Understanding Databases
Understanding Databases
A library database is a tool to help you find quality information in publications. The library subscribes to many databases.
Click the link below to view the video.
Article Databases
Resources good for Question #2 and #3
Allows you to search for articles using keywords for newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
-
National Newspapers IndexProvides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
-
LexisNexis AcademicNow known as Nexis Uni
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIncludes pro and con viewpoints on a wide range of social issues, from terrorism and gun control to stem cell research.
-
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA multiple subject database covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more, dating as far back as 1980. It includes full text scholarly, trade, and general-interest journals, newspapers, newswire services and magazines, as well as podcasts, transcripts and medical videos.
-
US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowIncludes some 900 international, national and regional papers from 1977 to the present, with over 850 in full text.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
More about Scholarly Journals
This hand out on scholarly journals will help you learn more about their content. The hand out discusses primary versus secondary research and the article types for each (research, literature review, commentary, or book review). The more you know about the content of acaademic journals for research and how to use them the more comfortable you will be when creating a search in the database of your choice to access relevant results.