Recommended Performing Arts Databases for Finding Articles
The following Databases are suggested for finding journal articles in the Performing Arts
- Folger Digital Texts (Shakespeare Library) This link opens in a new window Shakespeare's plays in Folger Digital Texts are from the Folger Shakespeare Library editions, edited by Barbara Mowat and Paul Werstine and published by Simon and Schuster. They include a dozen of Shakespeare's best known plays, including Hamlet, Macbeth, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and The Tempest. The texts-including full source code-can also be downloaded at no charge for noncommercial use.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Includes over 1 million full text and 2.4 million citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, dating as far back as the 1870s. Please note: full text documents may be up to 500 pages. Please use discretion and consider all options before printing.
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides citations and some full text in a broad range of subject areas including literature, art, archeology, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, and gender studies. Some original works of poetry, fiction, and drama are included. Indexing dates back to 1984, with select full text coverage beginning in 1994.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to the full collection of Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, and Children�s Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Offers bibliographic access to journal articles, books and dissertations in language, literature, folklore and the dramatic arts. It dates as far back as the 1920s.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of scholarly journals in fields including literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Years of coverage vary by title with selected titles beginning as early as 1993.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window An international, comprehensive collection of records of Shakespeare-related scholarship. The searchable database includes records from books, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews, audiovisual materials and more, published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2013, in more than 92 languages.
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers
Newspapers are an excellent source for your research.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue from the year 1851 to 2003.
This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text of nearly 300 Canadian newspapers, with some backfiles dating back to the late 1970s.
- This link opens in a new window
- New York State Newspapers This link opens in a new window Ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals
- TDR - The Drama Review
Provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts, with an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary.
- Comparative Drama
Comparative Drama is a scholarly journal devoted to studies international in spirit and interdisciplinary in scope.
- Journal of American Drama and Theatre
Scholarly articles on theatre, drama, and performance in the U.S. – past and present.
- New Theatre Quarterly
An internationally-focused publication focused on news, analysis and debate within the field of theatre studies.
- American Theatre
A consumer magazine featuring reports on plays in print, as well as performances and theater season schedules. Presents current trends in nonprofit American theater.
- Asian Theatre Journal
Offers descriptive and analytical articles, original plays and play translations, book and audiovisual reviews, and reports of current theatrical activities in Asia.
- New England Theatre Journal
Annual publication of the New England Theatre Conference featuring book and theatre reviews, historical analyses, and other articles by noted authors.
- The Stage
British weekly newspaper still under family ownership covering the entertainment industry, and particularly theater, with news, reviews, opinion, features, and recruitment advertising.
- Theatre Annual
Published by the Theatre Library Association since 1942.
- Theatre Survey
Published for the American Society for Theatre Research since 1960
- Stage Directions
Practice and trade magazine dedicated to the art and technology of theater.
- TD & T
- PAJ : a Journal of Performance and Art
- Theater
- Theatre Journal