Library Databases
Library databases are designed to help you find articles (or chapters, conference reports, etc.) on a topic.
Most of our databases contain the full text of the article, link to that full text in another subscribed resource, or provide a link to request the item through Interlibrary Borrowing. If you need help, please ask a librarian.
To find out if we subscribe to a specific database, or to locate a database for your subject area, visit https://www.adelphi.edu/libraries/.
- With Databases & More selected, you can search for a specific database by title. This search will bring you to a screen with the database listed; click its title and begin searching for articles. You can also go directly to an alphabetical list of our e-resources by clicking here.
- If you don't know the name of a database, you can search for databases by subject area. With Databases & More selected, type your discipline (example: communications). This search will bring you to a list of all library databases that have been tagged for that subject area. At the top of the page, you can search within the list or use the drop-down menus to locate what you need. Locate a database and click its title to begin searching for articles.
Note: You can also search for databases, articles, and more by searching in OneSearch (with "OneSearch" selected). This search will bring you to the OneSearch product rather than the databases listing.
Find Articles in Databases
Multidisciplinary databases contain articles and materials on a variety of topics, rather than focusing on just one topic. These databases appear as suggested resources on multiple LibGuide pages because they contain materials that are helpful to researchers in multiple subject areas.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of scholarly journals in fields including literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Years of coverage vary by title with selected titles beginning as early as 1993.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- A-Z Databases & More: CommunicationsClick here to view the list of library databases that contain articles about Communications.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is specific to Communications and Media, and provides excellent subject-specific searching options.
- A-Z Databases & More: PsychologyClick here to view the list of library databases that contain articles about Psychology.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window A core collection of articles, evidence-based care sheets, and book chapters in the areas of nursing and allied health, 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Covers clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration, providing access to more than 2000 full text publications.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new window A searchable collection of journals in a variety of areas of psychology, 1971-present. Full text dissertations are also included, from 2000 - 2005.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- A-Z Databases & More: EducationClick here to view the list of library databases that contain articles about Education.
Find Articles via OneSearch
You can search in OneSearch for articles on your topic.
- I recommend clicking on Advanced Search to search for articles. This will allow you to do a more guided OneSearch search and limit to material type "Articles."
- You can also use the library website's main OneSearch search box, with "OneSearch" selected, to type in your topic. This search will bring you to OneSearch, where you can limit your search on the top or by using the filters on the left hand side of the page.
Citation Lookup
- If you are already in OneSearch, you can find this tool by clicking the "..." at the top next to Ask A Librarian. Citation Lookup is also listed in the Library Services Catalog. Citation Lookup (Citation Linker) allows you to find a specific article or other resource.
- This tool is especially useful if you have a certain article in mind and have at least its article title, journal title, or author information readily available.
OneSearch
- OneSearch
This link brings you directly to OneSearch. Sign in with your Adelphi eCampus account to access all of its features.
Find Specific Journals by Title
There are a few ways to find out if Adelphi has access to a specific journal from https://www.adelphi.edu/libraries/.
OneSearch
- Use the library website's main OneSearch search box, with "OneSearch" selected, to locate a specific journal by title. For example, type "New Media & Society" in the search box to see if we subscribe to that journal. In the results, click the journal title to see which dates we can access. From this OneSearch results screen, you can also search within the journal to find articles. Note: If you have too many results from which to choose, you can add quotation marks around the journal title or limit from the OneSearch results screen.
- From the library website, click Advanced search to search OneSearch for the journal. The advanced search allows you to search by title, ISSN, and more. You can also limit on the right-hand side of the screen to materials type "Journal Titles."
Citation Lookup
- Citation Lookup is listed in the Library Services Catalog. If you are already in OneSearch, you can also find it by clicking the "..." at the top next to Ask A Librarian. Citation Lookup (Citation Linker) allows you to find a specific article or other resource, but it also allows you to search for a journal by title.
BrowZine
- The library subscribes to a database called BrowZine, which can be found via OneSearch or Databases & More (BrowZine link). You can search BrowZine Library to see if we subscribe to the journal; if we do you will be able to read the journal online.
