Australian Government Initiative. Explore Australia's species (by common or scientific name and find overview, gallery, names, classification, record), Species by location, Natural history collections (143 in total: Fauna, Insects, Microorganisms, Plants), Mapping & analysis (find species by region, in your area, distribution, spatial case studies), Data sets (Find a record, data set, sensitive data, data integration, sandbox), Field data software
EOL: To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource. Easy search, wealth of information. See Also DISCOVER EOL for About Biodiversity, Multimedia, Podcasts, Tools, Collections, Communities, Teaching Resources.
SciTech Connect connects you to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).This site provides links to full texts, citations, datasets, patents, multimedia and software in various fields related to science and technology and the topics of interest related to DOE's mission. . The site has video tutorials to teach users how to search for the subjects covered by SciTech Connect. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and have been produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.
Managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the Species Survival Commission of IUCN (the International Union for Conservation of Nature); can be searched by species name, country or location, habitat, organism type and Taxonomic Search. Information is available on "100 of the Worst" invasive species.
The Center for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health serves a lead role in development, consolidation and dissemination of information and programs focused on invasive species, forest health, natural resource and agricultural management through technology development, program implementation, training, applied research and public awareness at the state, regional, national and international levels.
Developed by United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library (NAL). Browse by Geography (U.S. or International), Subject (Aquatic Species, Plants, Animals, Microbes, Economic Impacts, Laws & Regulations)
The Native Pollinator in Agriculture Work Group is building and supporting an Agricultural Pollination Alliance through which the agriculture sector can work collaboratively and proactively to establish and protect native pollinator habitat and increase populations of native and managed pollinators. Project Reports, Articles, access to State Agency Workshops.
Promotes the health of pollinators, critical to food and ecosystems, through conservation, education, and research. Resources on Beekeeping, Bee Issues, Corporate Land & Buildings, Education, Farming & Ranching Golf Courses, Gardens, Hunting & Fishing, Pollinator Data Portal, Mining & Utilities, Medicinal Plants, Pollinator Digital Library, Policy, Public Lands, Research, Rights of Way.
A collaborative project between the National Park Service, the University of Georgia Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health, the Invasive Plant Atlas of New England and the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. The purpose of the Atlas is to assist users with identification, early detection, prevention, and management of invasive plants.
Established in 1971, a nonprofit organization that protects wildlife through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitat. The site provides news , information about programs (Pollination Conservation; Endangered Species; Aquatic Invertebrates; Butterfly Conservation); Pubications (Books, guidelines, brochures, identification guides, fact sheets, Wings Magazine, red lists, plant lists, articles, reports); Invetebrate Sections (bees, beetles, butterflies & moths, caddisflies, crustaceans, dragonflies & damselflies, flies, freshwater sponges, mayflies, mollusks, stoneflies, true bugs, worms).
A database featuring behavioral and structural anatomy of C. elegans. The site provides access to the Handbooks (Hermaphrodite, Male, Female) and other resources: WormImage, Slideable Worm, gene expression, Individual neurons, cell identification; neurons & circuits, cell lineages, glossary and the Movie Gallery.
U.S. National Library of Medicine. Consumer-friendly information. Genetic Disorders A-Z (Genetic Conditions; Genes; Chromosomes); Concepts and Tools (Handbook "Help me Understand Genetics", Glossary, Resources)
Developed with NSF funding and designed by researchers in the Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology at Iowa State University and Indiana University. PlantGDB's NSF funding ended in 2015 and the website is no longer being updated. However, you can check out a related project from the Brendel Lab, xGDBvm, a virtual environment for genome annotation in the cloud.
Integrating genomics into public health research, policy, and practice to prevent disease and improve health. Focus Areas: Weekly Update, Genomics & Health, Family Health History, Genomic Testing, Genomic Resources, Podcasts, Blog, Reports & Publications, HuGE Navigator (seachable knowledge base of genetic associations), EGAPP. Genomics and Health Topics: Autism, Breast and Ovarian Cancer, Colorectal Cancer, Heart Disease, Hemochromatosis/Iron Overload, Mental Health, Obesity, Sickle Cell Disease, Stroke. Genomics Across the CDC: Birth Defects, Blood Disorders, Chronic Disease, Environmental Health, Laboratory Practice, Newborn Screening, Pediatric Genetics, Single Gene Disorders.
Free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Concentrating on genetics and cell biology. eBooks. Learning Paths include: Cancer, Genetic Variation & Evolution, Chromatin in Eukaryotic Regulation, Intro to Microbial Genetics, Intro to Biotechnology. Guide to the UCSC Genome Browser, Elaboration of the Central Dogma, Important X Chromosome, Genes & the Environment: The Myth of Genetic Determinism; Brief History of Genetics, Chromosomes & Disease, Types of Genetic Disease, Genomes & Disease, Genetic Testing, The Human Genome Project, Gene Mapping, The 'Omics Age
National Institutes of Health resource for stem cell research. FAQs (What are they and what can they do? Ethical Issues? U.S. Policy?), Research (Current, Upcoming, Funding, Training, Scientific Literature), Tools (Glossary, Downloads)
Beta version companion to the popular Learn.Genetics website, Teach.Genetics offers additional tools and resources to support your curriculum, all free of charge. Print-and-Go Lesson Plans, Epigenetics: Supplemental Materials; Classroom Activities (Introduction to Heredity)
The American Society for Cell Biology is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The Cell includes images acquired from historical and modern collections, publications, and by recruitment. Explore The Cell Library by Cell Process, Cell Component, Cell Type, Organism.
A database of information on algae including terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms. At present, the data for the marine algae, particularly seaweeds, are the most complete. This site also has information on sea-grasses, even though they are flowering plants.
Since 1998, the MarineBio Conservation Society (Marine Bio), a nonprofit volunteer marine conservation and science education group, has been working to educate the world about ocean life, marine biology, marine conservation, and to provide a sea ethic that we should all attempt to follow. MarineBio is a U.S. 501(c)3 charitable, nonprofit organization and is supported almost entirely by generous donations and Society memberships and is maintained by volunteer marine biologists, students, professors, and conservation advocates around the world.
The site is hosted by the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI), a private, non-profit research and higher education organization based on Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Contributors to the site include scientists and engineers from universities as well as public and private ocean research institutions.The site features text and background information written and/or edited by experts in ocean science and engineering, in addition to links to glossaries and multimedia technologies including video streaming, audio packages, and searchable databases. The site is updated as new information arrives from contributing ocean scientists and engineers.
Hosted at University of Cambridge. Researchers at SPRI investigate a range of issues in the environmental sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities of relevance to the Arctic and Antarctica including Circumpolar History and Public Policy; Glacimarine Environments; Glaciology and Climate Change; Polar Landscape and Remote Sensing; Polar Science and Humanities.
The largest private nonprofit oceanographic institution in the world. Current News and information on ocean and coastal-related topics, often in pictures, videos, and interactive presentations. Ocean Topics; Online Expeditions; Interactives; Research (Climate & Ocean; Coastal Science; Hazards; Ocean Chemistry; Ocean Circulation; Ocean Life; Ocean Resources & Policy; Polar Research; Pollution; Seafloor & Below; Tools & Technology; Underwater Archaeology); People; Ships and Technology; Educational and Multimedia
A grant-funded project that was started in 1994 by the University of Georgia’s Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health. The website was launched in 2001 and has grown and received a great deal of recognition since then. Browse by Commodity (Agronomic Crop, Vegetables, Fruits & Nuts, Ornamentals, Other Crops); Taxonomy; Damage Types; Photographer; Organization; Location; Hosted Archives; Images Series.
Charles Darwin’s Library is a digital edition and virtual reconstruction of the surviving books owned by Charles Darwin. This BHL special collection draws on original copies and surrogates from other libraries. It also provides full transcriptions of his annotations and marks. In this first release (2011) we provide 330 of the 1480 titles in his library, concentrating on the most heavily annotated books.
Complete publications (Books, Articles, Published Manuscripts; Supplementary Works); Freeman Bibliographical Database (authoritative bibliographic citations of all Darwin's publications in every language up to 1975); Papers & Private Manuscripts; Biography
Utilizing over 300 scanned documents, photographs, audio clips and video excerpts, this website narrates the breathless details of the pursuit of the discovery of the double helix structure of DNA. Scattered throughout the project are images of a number of very important and extremely rare items, most of which are held within the Oregon State University Libraries' Ava Helen and Linus Pauling Papers, and many of which have not been previously displayed.
The course begins with a discussion of the fundamental properties of cells: the origin of the cell, how cells are organized, how they reproduce, and how they use energy. Other units in the course expand these topics and provide insight into the processes that regulate cell function and generate the amazing variety of cell types seen in living organisms.
Infection rates of Dengue Fever-causing virus are on the rise in recent decades. The World Health Organization estimates the number of infections across the globe to be 50 million per year. As this debilitating and sometimes lethal infection affects more and more every year, science research is on notice, and moving fast to catch up. In this eBook, you will learn the symptoms of dengue, how it spreads via mosquitoes, and what new research is emerging to stop the disease in its tracks.
Essentials of Cell Biology introduces readers to the core concepts of cell biology. This course can provide an introduction to cell biology for beginning students of all ages or be a springboard to more specialized topics for advanced students.
Essentials of Genetics is a brief guide through the core concepts of how genes are structured and how they drive biological diversity. This course can be used as a guide for introductory biology students, as a reference for advanced students, or as a self-guided exploration for general science enthusiasts.
The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. It aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts). It is a Collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden. The Plant List includes 1,064,035 scientific plant names of species rank. Of these 350,699 are accepted species names. The Plant List contains 642 plant families and 17,020 plant genera.
a web-based project of the Plant Conservation Alliance's Alien Plant Working Group, that provides information for the general public, land managers, researchers, and others on the serious threat and impacts of invasive alien (exotic, non-native) plants to the native flora, fauna, and natural ecosystems of the United States.