Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science at Adelphi

OneSearch

Find nearly everything in the Libraries' collections with OneSearch:

Advanced search   Alicat Classic   WorldCat  Send us your feedback!  Need help?

Jumpstart your research using eReference and eBrary Collection

To find print books and eBooks, use OneSearch, the search tool for the entire Swirbul collection. To access OneSearch, go to the library homepage. 

If you don't have the title of a specific book, then you can search Alicat Classic under relevant subject headings, including the following:

  • Civil rights OR human rights
  • Conflict OR war
  • Constitution
  • Elections OR campaigns
  • Foreign policy OR foreign affairs
  • Global issues OR globalization
  • Government
  • Law OR legislation
  • Political science
  • Politics
  • Revolution
  • Social change OR social movements
  • Voting
  • Women's issues OR women's rights

Obtaining Books from Other Libraries

In the course of your research you might find book titles that are not included in Swirbul’s collection. When this occurs, you frequently can obtain these books from other libraries via the Adelphi Libraries. The boxes below highlight four options: Connect NY, NExpress, Smart Delivery/Interlibrary Loan, and Worldcat.

Connect NY and NExpress

Connect NY is a consortium of academic libraries within New York State whose members have created a combined catalog of more than 5 million titles. You can directly borrow a book from other Connect NY libraries if Adelphi does not own the book or if it is checked out. Use the link below to search for a book via Connect NY.

 

In addition to Connect NY, you can also access more than 7 million books through NExpress, a new cooperative borrowing service. NExpress provides easy access to important research collections via Alicat. The NExpress catalog holdings are from six New England colleges: Bates, Middlebury, Bowdoin, Colby, Williams, and Wellesley.

Smart Delivery/Interlibrary Loan

Adelphi’s Smart Delivery/Interlibrary Loan Service allows students to request materials that the Adelphi Libraries do not own. There is no charge for this service. You can also use ILL to request journal articles or book chapters that are not located in your home campus. You are expected to conform to copyright policy when you use materials obtained through ILL. To access a guide on how to use ILL, click on the link below.

Note: The first time you request materials from Smart Delivery/Interlibrary Loan, you need to create a profile. Again, there is no fee for this service.

Worldcat

Worldcat is an online catalog that includes the holdings of thousands of libraries located in the United States and throughout the world. When you conduct a search by title, author, or ISBN, Worldcat will identify every library in its consortium that has a copy of the book. You can't use Worldcat to order books, but you can use it to locate libraries where you can borrow or use a book. You can access Worldcat by clicking on the “Articles/Databases” button on the Library homepage.