Library Databases
Library databases are designed to help you find articles (or chapters, conference reports, etc.) on a topic.
Most of our databases contain the full text of the article, link to that full text in another subscribed resource, or provide a link to request the item through Interlibrary Borrowing. If you need help, please ask a librarian.
To find out if we subscribe to a specific database, or to locate a database for your subject area, visit https://www.adelphi.edu/libraries/.
- With Databases & More selected, you can search for a specific database by title. This search will bring you to a screen with the database listed; click its title and begin searching for articles. You can also go directly to an alphabetical list of our e-resources by clicking here.
- If you don't know the name of a database, you can search for databases by subject area. With Databases & More selected, type your discipline (example: communications). This search will bring you to a list of all library databases that have been tagged for that subject area. At the top of the page, you can search within the list or use the drop-down menus to locate what you need. Locate a database and click its title to begin searching for articles.
Note: You can also search for databases, articles, and more by searching in OneSearch (with "OneSearch" selected). This search will bring you to the OneSearch product rather than the databases listing.
Subject specific databases
The following databases are relevant for students in the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures.
- Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)- a unified portal that allows simultaneous searching of three Gale literary databases: Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Literature Resource Center. You may also search each of these databases individually. - Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of international literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, as well as the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook. - Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1 million full text and 2.4 million citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, dating as far back as the 1870s. Please note: full text documents may be up to 500 pages. Please use discretion and consider all options before printing. - eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Culture's cross-cultural database contains in-depth descriptive information about cultural and social life written by first-hand observers such as ethnographers. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. - Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and some full text in a broad range of subject areas including literature, art, archeology, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history, and gender studies. Some original works of poetry, fiction, and drama are included. Indexing dates back to 1984, with select full text coverage beginning in 1994. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects in the humanities, providing the full text of 770 journals as well as book chapters, with journals dating as far back as 1925. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowEasy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database covering a broad range of topics in the social sciences, with full text journal articles dating as far back as 1895. Full text coverage of books, monographs, and conference papers is also included. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information from 1963 - present in the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters.
Interdisciplinary Databases
These interdisciplinary databases may have relevant materials for research in Languages, Literatures and Cultures.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences. - LexisNexis Academic
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Now known as Nexis Uni - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of scholarly journals in fields including literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Years of coverage vary by title with selected titles beginning as early as 1993. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921 - Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subject areas, providing access to more than 4,000 periodicals from 1971 to present.
Web Resources
The following resources are freely available on the internet and require no Adelphi login credentials.
- HLAS Links to Full Text Scholarly Journal DatabasesThis Library of Congress website has lists of (1) Full-Text Journals and/or Databases (2) Bibliographic Resources/Digital Collections (3) Journal Locators/Aggregators (4) Book Review Sites/Blogs
- HLAS OnlineOnline version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies via the Library of Congress.
- Online Text Collections in Western European LiteratureThis collection is provided via the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)'s European Studies Section (ESS).