Suggested Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, including more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965. - Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care resource designed for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty. The collection includes “Quick Lessons” and “Evidence-based Care Sheets” on diseases and disorders; practice guidelines; patient education sheets.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921 - PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, indexing journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. - Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social science information, including citation data, dating as far back as 1966 to the present. In addition, 3,500 of its 18,000 journal titles cover the arts and humanities. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information from 1963 - present in the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters.
Suggested keyword search terms for all databases:
- health disparit*
- health status disparit*
- health care disparit*
- healthcare disparit*
- health inequit*
- health equit*
- health inequal*
- health equal*
- cultural competenc*
- social determinant* of health (or SDOH)
Note: Using an asterisk (*) at the end of a word stem will truncate the word to pick up variations of the word ending (example: 'health disparit*' will pick up 'health disparity' as well as 'health disparities'). Using quotation marks around keyword terms will search terms exactly as a phrase ("health disparities").
CINAHL Subject Headings:
- Healthcare Disparities
- Health Status Disparities
- Health Inequities
- Cultural Competence
- Social Determinants of Health
Medline with Full Text / PubMed Subject Headings (MeSH):
- Health Inequities
- Health Equity
- Health Status Disparities
- Healthcare Disparities
- Cultural Competency
- Social Determinants of Health
Nursing Reference Center Plus
- Refine results of your search by selecting Cultural Competencies under "Material Types."
PsycInfo - APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms:
- Health Disparities
- Mental Health Disparities
- Cultural Competence