Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections (UASC)

An introductory guide to using Archives and Special Collections at Adelphi University.

COVID-19 Closing FAQs

Click here for information about the Libraries' operation during COVID-19.

What You Need to Know

 

 Using University Archives and Special Collections

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, and for the safety of our students, staff, and researchers, Adelphi University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) will be operating with reduced opening hours for the Fall 2020 semester and the following guidelines will be followed: 

  • Hours: UASC will be open on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 11am-3pm beginning on August 31, 2020. 
  • Appointments: Appointments are required for all researchers and only one researcher at a time will be permitted on-site. On-site visit requests should be submitted at least two days in advance. Please do not visit UASC unless you have received a confirmation email.
  • Face coverings and hand washing: All visitors will be required to properly wear a face covering or mask, per University policy and will be asked to wash their hands thoroughly before any material can be handled. 
  • No on-site instructional classes: These will not be held in UASC for the Fall 2020 term. However, we will work with professors to find alternative methods of integrating primary sources and rare materials into classes.

Remote support: UASC staff will continue to serve our students, faculty, the Adelphi community, and outside researchers remotely by responding to email requests. Please explore our digital collections and use our search database.

  • Contacts: 
    • For inquiries about our University Archives and On-site Visits, please contact David Ranzan (dranzan@adelphi.edu).
    • For inquiries about our Special Collections and Instructional Sessions, please contact Brian McDonald (bmcdonald@adelphi.edu). For inquiries about our Digital Collections, please contact Ashley Kranjac (akranjac@adelphi.edu).
    • For inquiries about our University Art Collection, please contact Jon Duff (jduff@adelphi.edu).

Call to Action: In this unprecedented historical moment, University Archives and Special Collections invites the Adelphi community of students, faculty, staff and alumni to document your reflections and experiences during this challenging time. We hope to foster connections within our community now, and to preserve records of both individual and shared experiences for posterity.

Submissions can take the form of prose, poetry, memoir, artwork, or other materials that reflect or express your current lived experience. You might also consider interviewing another member of the Adelphi community and creating oral histories of this challenging period. Please submit your material to the University Archivist, David Ranzan by email at dranzan@adelphi.edu or mail it to David Ranzan, University Archivist, Adelphi University, 1 South Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530.