Books on Grants and Proposal Writing
Getting Your Share of the Pie by
An expert in securing grant money provides a clear, step-by-step course in grant writing that readers can "attend" from the comfort of their home or office--and proceed with at their own pace. * Provides historical and current information regarding the general availability of government and private grant funds; two chapters are dedicated to disclosing sources for specific types of grants * One appendix contains a glossary covering the specific terminology used in the field * A complete index is included to enable the reader to find any topic quickly * Reveals an exclusive "inside" look at what agencies want and supplies a list of do's and don't to maximize success
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780313382550Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Go Get That Grant! by
This book is a practical, how-to guide for those interested in writing, procuring, and implementing grants. The second edition has also been expanded to include a new chapter on how to become a grant writer. From gathering basic information about an organization through accepting and implementing the grant award, expert advice is provided then illustrated through step-by-step guides along with numerous examples. This publication is designed to be used by those writing grants on behalf of libraries as well as nonprofit organizations. Information about types of grants available through government agencies and foundations as well as how to locate funding opportunities has all been updated in this second edition. The process of identifying a fundable project and how to carefully select potential sources of funding are explained. Proven writing strategies show how to make your grant application stand out from the rest. Making sure that program implementation is as smooth as possible is shared in order to eliminate any potential obstacles that may arise. Several appendices show samples of strategic plans, narratives, budgets, needs assessments, evaluations, and much more! Examples are tailored to libraries and nonprofit organizations. The author has shared her 20+ years experience successfully procuring and implementing foundation and government grants. It is the most current and practical publication of its kind available today and will prove to be enormously useful in these tough economic times when decreased available funding opportunities are resulting in increase competitiveness. (n.b., This book is not intended for those seeking funding for science-based or social science-based projects that involve experiments and may involve human and/or animal subjects.)
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1442270276Publication Date: 2016-07-08
Grant Seeking in Higher Education by
Written for anyone in higher education who is responsible for submitting and running a grant-funded project, Grant Seeking in Higher Education offers a hands-on resource for developing and managing the grant process from start to finish. Step by step, the authors will help you to identify and sort through potential sponsors, tap into campus support that is already in place, and prepare to write a targeted grant proposal that can generate results. Once you have completed the research, the book outlines the keys to writing a winning proposal, including an effective proposal narrative, thorough budget, and readable proposal package. To give grant seekers an extra edge, the book contains a toolkit of tested materials. These proven tools--templates, examples, and cheat sheets--are designed to help you approach your project as a grants professional would. Grant Seeking in Higher Education also spotlights the need for academic leaders to create a campuswide culture that fosters efficient and effective grant seeking. Praise for Grant Seeking in Higher Education "This book realistically provides great advice on proposal development and grants management. Additionally, readers receive a bonus as the authors have included some very helpful tools and templates that have assisted them in their grant endeavors." --Gail Vertz, chief executive officer, Grant Professionals Association "This book is well researched, especially with regard to issues of collaboration, helpfully organized, and chock-full of practical advice--a must-have for any research development professional's bookcase!" --Holly Falk-Krzesinski, founding president, National Organization of Research Development Professionals (NORDP)
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1118395123Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Grant Writing by
A first of its kind, this book provides you everything you need to know about successfully navigating the grant writing process including understanding the language of grant writing, finding grants, preparing the proposal, completing the application, preparing budgets, organizing information and timelines, revising and editing the proposal, including the assessment and evaluation, and building meaningful relationships with program officers and colleagues.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1475814410Publication Date: 2015-07-08
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Learn to: Navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants Find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities Create strong statements of need Submit applications that meet funders' expectations Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies Grant writing can be quite daunting, but this complete guide provides you with everything you need to get started with your application right away! Use this resource, including new and updated material, to move through the entire grant-writing process and apply for some of the billions of dollars available from public and private sector sources. Grant writing 101 -- get an easy-to-understand introduction to the ins and outs of grants, including who funds them and how to receive them Know what funders want -- discover the many grant-making organizations throughout the world and how to tailor your message to what your prospects expect Tug on reviewers' heartstrings -- find out how to tell your story so peer reviewers award your application the maximum number of points The write stuff -- explore writing techniques to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding Go online and find templates for request letters, executive summaries, logic models, budget summary tables, and more Open the book and find: How to connect with grant-making agencies What goes into a grant submission How to build a great funding plan An overview of the peer review process A helpful checklist to make sure all the pieces are in place How to navigate federal grant websites Compelling words to use in applications Advice on requesting matching funds and other items
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1118856554Publication Date: 2014-03-04
The Insider's Guide to Winning Education Grants by
Find, apply for, and win grant dollars for the classroom This accessible guide offers a proven, step-by-step process for researching, writing, applying for, and winning education grants. The book educates readers on the basics of grant writing, including what sources are the most reliable for securing education funding. It also serves as a practice tool, with worksheets, proposal templates, real-world examples, and advice from grant-winning teachers to help instill confidence about navigating this somewhat daunting process. Offers a proven formula for winning education grants in clear, step-by-step instructions Includes a wealth of handy tools, worksheets, templates, and teacher-tested advice Outlines the four main components of money-generating education grants Based on UNITE's celebrated "Grant Writing Teacher" Professional Development series The book's step-by-step process is filled with illustrative examples of successful grant proposals.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 111859519XPublication Date: 2013-10-23
Proposal Writing by
Throughout this book, readers are presented with agency/organizational analyses using a conceptual framework that is tied to a theoretical perspective about the desired outcomes. This framework provides the coherence for the book and assists individuals with the "mechanics" of writing and challenges them to understand why a particular strategy and with what desired and measurable outcome are they seeking. The book also conveys the "new grantsmanship" which is essential for navigating the economic, political, and social dimensions of proposal and grant writing. The Fourth Edition is expanded and reorganized to follow greater coherence and logic in the presentation of the chapters. The new sections are: @!fundamentals of proposal writing @!the three lenses of proposal @!conceptualization @!writing the proposal.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul HV41 .C548 2014ISBN: 9781412988995Publication Date: 2013-03-12
Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship for Funding by
The fifth edition updates the materials while broadening the appeal of the book to social service agencies including health, education, social services, and human services providers. The reader is taken from program design into a very comprehensive crash course on program evaluation. Readers will learn why it is important to measure program outcomes, how to measure them, and how to plan an evaluation design early in the planning process. After this, the reader will learn how to refine program ideas into objectives and implementation activities and write them in a format demanded by various funders. Throughout the book, readers are presented with agency/organizational analyses using a conceptual framework that is tied to a theoretical perspective about the desired outcomes. This framework provides the coherence for the book and assists individuals with the "mechanics" of writing and challenges them to understand why a particular strategy and with what desired and measurable outcome are they seeking. The book also conveys the "new grantsmanship" which is essential for navigating the economic, political, and social dimensions of proposal and grant writing.
Call Number: Hudson Valley Reserve HV41 .C548 2017ISBN: 9781483376431Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow stepwise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices, and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding, and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education, and practice initiatives. Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to ensure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, explains how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant successFeatures Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expertHighlights special considerations for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellowsExamines how to write effective grant applications for specific types of study designsExplains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovationProvides guidelines on mentorshipCovers ways to manage postaward activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progressKEY FEATURES: Key summary points in every chapterCase examples throughoutStrategies for managing a grant-writing team and postaward activitiesConsiderations in building a grant-writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanismsTestimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant-writing experiences
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780826148032Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Winning Grants: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians by
Newly revised and refreshed, this invaluable how-to manual will teach you the skills and strategies crucial for finding, applying for, and winning grants. Whether you're starting from scratch and don't know where to begin, or you're an experienced grant writer looking to tap into new funding sources, this resource offers a proven, easy-to-understand process for grant success. Loaded with a wide variety of forms, worksheets, and checklists to help you stay organized, this book: summarizes the grant process cycle and outlines a clear path to success; shares inspiring grant success stories in action from diverse libraries; offers guidance on gathering knowledge and conducting research, with updated resource lists and links to the various types of funders; covers every stage of planning, including how to cultivate community involvement, methods for needs assessment, advice on organizing the grant team, and exercises to help you write realistic goals and objectives; gives tips on writing the proposal, such as where to find the best statistics and census data to support your statement of needs; advises how to announce a successful grant to the community, and other first steps of implementation, including the basic principles of project management; provides guidance on what to do when you're turned down and how to conduct an effective review session that keeps the process moving forward; highlights ways to stay current through online discussion groups, blogs, networking groups, and more; and features sample RFPs, budget templates, grant partnership documents, and many other helpful tools. Written by two librarians who are experts in grantsmanship, this all-in-one toolkit for winning grants is a must-have for library directors, grant writers, board members, consultants, and anyone else involved in planning library programs and services.
Call Number: Main-Swirbul Z683.2.U6 M33 2017ISBN: 9780838914731Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know." --Heather Iliff, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations "With solid advice and clear examples, nonprofit leaders will find it a page turner!" --Clarence Hauer, senior director, strategy and organizational development, St. Louis Nonprofit Services Consortium "Winning Grants Step by Step is a gift to nonprofit organizations. The valuable insights and hands-on tools will instantly make any proposal more competitive." --Alex Carter, Your Nonprofit Coach "Developing great grant proposals is essential for nonprofit leaders. Winning Grants Step by Step provides important guidance to those who are new to fundraising as well as to anyone who needs a refresher. This new edition of Winning Grants brings updated tips and vivid examples. As an experienced fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates "As an executive director, fundraising is on my mind every day. It's great to have a resource like Winning Grants Step by Step to use and share with my board, staff, and peers." --Deborah Menkart, executive director, Teaching for Change
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1118662024Publication Date: 2013-07-31
Winning Library Grants by
Whether you're a newbie taking on the process for the first time or an experienced administrator looking to shore up finances, this book will help you find the dollars your library needs.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780838991985Publication Date: 2010-11-22
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0826122728Publication Date: 2015-06-01
- Grants, Proposal-Writing and Philanthropy books from Candid's eBook collectionCandid offers a growing digital collection of eBooks and audiobooks on social sector- and philanthropy-related topics, curated by Candid’s New York Learning Center librarians. Including numerous books on grants and proposal writing, this free, public collection is available to anyone through OverDrive, and can be accessed remotely from any computer, smartphone, tablet, or e-reader. Follow instructions to create a free account to download eBooks and audiobooks.