LibGuides: NUR 206 Scholarly Writing for the Healthcare Professional: Write &amp; Cite

Adelphi University Center for Academic Support and Enrichment (CASE)
Previously known as the Learning and Writing Centers, CASE is dedicated to nurturing students’ academic success at its core. Their services are centered around providing academic support and engagement outside of class and are free to all Adelphi students.
Citation and Style Guide
A guide to resources and best practices for citation, academic integrity and bibliographic management.
Organizing Your Research
Research logs, downloadable worksheets and note-taking templates and suggested information to track from Montclair State University.

Guides to APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: Call Number: Swirbul Reference & Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2020, Hauppauge Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020, Manhattan & Hudson Valley Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2020

ISBN: 9781433832161

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

APA 7th Edition - General Format
From Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab. General APA Guidelines. This page reflects the latest version of the APA Publication Manual (i.e., APA 7), which released in October 2019.
APA 7th Edition Common Reference Examples Guide
This guide contains examples of common types of APA Style references. Section numbers indicate where
to find the examples in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.).
APA 7th Edition Reference Guide for Journal Articles, Books, and Edited Book Chapters
A handy chart to help you quickly format a book or journal citation.
APA Reference List Basic Rules
From Purdue Owl. This page gives basic guidelines for formatting the reference list at the end of a standard APA research paper. Reflects the latest version of the APA Publication Manual (i.e., APA 7), which released in October 2019.
APA Sample Paper
From Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab. The APA Publication Manual, 7th Edition specifies different formatting conventions for student and professional papers (i.e., papers written for credit in a course and papers intended for scholarly publication). These differences mostly extend to the title page and running head. Crucially, citation practices do not differ between the two styles of paper.
APA Style Blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition.
APA Style Introduction
From Purdue OWL Online Writing Lab. These resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
APA Style Reference Examples
Examples of the most common works that writers cite are provided on this page; additional examples are available in the Publication Manual.
The Writing Center American Psychological Association (APA) Documentation Style, 7th Edition
A guide from the University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center. Contains a brief overview of the APA documentation system as described in the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
ZoteroBib
A free service that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style, including APA. Just open a new browser tab, find what you’re looking for, and copy the page’s URL from your browser’s address bar into ZoteroBib. ZoteroBib can automatically extract bibliographic data from newspaper and magazine articles, library catalogs, journal articles, sites like Amazon and Google Books, and much more. Copy or type in an ISBN, DOI, PubMed ID, or arXiv ID.