Environmental databases
For scholarly articles you should search the following databases. You must limit your searches to peer reviewed or scholarly journals when you search a database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social science information, including citation data, dating as far back as 1966 to the present. In addition, 3,500 of its 18,000 journal titles cover the arts and humanities.
This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window (1991- present), includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- This link opens in a new window
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window (1983- present), covers issues related to the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
- This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides more than 7,000 multidisciplinary full-text periodicals, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals, and more than 11,600 monographs, reports, conference proceedings, dating back as far as 1887.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database including more than 25,000 titles, over 19,000 in full text. Besides journals, PQC includes 2206 newspapers, over 100,000 full text dissertations, 30,000 market reports, with some backfiles dating as far back as 1921
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
For newspaper articles, search the following databases:
National Newspaper Index
New York Times (Proquest)
Newspaper Source
Newsday
New York State Newspapers
Google Scholar is another good source to locate scholarly articles on your topic. Searching and finding articles on Google scholar can be cumbersome as it retrieves a lot of documents and many of them are not available free online. If you find a good citation by searching Google Scholar, look for the full-text link on the right hand side of your computer screen . You can link your PC to AU Libraries to retrieve full-text from Adelphi Libraries Electronic journals and databases. If there is no link to retrieve the full-text of the article or it is not freely available on the internet, check OneSearch to find out whether AU Libraries have the journals in print.
Interlibrary Borrowing (ILL) : If you cannot locate the full-text of the articles in AU Libraries electronic and print journal collections, use the Interlibrary Borrowing service in AU Libraries. The Interlibrary Borrowing (ILL) is free to all currently registered students, faculty, staff and administrators at Adelphi University. First time users need to register with the service to be able to send requests for journal articles, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations.