A library database is a tool to help you find articles--quality information in publications such as academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Click on the video below for additional information on why and how to use databases in your research.
Find Background Information on a Topic
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowAn online full text collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIncludes pro and con viewpoints on a wide range of social issues, from terrorism and gun control to stem cell research.
- Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of over 90 encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences, business, education and health, and history.
Search Subject Databases
Selected databases for voting & elections / political science research:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, indexing 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window Includes CQ Researcher (1991- present), CQ Magazine(1983- present), CQ Public Affairs (1930's - present) and CQ Encyclopedia of American Government.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window (1991- present), includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of Congressional information including House and Senate documents, committee reports, bill tracking and bill texts and campaign finance information. Provides the full text of the National Journal, as well as a searchable CIS/Index, the primary indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. The Statutes at Large includes both full text and synopses of public laws back to 1789.
- Proquest Political Science Database Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.Coverage: 1985 - current.
More Databases: