Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work ROLE

Restart Plan

Dear students and faculty,

The faculty, staff, and administrators of Adelphi University Libraries have been busy preparing for the arrival of many of you on campus while also serving the Adelphi community online during the Spring and Summer sessions.

We are providing access to millions of online resources through OneSearch, fulfilling digitization requests, and shipping to home addresses.

We are committed to providing a safe environment for all of you. Once you are back on campus you will notice that the Libraries spaces look a bit different as we have adjusted the space to abide by social distancing rules. We have closed the stacks, and are providing access to physical materials by request in OneSearch.

We have posted our AU Guide to Returning to Libraries on the Adelphi website along with all other guides. This Guide for Returning to Libraries has been developed in accordance with Adelphi University’s Master Restart Plan in Response to COVID-19, which can be found on the University’s Restart Website. Some highlights:

  • Swirbul Library opened on August 22 to coincide with the residence hall move-in week. We will close the Swirbul Library on November 25 and continue to serve you virtually until the end of the semester. For Centers' libraries hours please consult the guide.

  • Face coverings and physical distancing are mandatory while you are in the building. Food is not permitted in libraries.

  • To support remote learning, our diverse online collections include a vast array of e-books, databases, journals, audiovisual, and other resources that are available on and off-campus.

  • To reduce the potential for contamination of physical items, the libraries’ collections are available by request only. We offer three options through our newly enhanced OneSearch function on the library homepage, so you can access the materials you need.

    • Pick up items from the hold shelf
      Our staff will retrieve books and media for you, and you will be notified when they are ready for pickup.

    • Delivery to your home address
      Our staff will verify your mailing address and send items to you via UPS. You can request a return shipping label or drop the item off at any of our libraries.

    • NEW: Digitize a portion of a print book or journal
      Please note that copyright restrictions limit the amount of work that we can digitize.

  • University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) will be open on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 11:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m. beginning on August 31, 2020. Appointments are required for all researchers, and only one researcher at a time will be permitted on-site. On-site visit requests should be submitted at least two days in advance. Please do not visit UASC unless you have received a confirmation email. Please explore our digital collections and use our search database.

Libraries are essential to the restoration of a vibrant campus and academic life, and we look forward to working with you–our users–to keep your Libraries safe and open.  

We wish you a productive and rewarding academic year,

Violeta Ilik

QuickSearch Tabs - OneSearch


Find nearly everything in the Libraries' collections with OneSearch:
    

Advanced Search    WorldCat    Need help?

Jumpstart your research using eReference and eBook Central


Search databases, e.g. Academic Search Complete, to find articles:


OR

Browse all Databases  

Looking for a specific journal? Search for the journal title or ISSN here.

Search here for library course guides, general tutorials and any frequently asked questions.

 

Guides for AU Courses  Browse All Guides