, Joel Lee, Laura Linnan, Laura Magaña Valladares, Uchechi Mitchell, Beth Moracco, Robert Pack, Donna Petersen, Silvia E. Rabionet, Elizabeth Reisinger Walker, Richard Riegelman, Kathleen Ryan, Nelly Salgado de Snyder, Rachel Schwartz, Lisa M. Sullivan, Tanya Uden-Holman, Luann White, James Wolff, Randy Wykoff
Call Number: Available Online - see Chapter 22: Teaching Cultural Competence for Twenty-First Century Public Health PracticeISBN: 1421429802Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Selected Journals & Publications
Journals
- Diversity and Equality in Health and Care
- International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare
- Journal of Cross Cultural Gerontology
- Journal of Cultural Diversity
- Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice
- Journal of Transcultural Nursing
- Mental Health, Religion and Culture
- Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare
Publications
Health Equity Guiding Principles for Inclusive Communication Emphasizes the importance of addressing all people inclusively and respectfully. These principles are intended to help public health professionals, particularly health communicators, within and outside of CDC ensure their communication products and strategies adapt to the specific cultural, linguistic, environmental, and historical situation of each population or audience of focus.
Centers for Disease Control. (n.d.). Health equity guiding principles for inclusive communication: Retrieved July 20, 2022, from https://www.cdc.gov/healthcommunication/Health_Equity.html
Improving Cultural Competence to Reduce Health Disparities A report from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Butler, M., McCreedy, E., Schwer, N., Burgess, D., Call, K., Przedworski, J., Rosser, S., Larson, S., Allen, M., Fu, S., & Kane, R. L. (2016). Improving Cultural Competence to Reduce Health Disparities. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US).
Tosun, Yava, A., Dirgar, E., Şahin, E. B., Yılmaz, E. B., Papp, K., Tóthova, V., Hellerova, V., Prosen, M., Licen, S., Karnjus, I., Tamayo, M. D. B., Leyva-Moral, J. M., Claeys, A., & Tricas-Sauras, S. (2021). Addressing the effects of transcultural nursing education on nursing students’ cultural competence: A systematic review. Nurse Education in Practice, 55, 103171–103171. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nepr.2021.103171
Cultural Competencies - CE Modules
- Nursing Reference Center Plus: Cultural CompetenciesNursing Reference Center Plus: Nursing Practice & Skill - Cultural Competencies CE Modules.