Where to look for articles?
OneSearch can find articles on your topics. If you search for articles using OneSearch, make sure to click the "Articles" option from the left hand sidebar on the search results page to find articles on your topic.
For articles in various publications, such as peer-reviewed journals, magazines, news papers, conference proceedings and reports, you should search the following databases individually.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social science information, including citation data, dating as far back as 1966 to the present. In addition, 3,500 of its 18,000 journal titles cover the arts and humanities.
This link opens in a new window
- Pubmed (Entrez) This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window (1991- present), includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Research Library This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subject areas, providing access to more than 4,000 periodicals from 1971 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For newspaper articles, search the following databases:
National Newspaper Index
New York Times (Proquest)
Newspaper Source
Newsday
New York State Newspapers
Google Scholar is another good source to locate scholarly articles on your topic. Searching and finding articles on Google scholar can be cumbersome as it retrieves a lot of documents and many of them are not available free online. If you find a good citation by searching Google Scholar, look for the full-text link on the right hand side of your computer screen . You can link your PC to AU Libraries to retrieve full-text from Adelphi Libraries Electronic journals and databases. If there is no link to retrieve the full-text of the article or it is not freely available on the internet, check the library catalog to find out whether AU Libraries have the journals in print.
If you cannot locate the full-text of the articles in AU Libraries electronic and print journal collections, use the free Interlibrary Borrowing Service at AU Libraries.