Resources and Information on COVID-19
Click here for our authoritative guide with resources and information on the COVID-19 pandemic and visit this page for information about the libraries' remote learning services offered.
Library Buildings Closing/Opening
All Adelphi University Libraries are currently closed. Patrons should check our web page for possible re-opening announcements, but may also contact Public Safety for the status of campus buildings.
Physical Items, Due Dates, Overdue Fines, and Returns
For any books and media you have checked out, the Libraries is extending due dates and waiving any fines and fees. We will accept items when the Libraries re-open.
Faculty librarians are available for research assistance, consultations, and help in acquiring resources for courses. A list of subject librarians is available at https://libguides.adelphi.edu/prf.php
Interlibrary Borrowing and ConnectNY
The Libraries will continue to borrow items electronically through Interlibrary Borrowing. For any physical books, please consult with your subject librarian to see if we can acquire an ebook.
Click for more...
ConnectNY borrowing and lending has been suspended system-wide, but we will continue to make every effort to connect faculty and students with the resources they need.
Ebook and Eresource Requests
If you are interested in ebooks and eresources, please contact your subject librarian directly.
Information about streaming media, and requests to purchase new titles, including those in Kanopy, is available at https://libguides.adelphi.edu/Streaming_Media
AVON provides unlimited access to more than 63,000 videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. This interdisciplinary database includes scholarly video material and award-winning films.
Kanopy is a wide-ranging documentary and independent film streaming service. Choose from our list of already-licensed titles for unlimited viewing.
"Streaming media" refers to audiovisual content that can be accessed through computers or mobile devices with Internet capabilities. The University Libraries' streaming media collection offers a large selection of documentary, educational, and popular works.
You can find these resources through the Libraries' A-Z Databases & More page, which is available through the “Articles/Databases” tab on the Libraries’ webpage.
Search box: If you know the name of a specific database, you can enter it in the search box. (ex. Psychotherapy.net)
Subjects drop-down menu: This allows you to narrow resources by subject, then look for the streaming video or streaming audio icon in those subject-specific results (ex. Decision Sciences)
Resource Type drop-down menu: This allows you to narrow down your list of resources to those which are only in streaming format.
Resources Legend box: On the right-hand side, you will see a Resources Legend box. Click on the " Streaming Video"or " Streaming Audio" icons to see only those resources, or simply look for those icons as you use the databases page.
Please note: It is not necessary to download streaming video or audio files.
The library catalog contains many streaming videos.
To see if the library has licensed a specific title, search the catalog (OneSearch or Alicat) as usual. The catalog record will include a link to the streaming content. If you search for a specific title and cannot find it, that means we do not have a current license to that video.
Current students, staff, and faculty may access the library’s collection of streaming video and audio on-campus or off-campus.
To do so, you will need:
A computer or mobile device with Internet capabilities
Your Adelphi username and password.
Having difficulty logging in with your Adelphi username and password? Please contact the IT Helpdesk. You must sign in to access streaming media content through the library databases.