Hudson Valley Diversity Resources: Home

Social work practitioners must be aware of the many factors influencing the independence, participation in society, care, self-fulfilment, and dignity of the aged. Using the United Nations Principles for Older Persons, this book frames the critical issues facing the social work profession. This timely volume brings together a wide-reaching collection of 31 articles about ageing into one unique resource. It offers theory, research, and case studies about the needs, issues, and challenges faced by the senior population. This vibrant collection signals the start of a new discussion about seniors and the role of social work in meeting their diverse needs.

An invaluable, step-by-step guide for understanding the basic problems and concerns of the growing population of adults over the age of 65. Based on years of clinical research and testing, this book provides a thorough review of critical information on older adults, the aging process, and mental health issues. Organized into a useful workbook format, the book is filled with brief lectures, quizzes, exercises, and sample forms. These training materials are designed to help counselors build the interpersonal skills needed to provide aid and comfort for senior citizens requiring psychological services.

The aging of societies is a global phenomenon. In the United States alone, the life expectancy for both men and women will continue to increase over the next few decades and with that a population explosion of older adults. The dramatic increase in the number and diversity of older adults elevates the visibility of gerontological matters. As a result, social work practice is becoming more multigenerational, thereby demanding social workers, regardless of their professional endeavors, to be equipped with the most innovative theories and practices to serve older adults and their families. This comprehensive text spans the new knowledge and skills required in direct practice areas, group work, and macro practice. It also outlines the Geriatric Social Work Competencies, as developed by social work educators, necessary to serve the older adult population and suggests how these competencies can be integrated into foundation curriculum. Social work educators, students, practitioners, administrators, and policymakers will find updated, useful information in this text regarding * assessment tools * cultural influences * evidence-based practices * intervention techniques * theoretical examples. "Individuals are living longer and healthier lives in part because of the extraordinary growth of biomedical knowledge and public health initiatives. The confluence of the rapid and large increase of the older population and the exponential increase in the dissemination of knowledge create an imperative for social workers to employ the most recent knowledge in their practice with people living increasingly long lives." -- JoAnn Damron-Rodriguez Department of Social Welfare University of California, Los Angeles

Get a wealth of information about the theory and practice of social work with older adults, their families, and their caregivers! Although there is a considerable amount of writing on both group work and social work with the elderly, there is surprisingly little about applying this practice method to this specific age group. Group Work and Aging: Issues in Practice, Research, and Education fills this gap by presenting penetrating articles about a mutual aid approach to working with diverse groups of older adults with varied needs. Respected experts and gifted researchers provide case studies, practice examples, and explanation of theory to illustrate this practice method with aging adults, their families, and their caregivers. Group Work and Aging: Issues in Practice, Research, and Education discusses in-depth information on group work with gay and lesbian elders, caregivers, elders with Alzheimer's disease, service providers, special populations such as Vietnamese and Latino/a elders, and provides information on the use of expressive therapies like art, drama, and dance. Each well-referenced chapter presents high quality, up-to-date social group work practice strategies to prepare practitioners for the needs of the growing population of elderly in the near future. Group Work and Aging: Issues in Practice, Research, and Education discusses: the adaptation of group work practice approaches when working with older group members the use of a Record of Service as an analytical tool in group work with aging lesbians a chronicle of a student's field placement at a drop-in center for homeless senior citizens the sociocultural reality of the Asian immigrant elderly residential substance abuse treatment for older adults mutual aid groups for older persons with mental illness the relationship between caregiver support groups and the marker framework of family caregiving telephone caregiver support groups group work interventions with elderly parents of adults with severe mental illness a program for the development and implementation of an intergenerational singing group support groups as an effective therapy at end-of-life the use of a mutual aid group with home attendants and much more! Group Work and Aging: Issues in Practice, Research, and Education reveals the latest examples of good group work practice with aging adults and their support systems, perfect for practitioners, educators, and anyone interested in and/or work with older adults.

Gender: Key Concepts in Philosophy provides clear and comprehensive exposition and analysis of the main philosophical theories, ideas and arguments that inform, and are raised by, questions of gender and sexuality. It explores both early feminist arguments, which stress 'sameness' between sexes in the interests of equality, and later theories, which emphasise difference. It raises the question of how succesfully feminist theory has negotiated the relationship between gender, race and class. The text looks at how Marxist and psychoanalytic theory help to articulate feminist theory and also at how they might inhibit it. It also explores the ways in which the approaches of Foucault and Derrida have been taken up by feminist philosophy to reformulate questions of power and ideology. Finally it addresses contemporary questions of sexuality, transgender and technology, and various political issues faced by women, such as rape, abortion and pornography. Philosophy undergraduates will find this an invaluable aid to study, one that goes beyond simple definitions and summaries to really open up fascinating and important ideas and arguments.

This invaluable volume provides an overview of 37 terms, theories and concepts frequently used in gender studies which those studying the subject can find difficult to grasp. Each entry provides a critical definition of the concept, examining the background to the idea, its usage and the major figures associated with the term. Taking a truly interdisciplinary and global view of gender studies, concepts covered include: Agency Diaspora Heteronormativity Subjectivity Performativity Class Feminist Politics Body Gender identity Reflexivity. With cross referencing and further reading provided throughout the text, Gender: The Key Concepts unweaves the relationships between different aspects of the field defined as gender studies, and is essential for all those studying gender in interdisciplinary contexts as undergraduates, postgraduates and beyond.

At last--a casebook that focuses exclusively on sexual orientation and gender expression in relation to social work practice. The scenarios feature gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) individuals, couples, and families, and highlight GLBT issues in groups, organizations, communities, policy arenas, and research. The book also contains classroom exercises and suggested readings, making it a good resource for integrating GLBT content into the classroom. The casebook may be used as a complement to Morrow and Messinger's text, Sexual Orientation and Gender Expression in Social Work Practice: Working with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender People (Columbia, 2006); on its own; or in conjunction with another textbook. The editors are award-winning teachers who have organized a casebook appropriate for use at the undergraduate or graduate level in practice, policy, human behavior and the social environment, research, and field education courses as well as in courses focusing specifically on GLBT clients.

Queer lives remain at the margins of most academic inquiry into domestic violence. When same-sex violence is considered, it is most commonly as an "added on," without close attention to the specificity and meaning of violence within the lives of lesbian/ gay/ bisexual/ transgender/Two-Spirit and queer people (LGBTQ). This edited volume seeks to change this discourse by bringing together the most innovative research about intimate partner violence that is specific to the lives of LGBTQ people. Including contributions based on research conducted in the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia, the volume is framed around central themes: conceptualizing violence; exploring differing spaces and lived experiences of violence; and the ethical challenges of responding to violence. The contributors also consider issues of race, class, gender, sexuality and other social differences, moving beyond a simple gender lens to one involving a framework of intersectionality.

LGBT-Parent Families is the first handbook to provide a comprehensive examination of this underserved area. Reflecting the nature of this issue, the volume is notably interdisciplinary, with contributions from scholars in psychology, sociology, human development, family studies, gender studies, sexuality studies, legal studies, social work, and anthropology. Additionally, scholarship from regions beyond the U.S. including England, Australia, Canada, and South Africa is presented. In addition to gender and sexuality, all contributors address issues of social class, race, and ethnicity in their chapters.

Based on the diverse experiences of LGBTQ students and their allies, this essential volume brings together in one resource the major issues that schools must address to improve the educational outcomes for gender and sexual minority students-as well as all students. Many of these issues involve negative school-based experiences that teachers and administrators need to be aware of as they interact with students on a daily basis, including those that encourage dropping out, substance abuse, and disproportionate thoughts of suicide.This insightful work not only examines the challenges of discrimination, harassment, and alienation that LGBTQ youth face, but it also captures students' resilience and creativity in organizing against those challenges. The text includes teaching strategies, innovative projects, curricular revisions, and policy initiatives that have had positive effects on LGBTQ learning, aspirations, and school climate.

Key Benefits: This book joins the strengths approach with an overview of social work practice with an oppressed population. A strengths approach provides a skills framework that can be used with any vulnerable or oppressed group. The book speaks directly to the reader through illustrations and boxes written by undergraduate students, as well as a wealth of case examples provided by experienced family counselors. Key Benefits: The text includes an entire chapter on sexuality (Ch. 6), two chapters on health care with the gay, lesbian, and bisexual population (Chs. 9 and 10), and sections on homophobia and prejudice (Ch. 2). The strengths approach provides a skills framework that relates to direct practice with all vulnerable people; the text also incorporates diverse racial, as well as sexual, perspectives. Market: For any level of social work practice.

Same-sex marriage has become one of the defining social issues in contemporary U.S. politics. State court decisions finding in favor of same-sex relationship equality claims have been central to the issue's ascent from nowhere to near the top of the national political agenda. Same Sex Marriage in the United States tells the story of the legal and cultural shift, its backlash, and how it has evolved over the past 15 years. There is a clear story of jurisprudential evolution with regards to same-sex marriage from Hawaii, through Vermont, Massachusetts, New Jersey, California, Connecticut, and, remarkably, Iowa in 2009. This book aids in a classroom examination of the legal, political, and social developments surrounding the issue of same-sex marriage in the United States. While books about same-sex marriage have proliferated in recent years, few, if any, have provided a clear and comprehensive account of the litigation for same-sex marriage, and its successes and failures, as this book does.

"Bayoumi offers a revealing portrait of life for people who are often scrutinized but seldom heard from." --Booklist (starred review)  "Wholly intelligent and sensitively-drawn, How Does It Feel to Be a Problem? is an important investigation into the hearts and minds of young Arab-Americans. This significant and eminently readable work breaks through preconceptions and delivers a fresh take on a unique and vital community. Moustafa Bayoumi's voice is refreshingly frank, personable, and true." --Diana Abu-Jaber, author of Origin, Crescent, and The Language of Baklava  An eye-opening look at how young Arab- and Muslim-Americans are forging lives for themselves in a country that often mistakes them for the enemy Just over a century ago , W.E.B. Du Bois posed a probing question in his classic The Souls of Black Folk: How does it feel to be a problem? Now, Moustafa Bayoumi asks the same about America's new "problem"-Arab- and Muslim-Americans. Bayoumi takes readers into the lives of seven twenty-somethings living in Brooklyn, home to the largest Arab-American population in the United States. He moves beyond stereotypes and clichés to reveal their often unseen struggles, from being subjected to government surveillance to the indignities of workplace discrimination. Through it all, these young men and women persevere through triumphs and setbacks as they help weave the tapestry of a new society that is, at its heart, purely American.

In a bold and innovative argument, a rising legal star shows readers how the mass incarceration of a disproportionate number of black men amounts to a devastating system of racial control. This is a terrifying reality that exists in the UK as much as in the US. Despite the triumphant dismantling of the Jim Crow laws, the system that once forced African-Americans into a segregated second-class citizenship still haunts and the criminal justice system still unfairly targets black men and deprives an entire segment of the population of their basic rights.

Reflecting the latest data and theoretical literature available, RACE AND ETHNIC RELATIONS: AMERICAN AND GLOBAL PERSPECTIVES, 10e tackles diversity issues from both the American and global perspective, offering an in-depth exploration of today's globally diverse world. The text's expansive coverage of race and ethnic relations across the globe highlights major points of difference and similarity between the United States and a number of other societies, as well as includes a unique case study comparing four different countries. This unique comparative approach is vital with the increasing ethnic diversity in most contemporary societies as well as the prominence of ethnic conflicts in virtually all world regions. Current statistics, figures, maps, and citations provide up-to-the-minute insight. The Tenth Edition also includes an all-new chapter devoted to Arab Americans. In addition, end-of-chapter critical-thinking questions encourage readers to think in a sociological mode and examine current issues using concepts presented in the text.

Praise for the First Edition: "This book is an optimal tool for instructors and students of graduate classes in social work and related disciplines." Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health "This book is a major contribution to social workers and their clients as it addresses advocacy on behalf of immigrants and refugees during a social, economic, and political period that restricts immigrants' rights and service access." Dr. Diane Drachman, Associate Professor University of Connecticut School of Social Work "This text is a great tool toward raising awareness of the many issues immigrants face, and helping them find solutions." Frank Sharry, Executive Director, America's Voice The leading textbook on social work with immigrants and refugees, this is the only book to address the intersection of legal, policy, and advocacy issues, in addition to the clinical skills needed to help these populations. This second edition has been updated to reflect key policy changes at the state and federal levels affecting social work with immigrants and refugees. The authors have expanded their coverage of transnationalism, microaggressions, and public health and community issues, and each chapter features updated case studies on the most critical issues immigrants face today: legal processes, physical and mental health issues, employment difficulties, family conflicts, and more. Key Features: Completely updated to reflect the latest developments in immigration law and policy Includes updated case studies, discussion questions, and abundant reference material Provides the multidisciplinary perspective of lawyers, social workers, clinicians, administrators, and academics A valuable asset for students and practitioners working in mental health, health care, education, and community settings All-new appendix features sample questions asked at naturalization interviews

Now with a new Afterword from the author Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Downexplores the clash between a small county hospital in California and a refugee family from Laos over the care of Lia Lee, a Hmong child diagnosed with severe epilepsy. Lia's parents and her doctors both wanted what was best for Lia, but the lack of understanding between them led to tragedy. Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest, and the Salon Book Award, Anne Fadiman's compassionate account of this cultural impasse is literary journalism at its finest. ______ Lia Lee 1982-2012 Lia Lee died on August 31, 2012. She was thirty years old and had been in a vegetative state since the age of four. Until the day of her death, her family cared for her lovingly at home.

The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism -- now fully revised and updated Walk into any racially mixed high school and you will see Black, White, and Latino youth clustered in their own groups. Is this self-segregation a problem to address or a coping strategy? Beverly Daniel Tatum, a renowned authority on the psychology of racism, argues that straight talk about our racial identities is essential if we are serious about enabling communication across racial and ethnic divides. These topics have only become more urgent as the national conversation about race is increasingly acrimonious. This fully revised edition is essential reading for anyone seeking to understand the dynamics of race in America.